We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,292)
Filter reviews
1,292 results
Traveller rating
716
370
139
41
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
716
370
139
41
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cookies high tea large indoor pool community garden bagel place bodo's bagels hot breakfast chain hotels king suite french toast main building breakfast room a great place to stay convenient location oatmeal lobby area free breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
157 - 162 of 1,292 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2017

I visit The English Inn many times each year when I come to Charlottesville to attend a UVA football or basketball game. The entire staff is courteous and friendly. Kathy Brown is awesome. I miss longtime employees Raymond and Craig who have retired.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ChatlesLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua G, General Manager at The English Inn of Charlottesville, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

ChatlesLee -

Thank you so much for providing us with feedback regarding your stay. We always enjoy hearing from our valued guests. We look forward to having you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Friendly staff. Clean room, sink draining slow; AC not blowing cold air-but room temp wasn't uncomfortable. Mattress could be firmer; hard to sit up in bed. The hot breakfast was good. We really enjoyed the pool.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sonjab18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua G, General Manager at The English Inn of Charlottesville, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Sonjab18 - thank so much for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. We apologize for the issue with your sink and AC unit. We will work hard to get that fix. We hope you will visit us again on your next visit to Charlottesville, VA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Just stayed overnight for a wedding - the hotel is quaint but very nicely appointed. My room was quite large with a fridge/microwave and clean. It included a substantial breakfast and decent coffee! I will def make every effort to stay here again bc Charlottesville is quite lovely.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua G, General Manager at The English Inn of Charlottesville, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Kim -

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the English Inn. We would be delighted to have you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

The English Inn was a nice hotel and was reasonably priced. The breakfast was above average when compared to the free breakfast offered by other similarly priced hotels. They offered cereal, muffins, bacon, eggs, pancakes, grits, fruit, hash browns and pastries.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua G, General Manager at The English Inn of Charlottesville, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Debbie A - thanks for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast and hope you will visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

At the end of several hotel stays around Virginia, I was very impressed to discover that this was an excellent place to spend some of my time. I noticed that every employee, regardless of level and/or department was polite, friendly and engaged with the guests. I have never had that experience.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua G, General Manager at The English Inn of Charlottesville, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Scott H - we appreciate the feedback and are glad you discovered the English Inn. We pride ourselves on outstanding service and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews