We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come for the location, stay for nothing else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
Ranked #29 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Come for the location, stay for nothing else”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

If you're planning a romantic getaway, I would just stop reading now and advise you to look around. If you want to stay within walking distance of campus, look no further. The service from the front desk to cleaning were very nice. I would say if you plan on having a day full of activities and come back to the hotel just at night, you'll be fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craigstravels5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Hello

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We take all of the comments seriously so we can always improve all of our guests stays. We wish you the best in your future travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    157
    147
    87
    54
See reviews for
222
98
38
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My bed was spotless (thank you) very kind staff, my issues were these 2 things ;)
the bathroom was clean, but NOT the tub :( I literally wiped it down myself and then used flip slops in there just in case, because by the time I saw it it was midnight, and the hotel was packed. the other issue I had was there were no vending machines, and the "snacks" at the front to be bought were all gone. it did smell alittle (like moth balls) and a bit out dated, but I guess you get what you pay for ... ;)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamCooper8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Hello

Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to let us know about your stay, I am sorry that your stay fell below your expectations, we will utilize your comments to make improvements with and verify who cleaned and inspected the room, some people may mistake that our bathrooms are a little older and starting to show the age of the renovation 5 years ago on the bathrooms. the bathrooms are our next big project coming up next year. Thank you again for taking time to let us know about your stay. We wish you the very best in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The reviews I read on this hotel made me a little apprehensive when booking this hotel. But knowing that it was so close to so many UVA buildings that I needed access to, I decided to give it a shot. I was pleasantly surprised by how spacious and clean our room was. Breakfast was great as well - there was a good variety of food from individually boxed cereal to waffles to eggs, sausages and biscuits. I only stayed one night as they were fully booked for the weekend. I would definitely come back and stay in the future!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
.Hello

Thank you for your kinds words, we appreciate you taking time out of your schedule to do so, We are happy to see that your stay met your expectations, most people try to get back at hotels by writing bad reviews, and most people that have pleasant stays don’t too often write about their stay, so we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write one and for staying with us, we would be honored to have you stay with us again. Best of luck in your future travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The hotel is conveniently located on the University of Virginia campus. The hotel is an old converted motel with the exterior hallway covered over many decades ago. The first floor would receive a 3. There is a small lobby, exercise room, 2 guest computer, a small area to purchase snacks, breakfast room and a meeting room. The upper floors via an elevator gets get a 2 minus. The hallway is poorly lighted and dirty. The room smelled, carpeting was soiled, furniture broken and bathroom need chalking. Only plus is there was air conditon, but no heat if you go in the winter. Breakfast was included (boiled eggs, waffles, toast, cereal, milk, coffee, muffins, juice) I was sent a confirmation online for $85 a night (so my expectations were not high) but I was billed $145 on my credit card. When asked about the discrepancy, they explained the computer did not factor in that it was a busy weekend.

Room Tip: This may be all there is available near campus. I did not have a car
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HazelHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate when guests leave their opinion and comments, I am sorry your stay fell below your expectations, we did not receive any other likewise complaints from that weekend, our carpets are one year old next month, they are cleaned on a regular rotation basis so that at the end of every month all have been cleaned, Our breakfast also featured scramble eggs, sausage biscuits and gravy, and usually sausage patties and links, we also offer Gluten FREE cereal, breads, muffins, along with several types of yogurt including Oikos Greek yogurt, and fat free yogurts, we also use "Green" napkins, plates and bowls, they are made out of Sugar Cain and degrade within six months back to Sugar Cain by product. Thank you again for your comments we wish you the best in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Charlottesville hotels

Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We were extremely disappointed with our stay last weekend at the Cavalier Inn. During the night we turned the lights on to discover bedbugs throughout the bed. We spent the rest of the night killing them and not sleeping a wink. While ripping off the sheets to kill the bugs we found underwear between the sheets. We were so totally disgusted and spent the next morning at the laundry mat cleaning everything to make sure we didn't bring them home. The front desk said they were "very sorry" and proceeded to tell us to go to a laundry mat- as if it happens all the time. To add insult to injury we had booked through hotels.com and so now we have to work through them to get our money back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dodini2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your stay, we take all the comments and suggestions seriously, they let us know what we are doing right and what we are doing wrong and how we can improve. We have already contacted Hotels.com for you. Although we had the room heat treated just in case, but we initially found nothing, our policy is to be proactive, the room had been occupied every day since mid-May and we had no complaints prior to your visit. The best of luck to you on your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Our soccer team stayed at the Cavalier Inn over Labor Day weekend for a tournament. The property is an old exterior hallway motel located on UVA grounds. The lobby is average, but only one staff member checking people in, despite the property being fully booked (it was also UVA football home opening weekend). People were, at times, 3 and 4 deep in line waiting to check in. The room had double beds (most hotels now have queens), the furniture was scratched and scuffed, there was dust/mold on the tiles in the bathroom, the water at the sink was hooked up backwards, and only one trash can for the room (with three people staying for a weekend, it fills up quickly). There was little to no room to walk in the room. The bathroom drain was broken -- the mechanism totally pulled out of the tub. Even broken, the water did not drain properly and the tub filled up. Another member in our group had a tub drain that would not stay open while showering.

When housekeeping made up the room the next morning, it looked as if a 5 year old had made the bed (wrinkled, covers crooked, spreads and pillows not put back on the bed). Others in our group did not have any towels -- apparently, the hotel ran out.

Breakfast was on the poor end of average. One day, the juice was good, the next day it was watery. Frozen/reheated cheese omelettes one day, sausage gravy the next. Frozen bagels (think Lender's), cold biscuits (again, frozen and thawed), hard boiled eggs, canned fruit, cereal, pastries and the mandatory make a waffle station rounded out the breakfast offerings. We would have been better off going to The Villa next door.

We were charged $160/night for our room -- what we got was as good as Motel 6 or Super 8. Total rip-off. If this property is a part of UVA, the university needs to step in and make some major updates. I was astounded that one of Virginia's premier universities is affiliated with a property as run down at this. It is a definite black mark against the university and the company that manages this property.

Room Tip: There are no "good" rooms...just average.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loretta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Hello

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay, we server many guest each day and we try to make everyone's stay a pleasant one, it is very disappointing to see that you were not happy with your stay Your stay was on a football weekend where the rates are slightly higher, but they are even more expensive at the other hotels that are miles away, our hotel is older but the beds are new and they are doubles which is 3 inches shorter than a Queen bed on the top and side, if we put the queen beds in there would be less room space to move around. We are not a full service hotel with a restaurant all of our breakfast items do come in already prepared, as with all of the other hotels in the area that do not have restaurants, their eggs, omelets, sandwiches are also frozen, we also offer more items that what the bigger names hotels offer on their breakfast bar. I wish we could change your stay but we can’t, and I am truly sorry you were so disappointed. We wish you the best in your future travels and thank you again for giving your opinion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Booked this hotel for one night. What a mistake! When we walked in to the room it had a smell of must and mold. The carpet was greasy and the beds looked like someone had slept in them the night before. I was exhausted and went to the shower, which had black mold growing in every corner. The mis-matched toiletries looked like they had been used before we arrived. My friend opened her bed to see a footprint looking stain on her sheets. Once I got in bed I felt a bite. I pulled back the sheets and found a flea on me! We asked to change rooms and were given a different room, but no partial refund or even a "sorry" from the front desk. The new room smelled better and we didnt' have fleas (to our knowledge), but everything else was the same. I got the impression that this place has bed bugs. Gross. Pay the extra $40 and stay at a hotel with better management.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCLIVY218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
I am sorry you felt like your stay was not to your standards, we take all comments and suggestions seriously, the carpets in our hotel are new they are cleaned on a continuous cycle so once all have been done the cycle starts all over, although our pest control company did not find flea's in the first room, we still had the room treated, We do not have bed bugs as you suggested, I believe you were given a refund, but like most other people they like to come on say things that are not true, I hope no one does that to your business, We wish you the best in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.9 mi away
UVA Inn at Darden
UVA Inn at Darden
#14 of 35 in Charlottesville
314 reviews
0.6 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#12 of 35 in Charlottesville
302 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Charlottesville - University Medical Center
Courtyard Charlottesville - Univ...
#19 of 35 in Charlottesville
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
196 reviews
1.3 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia

Property: Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
Address: 105 Emmet St N, Charlottesville, VA 22903-1728
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY RENOVATED "September 2014" all of our guest rooms now feature 4 Star Hotel mattress bedding, pillows and luxury linen collection that extends to our bath linen and feature new bath amenities by Bath & Body Works. Cavalier Inn is located directly on UVA Grounds one block to the Admissions Office, Alumni Hall and the UVA Bookstore. Just 3 blocks to the new Battle Building Children's Hospital, UVA Medical Center, and only 2 blocks from The Jefferson Rotunda and the UVA Chapel. Our hotel is located in the heart of Charlottesville directly on UVA Grounds and only minutes from Monticello, Miche Tavern, Ashlawn Highlands, and a short drive to James Madison’s Montpelier. The hotel offers a Complimentary Deluxe Hot Breakfast Buffet, fitness center, seasonal outdoor pool, cafe patio, and for our business guests a self-serve business center with copy, fax and printer services. Complimentary Shuttle Sunday to Thursday 8am to 5pm must be scheduled in advance. The hotel is a 100% SMOKE FREE property. Our Hotel features deluxe 2 room suites, mini suites and business class suites. Each room features a refrigerator and microwave, iron & ironing board, electronic laptop size safe, free high speed internet and Free Wi-Fi in all guest rooms along with a 37” inch flat screen TV with cable in our standard rooms and 2 flat screens in our suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavalier Inn At The University Of Virginia Hotel Charlottesville
Cavalier Hotel Charlottesville
The Cavalier Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing