We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
lake geneva, wi
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic location!”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

My family and I stayed at the Cavalier Inn for five days this past week. The location at the University of Virginia is the reason we selected this property, and we were very pleased with the proximity of the hotel to the university. It is literally a five-minute walk to the Rotunda and a few more minutes to the Corner, seven blocks of restaurants, night spots, and shopping. It is also a lovely 20 to 30-minute walk to the Historic Downtown Mall.

Although the room itself could have used a few minor repairs, such as the door knob and hooks in the bathroom, the room was tastefully decorated, very clean, and had comfortable beds. The breakfast was more than adequate with waffles, cereal, toast, muffins, juices, fruit, and coffee. There is restaurant next door called the Villa Diner that had excellent pizza and chocolate cake. I know that doesn't sound too healthy, but it was delicious! They also have many other menu options that were on the healthier side.

The front desk staff was very pleasant. Parking was easy in an outdoor lot next to the hotel. The price for the stay was reasonable as we received a group rate and there were no major conflicting events that weekend at the university. We were able to park our car on the first day and walk to almost every event we had planned.

All in all, it was a lovely stay at the Cavalier Inn, and I would recommend it to anyone wanting to visit UVA or Charlottesville.

Room Tip: We preferred the rooms facing the university and a sports field, as they had a hallway to the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mac09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInn, Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, 10 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay we apologize that your review was not responded to in a proper time frame it was missed due to a change in the system we used, We always appreciate when our guests take the time to let us know about their stay so we can learn and make the necessary changes to make all of our guests stay a pleasant one. Again, we truly and sincerely apologize that your review was overlooked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    155
    144
    86
    53
See reviews for
218
95
38
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I was impressed with our stay. Room was comfortable and had nice updated decor. Absolutely great location if attending a UVA event. Good breakfast however it may be time to buy a new waffle iron.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ekehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Hello

We appreciate you taking time to let us know about your stay, we take all of our guest comments seriously so that we can make sure every stay is pleasant and consistent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I stayed at this hotel because I had an interview at UVA medical center and the hotel offered shuttle service to/from airport as well as to the hospital. The hotel staff is very shifty about offering the shuttle service. They always preface the offering by saying that it's only available if someone is available to drive the shuttle. I decided to take the chance. They failed to tell me that the shuttle doesn't run after 8 pm. My flight was delayed and thus I arrived after 8 and the hotel was unforgiving when I called about the shuttle. This leads to my major complaint, which is the unfriendliness of the front desk staff. They are very curt and are not gracious at all. When I went up to my room, the door to my room was WIDE OPEN in January and the TV was on. The room was freezing cold. I called down to the front desk and they told me to come back down to get a different room. Usually the staff would offer to walk a new key up to you. They didn't even apologize for this blatant misstep by the hotel.

Anyways, I got another room and found there was NO SHAMPOO in the room. It was very cold outside and the room was poorly insulated. I could never get the room comfortably warm before I fell asleep, and I had to pull the whole other bed's set of sheets and comforter to get warm. The rooms themselves are in below average condition. Furniture is damaged, carpet is rolled up onto the walls and falling off, towels have a strong stench of bleach and are rough on the skin.

The one positive thing about the hotel is that guys who drive the shuttle. They were AWESOME and very friendly and quick to respond. If I were to travel to UVA again, I would not stay here, however. There is nothing worthwhile within walking distance to the hotel to get something to eat, so you will benefit greatly from a rental car, making the shuttle service moot.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
Hello

Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience, I apologize that you were disappointed with your stay, we have shared your review with the hotel staff so that we can all see where your stay went wrong and that your experience is not shared by others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Charlottesville hotels

Cartersville, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed for two nights at the Cavalier Inn in December and were very pleased with the quality of the room: clean, nicely furnished, comfortable bedding, pleasant and helpful staff.

The breakfast buffet was adequate (bagels, toast, waffle-maker) but would benefit from more healthy food choices for those who are trying to avoid carb-centered diets (e.g., real fruit instead of plastic display fruit).

Room Tip: Rooms facing Emmett Street open onto walkway with glass wall. Rooms on other side have walkway with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
Hello

We appreciate you taking time to write a review and letting us know about your stay experience, I hope that the next time you are in Charlottesville that you will come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

The Cavalier is right on the edge of the UVA campus. That being said, unless you are booking early during the weekend of a UVA home game, you will not be able to get in. We stayed here a couple of weeks ago and were very surprised at what we found. The establishment was very clean, the staff was great and the "continental" breakfast was a bit more than the usual continental breakfast.
We had one issue which was taken care of. Brandy, the desk manager on duty helped us out with this one. We had asked for a room with a microwave. When we checked the room, there was none. We went downstairs ready for the usual "we'll take care of it" line. Brandy said she would let Ed, the maintanence guy, know and get it taken care of. We went out to the car for our bags, and by the time we got back up to the room, Ed was already on his way in with the microwave. WOW! Great customer service!!!
The Cavalier is within 10 minutes of the Downtown Mall, right on the edge of the UVA campus and the Rotunda, and close to everything else "Charlottesville." A great place to stay.
Rumor is that this great establishment may be being torn down in the near future to put up more UVA buildings. I hope not. We had a very plesant stay and defintiely would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulM67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInn, Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, 10 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay we apologize that your review was not responded to in a proper time frame it was missed due to a change in the system we used, We always appreciate when our guests take the time to let us know about their stay so we can learn and make the necessary changes to make all of our guests stay a pleasant one. Again, we truly and sincerely apologize that your review was overlooked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

The rooms were very clean and updated. They have everything you would need in a room. If your are looking for a place that is within walking distance to UVA campus this is the place. You are pretty much on campus when you walk out the door. You can safely walk to historic downtown Charlottsville but is a bit of a walk. The drive to historic downtown Charlottsville is very short and straight out from the Inn. 100% smoke free . The only noise I heard at night was an occassional train near by.

Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet, convenient to uva campus., convenient to historic downtown charlottsville, convenient to restaurants., very safe area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roberths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInn, Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, 10 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay we apologize that your review was not responded to in a proper time frame it was missed due to a change in the system we used, We always appreciate when our guests take the time to let us know about their stay so we can learn and make the necessary changes to make all of our guests stay a pleasant one. Again, we truly and sincerely apologize that your review was overlooked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Very convenient to UVA, restaurants, grocery store, and nearby sightseeing (e.g., Monticello). Clean with attractive decor. I always check for bedbugs in hotels before unpacking, and did not see any evidence. The mattresses look new. Rooms on the University Avenue side have some traffic sounds in the morning despite a buffering hallway, but if you are ultra-sensitive to sound (like me), wear ear plugs. Someone in another review claims her husband got bronchitis at the hotel, but this sounds extremely far-fetched and paranoid.

Breakfast is Hampton Inn quality, with a fair variety of foods, and it's free. If you don't want waffles, biscuits, or other fattening foods, they have hardboiled eggs and fruit. Overall, a decent place to stay and, for the price, a great value!

Room Tip: If you are ultra-sensitive to noise, rooms on the University Avenue side have traffic sounds in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Hello

thank you for your review, We take all comments and suggestions from our guests seriously, we will pass on to the owners about the noise level from day time traffic, it is hard to avoid when you are in the center of campus grounds, I hope that we can find a solution to this. maybe we will offer ear plugs to those guests that are sensitive to noise at night, let us know when you are coming again and we will have some waiting for you. again thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.9 mi away
UVA Inn at Darden
UVA Inn at Darden
#14 of 35 in Charlottesville
308 reviews
0.6 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
294 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#12 of 35 in Charlottesville
170 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Charlottesville - University Medical Center
Courtyard Charlottesville - Univ...
#19 of 35 in Charlottesville
167 reviews
1.3 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia

Property: Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
Address: 105 Emmet St N, Charlottesville, VA 22903-1728
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY RENOVATED "September 2014" all of our guest rooms now feature 4 Star Hotel mattress bedding, pillows and luxury linen collection that extends to our bath linen and feature new bath amenities by Bath & Body Works. Cavalier Inn is located directly on UVA Grounds one block to the Admissions Office, Alumni Hall and the UVA Bookstore. Just 3 blocks to the new Battle Building Children's Hospital, UVA Medical Center, and only 2 blocks from The Jefferson Rotunda and the UVA Chapel. Our hotel is located in the heart of Charlottesville directly on UVA Grounds and only minutes from Monticello, Miche Tavern, Ashlawn Highlands, and a short drive to James Madison’s Montpelier. The hotel offers a Complimentary Deluxe Hot Breakfast Buffet, fitness center, seasonal outdoor pool, cafe patio, and for our business guests a self-serve business center with copy, fax and printer services. Complimentary Shuttle Sunday to Thursday 8am to 5pm must be scheduled in advance. The hotel is a 100% SMOKE FREE property. Our Hotel features deluxe 2 room suites, mini suites and business class suites. Each room features a refrigerator and microwave, iron & ironing board, electronic laptop size safe, free high speed internet and Free Wi-Fi in all guest rooms along with a 37” inch flat screen TV with cable in our standard rooms and 2 flat screens in our suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavalier Inn At The University Of Virginia Hotel Charlottesville
Cavalier Hotel Charlottesville
The Cavalier Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing