We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel In Charlottesville!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Best Hotel In Charlottesville!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The English Inn in my opinion is the premier hotel in Charlottesville Virginia! The complimentary breakfast was awesome! The indoor pool is huge! Prime location... Awesome Service! A1 Staff! (Mark M. &Kathy B.)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sms4ym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    296
    105
    28
    18
See reviews for
397
315
54
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We enjoyed the British influence at the English Inn--the decor, the afternoon tea, and the full English breakfast.
We would stay there again anytime we are in Charlottesville. It is a favorite.
We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Readingstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, Maryland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed there on our last night of a road trip south. We wanted to see Monticello. The lady at the front desk was friendly and nice and gave us a map and recommended where to park and where to eat in the downtown mall. The rooms were a bit dated and plain but they were clean. Our air conditioner wasn't working in our room but they quickly got us into another room. There is a hot breakfast which is included. While it would have been nice to stay somewhere closer to the downtown area this offered a much better value if you don't mind driving to get anywhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Just returned from The English Inn for a 2 night stay while we were down to Charlottesville to visit Monticello. Great place to stay. Rooms are clean, staff is exceptional in their knowledge of the area - very helpful. Place is close to shopping and restaurants. Continental breakfast in the morning in outstanding - better than any restaurant we would have gone to. Loved the afternoon tea with warm cookies in the beautiful lobby with fireplace. Pool was very inviting and very very clean. Cannot say enough about this Inn - would recommend it to anyone . When we first checked in we were assigned a room - we just wanted to rest after traveling so far - when we walked in the room it was not ready for the next guest. I went right to the front desk and they immediately assigned us another room and reduced our rate for the 2 night stay. Was very appreciative of that and very impressed that they did that. If we are down this area again - I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for the 2nd time and would recommend it to everyone. The staff is exceptional, the hotel is very clean and the continental breakfast is wonderful. This hotel is close to UVA, restaurants and shopping. We will be staying at this hotel for all of our visits to UVA.
What a wonderful experience this hotel offers!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kimberly042014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Our family has had "2 favorable experiences" and both times we worked with Kathy Palmer and her staff. Our son was returning from Afghanistan and we wanted to have a welcome home party but not being a native of Charlottesville this meant a lot of out of town guests. The English Inn worked with us very favorably, had a nice feedback from our guests on their stay at the Inn and facilities. We stayed there ourselves, although living only 2 miles away, to be with family and have to agree as well, very clean, friendly, and wonderful breakfast. The first time was 2012. Our son just came back from his 2nd tour in Afghanistan and his only request was another party at The English Inn. I contacted Kathy Palmer and just as our first time, everything went very well. I will certainly recommend this place to anyone asking for overnight lodging or if we again have an overflow of family and/or friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in all the major hotel chains all over the world. The English Inn is a very good value. I was hesitant at first because of the themed decor, but the service and cleanliness are top notch. I relaxed before I even entered the front door as beautiful classical music drifted across the driveway. They are "the last independent in the birthplace of independence" and hope to remain independent by offering an excellent experience at a good price. Their outreach projects to the local community nonprofits are admirable as well. Tina and Rod run a tight ship at the generous hot breakfast bar. Thank you! We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimeeriegert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
1.8 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
1.1 mi away
UVA Inn at Darden
UVA Inn at Darden
#14 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#13 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The English Inn of Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The English Inn of Charlottesville

Property: The English Inn of Charlottesville
Address: 2000 Morton Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22903-6800 (Formerly The English Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#3 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#6 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The English Inn of Charlottesville 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
106 well-appointed rooms and suites. Enjoy all the pleasures of a fine Charlottesville hotel blended with the charm of a country inn. You’ll find the heart of the English Inn is our dedication to uncompromising quality and exemplary personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your The English Inn of Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The English Hotel Charlottesville
English Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing