We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Hotel!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

My sister and brother-in-law were recently forced to have their 1 and a 1/2 year old daughter transported to UVA hospital recently. For days they had to take turns sleeping in the crib with my niece or lying on an uncomfortable reclining chair to try to catch a few precious hours of sleep. They were scared and constantly having to make important decisions about their daughter's health. The English Inn gave them a lovely room, free of charge, when they heard of their circumstances. My sister and brother-in-law were able to zip over to the hotel room to shower and take turns sleeping in a real bed. The kindness of the staff and the comfort of the room gave them such relief. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Charlottesville area, and I will become a loyal cutomer!! Thank you English Inn!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jameshenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    291
    104
    28
    18
See reviews for
388
311
54
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed here over thanksgiving while visiting with family. Good location for access to any other C'ville locations, but the hotel was really nothing special.

Room OK, if a little spartan. The bathroom was rather tired, with a hard to use faucet, a tub that barely drained and a door with some veneer missing. Staff came to clean the room while we were still in it at 9:45, which is fine, but then they never came back, so when we returned at 11pm our room was as we left it in the morning.

Free buffet style breakfast was not bad, but plastic plates and cutlery made it less appealing, so we got bagels from the excellent Bodo next door to the hotel for the next two mornings.

So, nothing too terrible, but really wondering why it seems to have such a high rating...

"Average" is about right.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Justin-T64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

This hotel is tucked away behind Bodo's Bagels near the 250 by-pass. Very conveniently Located. It is a great deal for the money. Quaint and cozy. It is getting a tad shabby but the location and the amenities make this hotel worthwhile. Breakfast is included, there is a fire place to cozy up to, the staff are friendly and helpful. It is the best deal in Cville.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reescares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

The English Inn has been a home away from home. Having been the go to place for me and my family for two decades. We love the warm atmosphere and especially appreciate the wonderful breakfast in the morning.
This Thanksgiving weekend was a first trip for my two young children. Amazing having a place that I grew up staying in, to now share with my babes.
The lobby is beautiful decorated and gives you an old rustic feel. Children love the Christmas Tree. The beds are so crisp and comfy.
My favorite is their pool, a great temperature and indoors to enjoy all seasons. I don't need a hotel to have a lot of little things, I need a hotel that gives you comfort and provides the obvious. You will not regret choosing the English Inn
Something's never need to change, The English Inn is one I am happy has not.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sneakersnhighheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Our accommodation was entirely satisfactory. Staff were all helpful and kind. Location turned out to be prime, affording easy access to nearby restaurants and a fine outdoor mall whose windows were enticing.

We were in Charlottesville to attend a Road Scholar course on US Presidents. The five options below do not seem to allow for a trip of that sort.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gorco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

We enjoyed our stay at The English Inn. The room was nice. The hotel was full, but the halls remained quiet. It was pleasant knowing that there would be scones or cookies in the afternoon along with tea or coffee. It was in a good location in Charlottesville. The staff was helpful and drew on a map for us to show us how to get to several locations. We would definitely stay there again if we return to Charlottesville.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fam0usam0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We had the opportunity to stay at The English Inn early in November, 2013, to visit my son who attends the University of Virginia. We have stayed at a few of the other "chain" hotels, and they were fine but The English Inn offers that special personal touch. The staff is very helpful and the rooms are great. Everything is clean and as it is represented on their website. The best part is their own personal touch - evident it is not a "chain" hotel. Tea for all from 4 to 6 and a nice breakfast is included. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
1.8 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
1.1 mi away
UVA Inn at Darden
UVA Inn at Darden
#13 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#15 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The English Inn of Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The English Inn of Charlottesville

Property: The English Inn of Charlottesville
Address: 2000 Morton Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22903-6800 (Formerly The English Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#3 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#6 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The English Inn of Charlottesville 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
106 well-appointed rooms and suites. Enjoy all the pleasures of a fine Charlottesville hotel blended with the charm of a country inn. You’ll find the heart of the English Inn is our dedication to uncompromising quality and exemplary personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your The English Inn of Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The English Hotel Charlottesville
English Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing