We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice visit in Charlottesville”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My husband and I found the hotel clean, quiet and comfortable.
It was near the family that we were visiting and also near town.
Rates were reasonable and the staff was efficient and friendly.
A free hot breakfast was offered. Very nice!
Will definitely stay at the English Inn on our next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mary Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

599 - 605 of 1,135 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

We have stayed at the English Inn 3 times in the past few years, and we always love it. The breakfast is always exceptional. They have real food (no powdered eggs here) with a lot of variety. The pool is large enough that the kids can play without crowding out other people. It's close to UVA.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sillyslugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had intended to stay elsewhere in Charlottesville but past Trip Advisor reviews persuaded us to try The English Inn. It proved to be a good choice. It is excellently positioned close to town in a quiet position, but with easy access to the main road system. Our suite was bright, well furnished and large, with an excellent, comfortable bed. Staff are friendly and helpful (Rica and Kirsten on reception) and with an excellent room maid. The inn has a very good indoor swimming pool. Our four nights there were excellent value for money. They could improve; for example breakfast is rather basic in quality, food put out is often not kept hot enough, and they don't provide real butter, also theydon't provide changing facilities at the swimming pool, But the overall experience at this inn is very positive.

Room Tip: The room / suites in the Mews are separate from the main hotel, and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peacock32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We were looking for a reasonably priced hotel with good reviews and landed on the Inn. It was fine! No surprises. No problems. Clean. Great room rate and friendly staff. Breakfast (included) was fine for my taste. Didn't need anything else. Thanks!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnitaCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I’ve literally traveled half way around the world and stayed in hundreds of hotels. The English Inn in Charlottesville is undoubtably one of the finest establishments I’ve had the pleasure of lodging at. From the exceptional customer service, cleanliness, indoor pool this gem is truly a treasure. I opted for a suite which was not only very affordable but extremely comfortable for myself and travel companion. From the beds to the 2 flat panel televisions, it was exquisite. We woke up the following morning to the finest breakfast selection I’ve ever seen from fresh fruit to a host of breakfast favorites from cereals, yogurt, eggs, crisp bacon and fresh biscuits with gravy just to name a small sample of the freshly cooked items. In the afternoons you can smell freshly baked cookies for the guest and the location of this establishment is in close proximity to UVA and many other Charlottesville destinations. Our corner suite was quiet and there is plenty of ample parking. Do yourself and your wallet a favor and stay there when you are in the area. They certainly beat all of the competition "hands down" on quality, a very friendly staff and all the amenities other chains have allowed to go by the wayside. Enjoy! Papa G.

Room Tip: We enjoyed a quiet corner suite on the second floor overlooking the parking lot. In my opinion it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Papa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I stayed two nights here in a room with two queen beds. I had a comfortable stay. The room was clean and basic. It was like a typical motel setup (think Travelodge). It was clean and comfortable enough and for $112 and $119/night, the price was right. I didn't spend any time in the lobby and the rest of the property except for the Windsor Room for breakfast. The lobby seemed darkly lit and everything felt very old. The Windsor Room was a nice place for breakfast, which was fine -- some hot foods (pancakes, sausages, eggs, etc.) and some Yoplait yogurt and fruit like bananas/apples. The strange thing was that the coffee cups were the small styrofoam ones you find in your hotel near your room's standard coffee maker. I thought it was odd that the hotel didn't offer actual cups/mugs.

All in all, decent, clean place to rest after a day of sightseeing in Charlottesville, but this is not a place to spend more time than that. The location of the hotel is good -- just a few minutes' drive to the historic downtown 'mall' and a few minutes' drive to Whole Foods/Trader Joe's/retail.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dc20202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Decent comfortable rooms. But the breakfast buffet is truly awful. It is everything that is bad about corporate food. Bulk packaged eggs, meat and pastries. Plastic knives and forks, styrofoam plates. Tasteless, over salted, over sugared fast food junk. Only the fruit is worth eating and that's because it is still in its original form. Skip the food there and go to Bodo 's just round the corner

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#9 of 35 in Charlottesville
250 reviews
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
941 reviews
1.8 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
752 reviews
1.0 mi away
UVA Inn at Darden
UVA Inn at Darden
#14 of 35 in Charlottesville
320 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The English Inn of Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The English Inn of Charlottesville

Address: 2000 Morton Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22903-6800 (Formerly The English Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#6 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: £71 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The English Inn of Charlottesville 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
106 well-appointed rooms and suites. Enjoy all the pleasures of a fine Charlottesville hotel blended with the charm of a country inn. You’ll find the heart of the English Inn is our dedication to uncompromising quality and exemplary personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The English Inn of Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The English Hotel Charlottesville
English Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing