We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below average!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2008

This property has not been remodeled since they built it decades ago. 70's? The rooms are dated, dark and somewhat musty. In fact the entire property has a very depressing atmosphere...it gives authentic English inns a rather bad name. Front desk staff were indifferent and refused to allow me to check in early even though a room was in fact ready...I arrived at 12:00, check in is at 3pm. Avoid the breakfast included with the room rate and walk next door to Bodos Bagels for a much better breakfast.
I find it hard to believe that this property is the highest ranked in C'ville as there are several much better options nearby. What am I missing? I will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank VLM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,072 - 1,078 of 1,158 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2007

This place is a hidden treasure well worth the money! We have been staying at the English Inn for many years and recommend it highly for business, personal and family travel. The location is more convenient to the major highways than any other hotel in the area, yet it is equally convenient to all C-ville attractions. It is quiet, clean and offers plenty of parking adjacent to the community gardens. The rooms are large and well appointed. The English Inn has a great workout facility, indoor pool and full breakfast. The University, the Corner shopping and dining and the downtown mall are a great walk down Emmett Street to Main on a nice day. The city also provides free trolley rides from UVA to the other side of town. The lobby is pleasant, welcoming and cozy. Fresh coffee and tea are always offered and cookies are baked fresh for guests each afternoon. We have stayed when the hotel is fully booked and it remains quiet and organized here; we are always made to feel like it is our home away from home.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank chasemeadowlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2007

I had the great priviledge of staying at the English Inn while attending a coaches conference in September. I could not have been more blown away by the coziness and friendliness of the hotel and staff. Fresh made cookies and tea during the afternoon and the amazing breakfast, I was set. Mark, the manager, lead me to some great hot spots and I saw the wonderfulness of Charlottesville. I had never been there before and I now consider it my retreat. I have not been able to return yet, but my husband and I are planning for a trip during Spring Break to visit the English Inn. Thank you Mark and friends at the English Inn for making it an enjoyable weekend.

- Brayden Emerick

Stayed: September 2007
3  Thank BrayEmerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2007

I enjoyed my stay at the English Inn, the staff was very helpful
and polite. My room was large and very clean, bed was very
comfortable, all in all a great experience.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank feldspar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2007

Convenient to highway. But the staff was very indifferent. I think If you are there as part of a group attending a class they feel it is okay to treat you like cattle.

Room was worn. Atmosphere was rather glum. And the bedding was not very comfortable.

I have stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn and really recommend it. It's a little further out, but the comfort, cleanliness and friendly staff are worth the commute.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stace2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2007

We had stayed in Charlottesville before, but we wanted a location more convenient to UVA and shopping. The English Inn was a very pleasant surprise. We paid $99 for a king suite which contained a living room/kitchen combo, and a very large king bed suite. The staff was very friendly. The room was cleaned immaculately every morning. Although the hotel is located right behind Bodo's Bagels, we didn't go there because the English Inn provided a full, hot, free breakfast every morning. I would highly recommend this hotel for a wonderful stay in Charlottesville.

Stayed: October 2007
2  Thank Schooldoc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2007

The rooms were tidy and clean and the staff was very helpful in finding a snack for my fussy one year old. The lobby was gorgeous with classical music playing. the breakfast buffet that was included was the best included breakfast that I've seen at a hotel. Everyone in my family was able to fill up on something they liked, even my picky eater!!!

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scrapbookinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
967 reviews
1.0 mi away
UVA Inn at Darden
UVA Inn at Darden
#15 of 35 in Charlottesville
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesv...
#12 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,412 reviews
1.8 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,841 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The English Inn of Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The English Inn of Charlottesville

Address: 2000 Morton Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22903-6800 (Formerly The English Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#3 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#6 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: £68 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The English Inn of Charlottesville 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
106 well-appointed rooms and suites. Enjoy all the pleasures of a fine Charlottesville hotel blended with the charm of a country inn. You’ll find the heart of the English Inn is our dedication to uncompromising quality and exemplary personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The English Inn of Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The English Hotel Charlottesville
English Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing