We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We think it's OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
Ranked #28 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Bloomfield, NY
1 review
“We think it's OK”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Stayed 3 nights spending sleep time only in the rooms. For my wife and me, they were all we needed. The bed was roomy, clean and comfortable; bathroom/shower were fine. Didn't need microwave but did use the fridge. Room was quiet even tho we faced Emmett St. HVAC was a bit noisy sometimes. Overall, a good room for the price. Would recommend it to others looking for solid over-night accommodations. Will likely stay again should family remain in C'Ville. Free parking appreciated. Front office staff were responsive but not outgoing--acknowledged you if you needed them. Appreciated free access to the computer.

Breakfast varies; first day we had our choice of the pastries, bagels, bread, cereals, instant oatmeal, cook-your-own-waffles, bananas, etc. PLUS sausage gravy and biscuits. Now while we didn't go for the gravy and biscuits, it set us up to think maybe tomorrow scrambled eggs? A bit of protein? Was not to be; days 2 and 3 of Easter weekend were the usual fare of sugary pastries, etc. The Cavalier could take b'fast up a notch and we as guests would really appreciate it--eggs are cheap! And we've seen other hotels offer a pot of real oatmeal -- big hit! Very likely we'll be back if the price is right!

Room Tip: Think about what you really need; a room to hang out for an extended time with friends/family or a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olddaddavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Hello,

We appreciate you leaving the comments and suggestions, we are always looking for ways and input from our guests for items that we put on our breakfast bar. We know not everyone likes everything that we put out, so we do try and change it every other day so that what is offered is different. We hope that you come back and see what has been changed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    153
    143
    81
    51
See reviews for
208
94
37
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012 via mobile

This is an old hotel which could use some or more updates and remodeling. Also, the parking lot is horrible for larger vehicles or pickups. I would not stay here gin, nor would I recommend this hotel. The front desk staff was OK, but not anything special.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank campingcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInn, Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, 10 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay we apologize that your review was not responded to in a proper time frame it was missed due to a change in the system we used, We always appreciate when our guests take the time to let us know about your stay, we like the good and the bad, so we can learn and make the necessary changes to make all of our guests stay a pleasant one. Again, we truly and sincerely apologize that your review was overlooked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The Cavalier Inn has apparently been renovated recently with new carpets, wall paper, curtains. The front desk staff were efficient, helpful, and friendly. Our room with two double beds was roomy and comfortable, and the bathroom was clean and attractive. The rooms open off an outdoor balcony which is reached from the indoor elevator corridor. The hotel is similar to many chain hotels, but the cost is lower. Breakfast was the usual: cereal, hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, varied pastries and breaks, make-your-own waffles. We were in Charlottesville for an appointment at the University Hospital, and the Inn's location was very convenient for that or for campus visits. Our only complaint was the heating system which worked well but was difficult to control.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaCombe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInn, Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, 10 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay we apologize that your review was not responded to in a proper time frame it was missed due to a change in the system we used, We always appreciate when our guests take the time to let us know about your stay, we like the good and the bad, so we can learn and make the necessary changes to make all of our guests stay a pleasant one. Again, we truly and sincerely apologize that your review was overlooked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Appeal and cleanliness was improved last year (2011), from a formerly shoddier milieu. Prices tended to be higher, however; but the location, proxmity to desired U.Va sites, walkability and central location remained superior. Included breakfast was satisfactory as well, although not always as tended to as desired.

Room Tip: Frontal rooms have view of campus; upper rooms moreso, although back rooms overlook a pleasant surro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EverPsyPgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Hello

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we always appreciate when our guest let us know of their experience at out hotel. We are striving top give to our guests what they are looking for and your comment helps us to continue that effort. We hope on your next trip to Charlottesville that you will stay with us and see what changes we have made
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

The rooms are getting old. It has been a long time since the last (cheap) renovation. The lobby and exercise room are in good shape and the location re UVA is great.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onthesameday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Hello

thank you for your review, I am sorry to see that you think our hotel is getting run down, it has been right at a year since we completed renovations of the hotel, with new carpeting in all guest rooms, and guest hallways, all of our meeting space has been renovated with new carpeting and lighting, all of our guest rooms have new chairs, sofa's, lighting, refrigerators, microwaves, custom designed art work in each room, new wall vinyl, mirrors, and flat screen TV’s and electronic safes, our breakfast rooms has new cabinets with granite counter tops, new flooring, tables and chairs. So I am very surprised at your comment of being run down, but we appreciate all comments, it lets us know what is working for our guests and how our guests needs are changing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I just stayed at the Cavalier Inn with my daughter on a recent college tour. We chose the hotel for its proximity to campus. The front desk clerk was nice enough and we were not expecting luxury. When we went to the first room assigned to us I washed my hands and discovered the stopper could not be unstopped. So we went back to the front desk and, since the maintenance person was not available, we were given another room. The security latch was literally falling off the door so it was unusable. We were not able to control the temperature in the room and by morning there was literally frost on the inside of the window. The extra blanket we found was too dirty to use. The shower did not want to turn off, although after much jiggling and manipulation I was able to get it to almost shut off. A totally miserable experience and we wouldn't dream of staying there again.

Room Tip: We tried two rooms and both were terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Hello

Thank you for your review, we appreciate you taking time to let us know about your experience, it is unfortunate that you were not happy with your stay, after reading your review I had the maintenance staff go through every room in our hotel and we found no faulty or loose security latches, our housekeeping staff went to each room and checked the blankets that are extra's in each room to ensure that they are clean and have no dust built up on them since they remain in the credenza drawer, again thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Charlottesville hotels

Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
265 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

This appears to be a UVa-approved campus hotel. I'm a UNC alumni used to the Carolina Inn in Chapel Hill, which this is definitely not. So as my expectations were high, I was a bit disappointed with the hotel. However, at the $56 Government rate, this place is a steal.

The building looks like a refurbished 5 story budget-style hotel. Doors open on either outside of the building with no interior hallway. Floor-to-ceiling windows on door side of room that do not open. Ample parking. Right next to UVa campus, so once you park, you don't need your car for UVa visits.

Free Wi-Fi that actually works. Good size fridge and microwave. Safe, coffee service and hairdryer. Beds comfortable. There is slightly too much furniture that makes the room look small, but it's not. Good size flat screen TV with normal satellite/cable package. Good effort in decorating.

What I didn't like: The thermostat worked intermittently. As windows didn't open, it was hard to cool down the room when it overheated. Fridge made a constant clicking noise. Some water stains on the ceiling (we were on the top floor). No bar or restaurant in the hotel, but a short walk to "The Corner" public student-oriented commercial zone. Or there was a 7/11 within walking distance if you wanted to fill the clicking fridge. Housekeeping was very slow, apparently due to understaffing. A management problem that the front desk didn't seem very in touch with or concerned.

Not to end on a negative tone, I liked the place. Very good rate, wonderful location and (except for the lady at the front desk who didn't seem concerned about inadequate housekeeping resources) very nice people. A good effort was made to make the lobby an upmarket welcoming place. If visiting UVa, it's the place to be.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInn, Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, 10 March 2016


Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay we apologize that your review was not responded to in a proper time frame it was missed due to a change in the system we used, We always appreciate when our guests take the time to let us know about their stay so we can learn and make the necessary changes to make all of our guests stay a pleasant one. Again, we truly and sincerely apologize that your review was overlooked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.1 mi away
Excel Inn & Suites
Excel Inn & Suites
#27 of 35 in Charlottesville
151 reviews
1.0 mi away
UVA Inn at Darden
UVA Inn at Darden
#14 of 35 in Charlottesville
299 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#12 of 35 in Charlottesville
285 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Charlottesville - University Medical Center
Courtyard Charlottesville - Univ...
#20 of 35 in Charlottesville
163 reviews
1.3 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia

Property: Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
Address: 105 Emmet St N, Charlottesville, VA 22903-1728
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY RENOVATED "September 2014" all of our guest rooms now feature 4 Star Hotel mattress bedding, pillows and luxury linen collection that extends to our bath linen and feature new bath amenities by Bath & Body Works. Cavalier Inn is located directly on UVA Grounds one block to the Admissions Office, Alumni Hall and the UVA Bookstore. Just 3 blocks to the new Battle Building Children's Hospital, UVA Medical Center, and only 2 blocks from The Jefferson Rotunda and the UVA Chapel. Our hotel is located in the heart of Charlottesville directly on UVA Grounds and only minutes from Monticello, Miche Tavern, Ashlawn Highlands, and a short drive to James Madison’s Montpelier. The hotel offers a Complimentary Deluxe Hot Breakfast Buffet, fitness center, seasonal outdoor pool, cafe patio, and for our business guests a self-serve business center with copy, fax and printer services. Complimentary Shuttle Sunday to Thursday 8am to 5pm must be scheduled in advance. The hotel is a 100% SMOKE FREE property. Our Hotel features deluxe 2 room suites, mini suites and business class suites. Each room features a refrigerator and microwave, iron & ironing board, electronic laptop size safe, free high speed internet and Free Wi-Fi in all guest rooms along with a 37” inch flat screen TV with cable in our standard rooms and 2 flat screens in our suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavalier Inn At The University Of Virginia Hotel Charlottesville
Cavalier Hotel Charlottesville
The Cavalier Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing