We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place was terrific!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This place was terrific!”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Virginia Organizing is a non-profit group based in Charlottesville and we had to find a place for all the performers who were part of a major benefit concert we were doing -- and we hit the jackpot at having them stay at The English Inn. Everything was very comfortable and the performers even gave a shout out from the stage that says it all: "We are very grateful to The English Inn and their staff. We were only there for a few minutes and they remembered all our names and made us feel right at home."

Working with the staff at The English Inn was a real delight and they were helpful no matter what we asked for. No wonder many of our friends in this area suggested them!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 314Happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    296
    105
    28
    18
See reviews for
397
315
54
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

We were in town for a family funeral. Due to the predicted big snow, we chose to be in town rather than out near the mountains. The English Inn was a perfect choice. I had not needed to stay in a hotel in Charlottesville since my daughter's graduations from UVA many years before, but the English Inn was where we stayed then as well. It is totally convenient to everything in Charlottesville. It IS an older hotel, but the courtyard suite we had was clean and private. The breakfast was so much better than the chains offer and the staff could not have been more accommodating. They knew my name and welcomed me every time I was in the lobby. I heartily recommend the English Inn.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tidewater, VA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I was a little leery of this hotel, since my husband made the arrangements. I held my breath as we approached the hotel, but was relieved to see the first impression of the exterior was a clean, neat, well-maintained area.

Approaching the entrance, the lobby area is generous and leads down into a cozy sitting area with a fireplace. It gives the feel of a high-end ski resort.

The reservation desk was friendly and helpful. After arriving at our room, we received a call from the front desk to ensure our room was up to standard, which it was.

They had proudly bragged about their high tea served from 4-6 p.m., and their swimming pool which is the largest in the area. We did not opt to go swimming on this particular trip, but we did partake of the tea.

The buffet breakfast has a wonderful selection of hot breakfast foods coupled with fresh fruit and typical continental foods. You are sure to find something that meets your dietary needs.

There is not much room for improvement at this establishment, but if I had to change anything it would be to provide china cups and saucers along with plates for the cookies at tea time. Nothing too fancy, and it does not have to match (I would grab up some 2nd hand). I just think it would add a touch of perfection to sit by the fire.

In summary, I do not think you can beat the quality and price of this hotel. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GalavantinGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We were on a tour of the area, mostly camping, and got tired of the pouring rain so we drove into Charlottesville and found this place. It was reasonably priced and warm and dry. I would say that it's above some of your economy chain hotels. It had some charm, and the beds were fantastic the room clean, free tea/coffee/cookies in the lobby and hot water for a bath. Everything worked, which is more than I can say for some plastic hotels.

There were no college crowds - it was midweek and fairly quiet. Breakfast was typical continental crap - wastful and tasteless, but that is what you get at most chain hotels anyway.

Room Tip: Since we basically showed up without a reservation in pouring rain we didn't have a choice of ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ndantonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

When I travel, I try to support independant, local establishments. The English Inn is exceptional. My entire family was recently in Charlottesville for a family funeral, and during this sad, emotional time, everyone at the Inn was sensitive to our needs. At the front desk, Rika and her co-workers were so very gracious, professional, and welcoming! The suite was amazing, the complimentary hot breakfast was wonderful, the lobby warm and inviting (the pool looked spectacular, but unfortunately we’ll have to save swimming for a later visit). I also have to say I’ve travelled most of my long life, and the English Inn FAR surpasses many of the hotels/motels/Inns/B&B’s in which I’ve stayed/lived. My family and I were very impressed and plan to stay there every time we visit Charlottesville. If you are in Charlottesville due to a health-related situation, please know that the team at The English Inn will go above and beyond to help you financially and emotionally so your stay will be as comfortable as possible. Congratulations to the staff at The English Inn on superior customer service, excellent amenities, graciousness, superb hospitality, and exceptional standards! It was a perfect stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLS0323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed January 19th and the service was out of this world! Rika and all the staff really love what they do, and made us feel like a million bucks. The breakfast was delicious and I could of stayed in that comfy bed all day. Rika out did herself and made sure we had a room close to the pool like we wanted. I will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseDove28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The English Inn, is a great place to stay! My husband and I were in Charlottesville due to his mother being in the hospital.. English Inn gave us a fabulous rate for being there at the hospital, and my husband's sister and brother were there in rooms as well and they made sure to put us all in rooms close to each other to make things convenient for us. The staff are absolutely top notch! I dealt with Kathy at the front desk several times, starting with our last minute reservation and our late notice need to extend our visit as well.. She was wonderful and always had a smile on her face! We stayed in a king room, and while yes, the hotel is a little older and some things a little worn with age (which I think adds to the charm) The hotel, and room were spotlessly clean, which is a big deal for me. The bed was very comfortable, and having a microwave, fridge and coffee pot in the room really was a plus with the strange hours we kept going back and forth to the hospital. We loved the lobby area with the fireplace and tables as well.. we put them to use Saturday night so the four of us could have a place to sit and discuss things while having a late night snack and we truly enjoyed having that area to use. The complimentary breakfast was also truly appreciated.. with a great selection to choose from. Also, for those that care... they have big indoor heated pool, which for me was a great place to relieve stress swimming laps. I hope the next time we need to stay in Charlottesville it is for a more enjoyable reason.. but whatever the reason.. I will always choose The English Inn! Other hotels could learn a lot from them on how to treat their guests!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
1.8 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
1.1 mi away
UVA Inn at Darden
UVA Inn at Darden
#14 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#13 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The English Inn of Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The English Inn of Charlottesville

Property: The English Inn of Charlottesville
Address: 2000 Morton Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22903-6800 (Formerly The English Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#3 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#6 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The English Inn of Charlottesville 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
106 well-appointed rooms and suites. Enjoy all the pleasures of a fine Charlottesville hotel blended with the charm of a country inn. You’ll find the heart of the English Inn is our dedication to uncompromising quality and exemplary personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The English Inn of Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The English Hotel Charlottesville
English Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing