We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charlotte Doubletree”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Christiansburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charlotte Doubletree”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Every year, the Doubletree hosts the ACCS conference for Virginia College and University Information Technology staff. This is my 9th year in attendance. The staff at this hotel are always gracious and go out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one. The food, for conference food, is very good. The rooms, though it is an older hotel by some standards, are well furnished and nicely decorated.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Joyce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Joyce,

I am pleased that you were able to join us for the ACCS conference. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We strive to provide the best possible service and guest experiences every day, and it’s always great to hear from our guests on how we’re doing. We will be sure to share your feedback with our banquet and culinary teams. We look forward to welcoming you back for the conference again.

Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - DoubleTree Charlottesville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    373
    235
    118
    53
See reviews for
403
312
79
391
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Accommodations are fairly nice. Hotel is very old, but still nice. The fire alarm went off in the room in the morning, when I called down to the front they asked if I had been taking a shower. Apparently this is a regular thing. You can hear everything between the rooms. Every time someone on the same floor would open their door at night, it would wake me up.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Brittany V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
163 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We had not been to C'ville for about 14 years and needed a place that took dogs and was relatively convenient to an event we were attending. Wow has C'Ville grown up. Rte 29 used to be 4 lanes and is now 8 lanes in almost all places. The check-in at this hotel and the staff were terrific. Our room was nice and very convenient for taking the dogs outside. Wendy in the executive lounge was very helpful suggesting a great local wine store to pick up a gift for our event. Highly recommend the Wine Stop near the bowling alley on 29. If we had 1 thing that would have been better would have been the breakfast. The made to order omelet was excellent, but the breakfast bar with all the other offerings was very messy and it took about 20 minutes to have bacon put out.

We would stay here again simply due to the fact that they accept pets. if that is your driver, than this is a great place for you.

Room Tip: Have the hotel put you on the 3rd floor if you have pets. This is the lobby level and your pets won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Jen,
Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience at our hotel with us. We strive to provide the best possible service and guest experiences every day, and it’s always great to hear from our guests on how we’re doing. We are so delighted to hear you had a pleasant stay and that you enjoyed your room, with all of its distinctive amenities. We were truly humbled by your gracious comments regarding our hotel service team; we will be sure to specifically recognize Wendy for the positive impact that she had on your visit. We look forward to a chance to welcome you back again soon.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - DoubleTree Charlottesville
edailey@greenwoodhospitality.com
313-253-4344
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crestwood, Kentucky
Level Contributor
241 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Once again, I experienced a superior stay at this Doubletree. When I travel to Charlottesville, I make this hotel my home. The exercise room, hot tub, internet access, and breakfast proved superior. See you again in April when I am in town for another week stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Robert,
I appreciate your loyalty to the hotel. Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback regarding your stays with us. We are so delighted to hear you have had a pleasant stay during your trips and that you enjoy the hotel, with all of its distinctive amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back again in April.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - DoubleTree Charlottesville
edailey@greenwoodhospitality.com
313-253-4344
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, NJ, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Charlottesville, VA is a lovely town and the Doubletree has a great bar, pool, and hot tub. And the food was absolutely delicious! My favorite was the citrus salmon. A glass of port at the bar was a perfect nightcap

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Theodore M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Theodore,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your most recent stay at our hotel. We strive to provide the best possible service and guest experiences every day, and it’s always great to hear from our guests on how we’re doing. We will be sure to share you feedback about your food with our TJ's Tavern culinary team. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - DoubleTree Charlottesville
edailey@greenwoodhospitality.com
313-253-4344
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, TN
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Needed a place to accommodate all of our extended family for our father's funeral. Disappointed to learn that they have no bereavement/group rates. Discovered while traveling that the room rates dropped in price. I called Doubletree Reservations prior to ck-in & asked them to match the discounted rate or I'd cancel & book thru discounted travel website. The lady was very nice and did so. Saved me over $150. She also booked the breakfast buffet for us, which is fabulous! Rooms were pretty. However, rooms are small and the doubles are REAL doubles. No Queens. Very squished because my hubby & I are tall. Our teens wouldn't sleep in same bed so I reserved rollaway, only to find out it was against fire code to use in double room. After complaining, front desk sent the rollaway mattress w/o frame to use. It was more comfortable than the actual bed mattress. Wished I could've had one too. Didn't want to spend a fortune for a funeral but ended up having to get a second room on Exec. Floor. Bathroom & room just too small for 2 adults & 2 teens. So much for saving the extra $150. That room was Huge! w/ King & pull out sofa. (Front desk also kind enough to give me rate of regular king due to circumstances.) Very nice staff & hotel is very beautiful. All the kids enjoyed the Pool. Restaurant was good for dinner but Very Slow when trying to accommodate our party of 12. Breakfast buffet was excellent. All in all, a good stay in spite of it being for a funeral. Next time, I'll definitely get the King w/ sofa & rollaway. Would be the best for a family.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Baddboyzmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Bad boy's mom,
Please accept my sincere condolences for your family's loss. I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at our hotel. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I regret that you had some difficulty comfortably accommodating your family in our room with two double beds. I am pleased that the lounge level room was more comfortable for you and that our team was happy to make accommodations for you. We will discuss the possibility of a bereavement rate with our team. I hope that you have a chance to join us again under better circumstances; if there is anything I can do personally to assist with a return visit, please do not hesitate to contact me.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - DoubleTree Charlottesville
edailey@greenwoodhospitality.com
313-253-4344
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Quality with one particularly glaring issue. Room was comfortable and Staff very accommodating. Check in was flawless. I had breakfast buffet every morning that was mostly wonderful. The omelet stand was a great touch. Food service across the board was overwhelmed. The hotel was sold out so they should have been more prepared. 45 minute wait for bar food where the restaurant simply wash;t that busy. Tried to get something to go one night but was informed the kitchen could not handle it. Concession set up for convention guests was of extremely variable quality and often pricey. Overall good stay though. Wish they had queens instead of doubles.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Pylgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Pylgrim,
I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at our hotel. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I am sorry that we failed to provide you with a flawless dining experience throughout your visit. Please know that we have used this experience to ensure that it does not happen again. We look forward to a chance to welcome you back again soon.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - DoubleTree Charlottesville
edailey@greenwoodhospitality.com
313-253-4344
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
862 reviews
4.9 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,690 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#8 of 35 in Charlottesville
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
893 reviews
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
140 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville
Address: 990 Hilton Heights Rd, Charlottesville, VA 22901-8393
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#13 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville is located just minutes from the University of Virginia, John Paul Jones arena, Charlottesville Regional Airport and Monticello. Recently renovated in 2008, the Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville was named one of Expedia’s Insider's Select Hotels and Reader's Choice Hotel by the Daily Progress. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing