We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Older property, just average.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The English Inn of Charlottesville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Older property, just average.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We spent one night here and found it conveniently located for touring Monticello and UVA. The property is older, and it feels it. We had a second floor room, and the toilet was not anchored to the floor. The bathrooms have the old, loud, churning fans in them, and the room was just average, although it did have a refrigerator (no freezer compartment) and a microwave. The kids enjoyed the very large indoor pool, but the workout room was located adjacent to the pool, with no separate air conditioning, so it would have been an extremely humid workout if we had wanted to use the workout facility. Breakfast was about what you would expect: eggs, yogurt, fruit, cereal, etc. We missed the tea time. This hotel is probably about average for this price point, but if you like newer or newer feels cleaner to you, keep looking.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SGRUGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    552
    278
    103
    28
    18
See reviews for
372
307
52
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norge, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I recently had the pleasure of staying at The English Inn in Charlottesville. From the moment I walked in their door I was captivated. The Inn is warm and cozy, the staff friendly and accommodating, the breakfast and afternoon tea excellent. The facilities were clean and gave me the experience of feeling as though I was in "merry olde England" yet afforded me all the modern conveniences to which we Americans have grown accustomed. I shall return....and soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

If you are tired of the chain hotels monopolizing the industry, this hotel is for you. The English charm captures your inner Shakespeare as you enter the lobby. It's always tea time at the English Inn, where you can nibble on "biscuits" (cookies) for an afternoon treat. The rooms are cozy and clean. The service feels personalized during the morning's fresh and warm continental breakfast. Our family was welcomed, and the staff quickly knew us by name. Our Fourth of July visit at Monticello was memorable, with the close proximity to the hotel. We plan to make it an annual tradition and I write this glowing review to help ensure that the English Inn will not be dismissed amidst the more recognizable "big names." Take the leap and go English! :)
- Dr. R.J. Wentling

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolcott, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

My husband and I found the hotel clean, quiet and comfortable.
It was near the family that we were visiting and also near town.
Rates were reasonable and the staff was efficient and friendly.
A free hot breakfast was offered. Very nice!
Will definitely stay at the English Inn on our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waynesburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We have stayed at the English Inn 3 times in the past few years, and we always love it. The breakfast is always exceptional. They have real food (no powdered eggs here) with a lot of variety. The pool is large enough that the kids can play without crowding out other people. It's close to UVA.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sillyslugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had intended to stay elsewhere in Charlottesville but past Trip Advisor reviews persuaded us to try The English Inn. It proved to be a good choice. It is excellently positioned close to town in a quiet position, but with easy access to the main road system. Our suite was bright, well furnished and large, with an excellent, comfortable bed. Staff are friendly and helpful (Rica and Kirsten on reception) and with an excellent room maid. The inn has a very good indoor swimming pool. Our four nights there were excellent value for money. They could improve; for example breakfast is rather basic in quality, food put out is often not kept hot enough, and they don't provide real butter, also theydon't provide changing facilities at the swimming pool, But the overall experience at this inn is very positive.

Room Tip: The room / suites in the Mews are separate from the main hotel, and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peacock32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We were looking for a reasonably priced hotel with good reviews and landed on the Inn. It was fine! No surprises. No problems. Clean. Great room rate and friendly staff. Breakfast (included) was fine for my taste. Didn't need anything else. Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnitaCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
1.8 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
1.1 mi away
UVA Inn at Darden
UVA Inn at Darden
#13 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#16 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The English Inn of Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The English Inn of Charlottesville

Property: The English Inn of Charlottesville
Address: 2000 Morton Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22903-6800 (Formerly The English Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#3 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#6 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The English Inn of Charlottesville 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
106 well-appointed rooms and suites. Enjoy all the pleasures of a fine Charlottesville hotel blended with the charm of a country inn. You’ll find the heart of the English Inn is our dedication to uncompromising quality and exemplary personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your The English Inn of Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The English Hotel Charlottesville
English Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing