We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UVA Graduation Weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The English Inn of Charlottesville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“UVA Graduation Weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Hotel rooms are at a premium when UVA holds commencement in May. We booked a King Suite in the main building and were required to pay in full in February. The room was comfortable however the furniture was dated and the room could be updated (the bathroom had a bottle opener). Over all , the room was clean and the hotel staff were very welcoming. The breakfast room and complimentary breakfast is one of the best in the area. This hotel is close to UVA and we would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoydN568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    276
    103
    28
    18
See reviews for
372
304
52
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Southern comfort, British style
4-star * * * *

I enjoyed a pleasant three-night stay in mid-May 2014 at The English Inn, which is conveniently located in the heart of Charlottesville just off Route 29, a major north-south highway. It is close to the impressive historic campus of the University of Virginia as well as to restaurants, shops, and the local airport. And it is within reasonable driving distance of several major tourist attractions, including the well-maintained 18th and 19th century estates of Thomas Jefferson, James Madison, and James Monroe -- respectively, America's third, fourth, and fifth presidents.

With its Tudor architecture and modern facilities, The English Inn is old-fashioned in best sense of that term, featuring a friendly, efficient reception staff, excellent housekeeping service, and large, comfortable rooms. Afternoon tea (mislabeled as "high tea" for some reason) is served every day in the spacious lobby area, complete with home-made cookies. The hotel features a large indoor swimming pool, an exercise room, good conference facilities for small and medium-sized groups, and plentiful free parking

My room offered a large desk with an adjustable desk chair, ample drawer space, an upholstered easy chair with matching footrest, an alarm clock, a fridge, a microwave oven, a flat panel TV, and free wireless Internet with a strong signal distributed on several hotel networks -- you may have to experiment to determine which of the wi-fi networks works best for your room location. The only missing item I would have liked to have was an in-room safe, although a safe deposit box was available for hotel guests at the front desk.

Lighting in my room was more than adequate, with lamps on each of the end-tables surrounding the king-sized bed, another lamp at the desk, and an overhead light at the entranceway. An easy-to-adjust programmable climate control unit allowed for setting a precise temperature target for the heat or air-conditioning.

Bathroom amenities included a hair dryer, shower cap, and facial tissue dispenser. The shower in the bathtub was simple and easy to use, with a good anti-slip surface. The bathroom faucet brought forth quick hot water, and there was ample work space around the sink.

The breakfast buffet was nothing special. but there was nothing wrong. It essentially consisted of standard motel fare with a few choices, including juice, tea, coffee, scrambled eggs, sausage, and cereal.

All in all, my stay at the English Inn was a pleasant experience, and I will be happy to choose it again for my next visit to Charlottesville.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonKVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

The English Inn in my opinion is the premier hotel in Charlottesville Virginia! The complimentary breakfast was awesome! The indoor pool is huge! Prime location... Awesome Service! A1 Staff! (Mark M. &Kathy B.)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sms4ym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We enjoyed the British influence at the English Inn--the decor, the afternoon tea, and the full English breakfast.
We would stay there again anytime we are in Charlottesville. It is a favorite.
We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Readingstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, Maryland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed there on our last night of a road trip south. We wanted to see Monticello. The lady at the front desk was friendly and nice and gave us a map and recommended where to park and where to eat in the downtown mall. The rooms were a bit dated and plain but they were clean. Our air conditioner wasn't working in our room but they quickly got us into another room. There is a hot breakfast which is included. While it would have been nice to stay somewhere closer to the downtown area this offered a much better value if you don't mind driving to get anywhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Just returned from The English Inn for a 2 night stay while we were down to Charlottesville to visit Monticello. Great place to stay. Rooms are clean, staff is exceptional in their knowledge of the area - very helpful. Place is close to shopping and restaurants. Continental breakfast in the morning in outstanding - better than any restaurant we would have gone to. Loved the afternoon tea with warm cookies in the beautiful lobby with fireplace. Pool was very inviting and very very clean. Cannot say enough about this Inn - would recommend it to anyone . When we first checked in we were assigned a room - we just wanted to rest after traveling so far - when we walked in the room it was not ready for the next guest. I went right to the front desk and they immediately assigned us another room and reduced our rate for the 2 night stay. Was very appreciative of that and very impressed that they did that. If we are down this area again - I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for the 2nd time and would recommend it to everyone. The staff is exceptional, the hotel is very clean and the continental breakfast is wonderful. This hotel is close to UVA, restaurants and shopping. We will be staying at this hotel for all of our visits to UVA.
What a wonderful experience this hotel offers!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kimberly042014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
1.8 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
1.1 mi away
UVA Inn at Darden
UVA Inn at Darden
#13 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
1.5 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The English Inn of Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The English Inn of Charlottesville

Property: The English Inn of Charlottesville
Address: 2000 Morton Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22903-6800 (Formerly The English Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#3 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#6 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The English Inn of Charlottesville 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
106 well-appointed rooms and suites. Enjoy all the pleasures of a fine Charlottesville hotel blended with the charm of a country inn. You’ll find the heart of the English Inn is our dedication to uncompromising quality and exemplary personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The English Inn of Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The English Hotel Charlottesville
English Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing