We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel, Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
A TripAdvisor Member
“Lovely Hotel, Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Great hotel and value for the money. The staff was warm and friendly, the hotel is pretty, clean and inviting. We drove in from a long road trip and it was so nice to have the warm cookies at check-in!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenM111, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate you as our guest and look forward to your next visit. The cookies are a big hit with all our guest's. We are glad you enjoyed them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    368
    231
    116
    52
See reviews for
393
306
76
385
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

The reception desk people lack knowledge as to their functionality. I added a day to my stay in the hotel. It was a major mistake on my behalf. They didn’t inform the room service and they didn’t change the expiration date on my key. When a manager tried to compensate me on the run around the result was more aggravation. This time it was with hotel's restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haayes, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

This hotel is my 1st choice whenever I go to Charlottesville. I am disappointed if they are booked and I have to stay somewhere else. The staff is always friendly and helpful. The executive floor is excellent and the food is plentiful and tasty.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Louis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitney Poiint, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

We made a quick overnight trip to Virginia for a graduation. This DoubleTree was 1 1/2 hours from the ceremony but was the closest we could find. When we checked in after a 12 hour car ride, Lindsay at the front desk was very welcoming. She explained our member benefits very well. The hotel was lovely with very classy decor. Nice pool and hot tub, great Executive Level lounge and delicious buffet breakfast the next morning. We hope to return to Charlottesville for a longer visit and will stay at this DoubleTree when we do.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

I previously had very fond memories of staying at DoubleTree hotels on business trips. All of those fond memories have now been erased. I write to you with great dismay over my recent stay at DoubleTree (May 11, 2013; 990 Hilton Heights Rd., Charlottesville, VA). Upon checking in at 3:30 pm in the afternoon, Susan, the front desk clerk, proudly informed us that we would be staying in a “Smoking” room. When we informed her that this was not acceptable, she said she could do nothing about it. She pointed out that it “is all Priceline’s fault and this happens all the time.” I appeal to you that the DoubleTree is happy to take Priceline's money, and knowingly is aware of this problem (as it happens “all the time”) and yet does nothing about it. She refused to help us in any way shape or form. Another desk clerk that night at 10:30pm actually did a search for a “sister” hotel that would offer non-smoking room. There was one available at the Hilton Garden Inn. But Susan insisted that she could not help us. DoubleTree should have comped the $40 difference and booked us at the sister hotel. We had a miserable night staying in the smoking room. What if I had my father with us who has a lung complication? The experience was so poor overall, that I will not stay in another DoubleTree, and I intend inform our friends and family also not to “chance it” with a DoubleTree. DoubleTree is the hotel - it can’t blame it on Priceline or anyone else - DoubleTree knows this problem exists and is completely negligent in addressing it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, PA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

I reserved a room on the Executive Floor, but was told I could upgrade to a suite for $49/night more. It sounded good to me because the suite had two bathrooms. The suite was on the lobby floor, easy access. Unfortunately, it was not in that great a shape. Carpets were stained, and coming apart at seams. Closet doors were hard to open and close. I'm guessing this was two separate rooms at one time. The king bed was way too soft--gave my husband a backache. I opened the pull-out sofa, but the mattress smelled bad and I couldn't imaging trying to sleep on it, so I closed it back up and slept on the sofa because it was more firm than the mattress in the bedroom.. Dust on the counter in the bathroom stayed there the entire stay (we leave a generous tip for the housekeeping staff each night). I can't say anything about the other rooms because I didn't see them. Entrance and lobby were very nice. Desk staff was pleasant. Workout equipment was nice. Restaurant was just okay. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a suite on the third floor (which is the lobby floor). No view to speak of. I can only assu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsrkag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

Stayed at the Doubletree while checking out the University of Virginia with my teenage son. The hotel was clean, well located, reasonable and totally suitable for our purposes. I have no real negatives and no real wows. It is a good standard mid-price hotel and we would stay there again if we came to the area. They were fabulous, however, when in a hurried state of trying to be on time for the college tour, I accidentally left the entire contents of my toiletry bag strewn about the bathroom. The head of housekeeping was great in gathering my items, packaging them up and getting them to me quickly and with no hassles. The overall impression left was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suehax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#8 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
4.9 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
3.5 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#15 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville
Address: 990 Hilton Heights Road, Charlottesville, VA 22901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#13 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville is located just minutes from the University of Virginia, John Paul Jones arena, Charlottesville Regional Airport and Monticello. Recently renovated in 2008, the Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville was named one of Expedia’s Insider's Select Hotels and Reader's Choice Hotel by the Daily Progress. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing