We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed January 19th and the service was out of this world! Rika and all the staff really love what they do, and made us feel like a million bucks. The breakfast was delicious and I could of stayed in that comfy bed all day. Rika out did herself and made sure we had a room close to the pool like we wanted. I will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoseDove28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

645 - 651 of 1,137 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

The English Inn, is a great place to stay! My husband and I were in Charlottesville due to his mother being in the hospital.. English Inn gave us a fabulous rate for being there at the hospital, and my husband's sister and brother were there in rooms as well and they made sure to put us all in rooms close to each other to make things convenient for us. The staff are absolutely top notch! I dealt with Kathy at the front desk several times, starting with our last minute reservation and our late notice need to extend our visit as well.. She was wonderful and always had a smile on her face! We stayed in a king room, and while yes, the hotel is a little older and some things a little worn with age (which I think adds to the charm) The hotel, and room were spotlessly clean, which is a big deal for me. The bed was very comfortable, and having a microwave, fridge and coffee pot in the room really was a plus with the strange hours we kept going back and forth to the hospital. We loved the lobby area with the fireplace and tables as well.. we put them to use Saturday night so the four of us could have a place to sit and discuss things while having a late night snack and we truly enjoyed having that area to use. The complimentary breakfast was also truly appreciated.. with a great selection to choose from. Also, for those that care... they have big indoor heated pool, which for me was a great place to relieve stress swimming laps. I hope the next time we need to stay in Charlottesville it is for a more enjoyable reason.. but whatever the reason.. I will always choose The English Inn! Other hotels could learn a lot from them on how to treat their guests!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a long weekend for some Charlottesville sightseeing. The hotel was conveniently located right near Rt. 29 and UVA. We didn't have to travel more than 5-10 minutes to get anywhere in Charlottesville. The staff was also extremely friendly and willing to accommodate us in any way we needed. The breakfast in the morning was more than expected and delicious. Everything was clean and comfortable! We will definitely be staying here again in the future!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 11Jenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Overnight, short stay, but everyone was nice. Most important, everything was CLEAN!
We only slept there....had to be at hospital (6;15am) before breakfast was even started, but I would certainly stay here again. Thank you English Inn.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank johnjan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel on New Year's Eve 2013 so we could enjoy First Night Virginia in downtown Charlottesville. With classical music playing quietly and a cozy gas-log fire burning in the reception area, we were attended to right away at the front desk. The holiday decorations were colorful against a backdrop of cherry paneled walls and a handsomely patterned carpet. We were encouraged to stay for "high tea" at 4 pm, though this was certainly a misnomer with styrofoam cups available for self-service, but the hot tea was nonetheless welcome on a cold afternoon. Our second-floor room was spacious, clean, modern and well-stocked with necessities. We received a call from the main desk within minutes of our arrival to ascertain that all was as we expected it to be. We found the king size bed to be supportive but also very comfortable. Breakfast was ample and varied. We would stay here again. We booked online and felt the $89 cost to be an excellent value.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank BijouMarielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Both these young women went out of their way to make our experience a memorable one. When Kathy Palmer learned it was our 45th Wedding Anniversary she upgraded our accommodations and they were wonderful. We felt very special and pampered. when we checked in, I needed help understanding how to work my iphone to download an e-mail. Kathy Brown went out of her way to help me accomplish this, so that I could enjoy my plans for the following day without anxiety. Your staff make your hotel....that is what is important to people. Thank you so much.

Elizabeth Ream

Room Tip: any room is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Wonderful place to stay, the hospitality was great the rooms very clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was great, they had afternoon tea and cookies and were very helpful with areas of the town, I would stay their again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 480Bailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
252 reviews
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
947 reviews
1.8 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
755 reviews
1.0 mi away
UVA Inn at Darden
UVA Inn at Darden
#14 of 35 in Charlottesville
320 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The English Inn of Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The English Inn of Charlottesville

Address: 2000 Morton Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22903-6800 (Formerly The English Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#3 Best Value Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#6 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: £71 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The English Inn of Charlottesville 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
106 well-appointed rooms and suites. Enjoy all the pleasures of a fine Charlottesville hotel blended with the charm of a country inn. You’ll find the heart of the English Inn is our dedication to uncompromising quality and exemplary personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The English Inn of Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The English Hotel Charlottesville
English Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing