We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now this is service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, Colombia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Now this is service”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I was just in Charlottesville for my first stop on a multi-city trip and spent 5 nights here at the English Inn. It's the only privately owned, independent (i.e., not chain) hotel in town, and is staffed by uber-friendly and helpful people, especially Kathy at the front desk. She met every request with ease and genuine friendliness.
But this morning took the cake. I was supposed to get on a plane for New York and a very important meeting, and woke up to another one of this year's crazy snow/ice storms. My flights were cancelled and I managed to get a seat on Amtrak for the 9 am. But the person driving me to the train could not get his car out of the driveway because it was too icy. I called all the local cab companies but nobody would come out in this kind of weather. Finally Mike, the hotel manager, dropped what he was doing, fired up his 4 wheeler and drove me to the Amtrak station himself, just in time. Unbelievable.
There is no doubt the English Inn will have my business anytime I'm in Charlottesville. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for the newer apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    304
    107
    28
    18
See reviews for
413
325
54
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Great hotel, cozy lobby with fireplace, tea in the afternoon. Free breakfast was one of the best we've ever had in a hotel. I would suggest nicer paper cups for coffee/tea - the styrofoam ones are too small. People couldn't have been nicer. Little old fashioned but great for the price and so close to University of Virginia and shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This was my second stay and both experiences were fantastic. The property is clean, well maintained and well located. There is an excellent breakfast included. The rooms are large and clean. Finally, the staff at the desk was friendly and helpful. This will be my first choice whenever I'm in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanford T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Virginia Organizing is a non-profit group based in Charlottesville and we had to find a place for all the performers who were part of a major benefit concert we were doing -- and we hit the jackpot at having them stay at The English Inn. Everything was very comfortable and the performers even gave a shout out from the stage that says it all: "We are very grateful to The English Inn and their staff. We were only there for a few minutes and they remembered all our names and made us feel right at home."

Working with the staff at The English Inn was a real delight and they were helpful no matter what we asked for. No wonder many of our friends in this area suggested them!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 314Happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

We were in town for a family funeral. Due to the predicted big snow, we chose to be in town rather than out near the mountains. The English Inn was a perfect choice. I had not needed to stay in a hotel in Charlottesville since my daughter's graduations from UVA many years before, but the English Inn was where we stayed then as well. It is totally convenient to everything in Charlottesville. It IS an older hotel, but the courtyard suite we had was clean and private. The breakfast was so much better than the chains offer and the staff could not have been more accommodating. They knew my name and welcomed me every time I was in the lobby. I heartily recommend the English Inn.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tidewater, VA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I was a little leery of this hotel, since my husband made the arrangements. I held my breath as we approached the hotel, but was relieved to see the first impression of the exterior was a clean, neat, well-maintained area.

Approaching the entrance, the lobby area is generous and leads down into a cozy sitting area with a fireplace. It gives the feel of a high-end ski resort.

The reservation desk was friendly and helpful. After arriving at our room, we received a call from the front desk to ensure our room was up to standard, which it was.

They had proudly bragged about their high tea served from 4-6 p.m., and their swimming pool which is the largest in the area. We did not opt to go swimming on this particular trip, but we did partake of the tea.

The buffet breakfast has a wonderful selection of hot breakfast foods coupled with fresh fruit and typical continental foods. You are sure to find something that meets your dietary needs.

There is not much room for improvement at this establishment, but if I had to change anything it would be to provide china cups and saucers along with plates for the cookies at tea time. Nothing too fancy, and it does not have to match (I would grab up some 2nd hand). I just think it would add a touch of perfection to sit by the fire.

In summary, I do not think you can beat the quality and price of this hotel. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GalavantinGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We were on a tour of the area, mostly camping, and got tired of the pouring rain so we drove into Charlottesville and found this place. It was reasonably priced and warm and dry. I would say that it's above some of your economy chain hotels. It had some charm, and the beds were fantastic the room clean, free tea/coffee/cookies in the lobby and hot water for a bath. Everything worked, which is more than I can say for some plastic hotels.

There were no college crowds - it was midweek and fairly quiet. Breakfast was typical continental crap - wastful and tasteless, but that is what you get at most chain hotels anyway.

Room Tip: Since we basically showed up without a reservation in pouring rain we didn't have a choice of ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ndantonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
1.8 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,690 reviews
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
862 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#8 of 35 in Charlottesville
957 reviews
1.1 mi away
UVA Inn at Darden
UVA Inn at Darden
#14 of 35 in Charlottesville
299 reviews
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#15 of 35 in Charlottesville
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The English Inn of Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The English Inn of Charlottesville

Property: The English Inn of Charlottesville
Address: 2000 Morton Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22903-6800 (Formerly The English Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#3 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#6 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The English Inn of Charlottesville 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
106 well-appointed rooms and suites. Enjoy all the pleasures of a fine Charlottesville hotel blended with the charm of a country inn. You’ll find the heart of the English Inn is our dedication to uncompromising quality and exemplary personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your The English Inn of Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The English Hotel Charlottesville
English Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing