We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older, but convenient”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Mooresville, North Carolina
1 review
“Older, but convenient”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Very convenient to UVA. Breakfast average but good variety. Older hotel. Found bugs in room.
Bathroom vanity slanted downward...afraid it would fall off wall. Hotel staff not very responsive. Don't stay on the side facing the road. Glassed in corrider feels like sauna.

Stayed May 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Hello Mooresville NC,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate all of the comments and suggestions that we receive from guests that have stayed with us, I do apologize for the warm hallways, but it is unfortunate that people like to do things that they would not do at home such and sit on a vanity top, we are in the process of installing additional support for them, we are very aware of how it looks, but staying so busy it is a challenge to get into the rooms to do maintenance when people want to check in earlier than our posted check in time. Over the next couple of months all of our rooms will have new furniture and I invite you back to see the difference with a more modern look to our rooms and yes the vanity tops are part of that process. Again thank you so much for taking time out to let us know about your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    155
    144
    86
    52
See reviews for
217
95
38
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I booked online and regretted it as soon as I saw the building. It looked like a very dated motel. I hoped that the interior would be better, but was sorely disappointed. We were given a room with a sagging bed, old furniture with deep scratches in it, and a slightly musty odor. It was so unpleasant that we considered leaving for a different hotel, even though we knew we wouldn't get our money back.

Instead, I went to the front desk and asked for a different room. They were polite and moved us to a room on a higher floor, which had newer furniture and a cleaner smell. Still, the place felt like a very overpriced motel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Hello

I am sorry that you felt this way about your stay, with in the last 2 weeks of April we had just literally just finished putting in new pillow top mattress that are of a high end national hotel brand quality, there would have been no bed in this hotel that was in that condition, I am happy to show documentation for the large expense of putting in such high end mattress and box springs in to our rooms, the linen that we use in our guest rooms is above most of the hotels in Charlottesville and there are only 2 high end hotels that use the same linen we use, the pillows are also brand new, the only thing in our rooms that will be replaced in the next couple of months are the head boards, and credenza after that everything will be new and have been replaced.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Charlottesville hotels

Wilmington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We had to cancel before we even went. Had not realized animals are allowed in every room at this hotel. Unfortunately due to severe allergies to animal dander and the negative reviews about the cleanliness of the rooms we chose to cancel our booking. Our cancellation was dealt with in a professional and respectful manner. It's a disappointment that they don't reserve some rooms for those of us who don't wish to travel with or have animals, they must forfeit a lot of business. We are a family who will be staying numerous times for the next four years as our son is going to be a student at UVA.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Hello

We appreciate you taking time out of your schedule to let us know your opinion, We are a ;pet friendly hotel, but we do charge a fee, and no one is put into a room until the room has been treated and steamed cleaned, Most comments as with anything on the internet are not fact some people like to use an open forum to get back at businesses for not giving them what they wanted before coming through the doors, I would invite you to come by and see for yourself since you are coming down over the next four year to see how our service is and how our rooms really are. so feel free to drop in anytime. we would love the opportunity to show you. We wish you the very best in your future travels.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We acturally never stayed. We were in the room and it got cold, so turned the thermostat up but nothing happened. We called down to find out how the heat worked. We were told there was no heat as it was spring and the air conditioner was on, so there was no longer any heat. We checked out immediately.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Hello Marjune from New York,

Thank you for letting us know about your experience, even with you not staying at our hotel, we value and appreciate people taking time out of their schedule to let us know about any type of experience they have while at our hotel however short or long. We have new thermostats that we have changed out and sometimes can be confusing to work, we have recently added an instruction label since not all thermostats work the same are like the one's we use at home. Sorry that you did not stay, we wish you the best of luck in your future travels.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I was very surprised at the low quality of this hotel, given that its rates are not bargain basement and it's one of the primary properties serving UVA. Our room was plain dirty--carpets not vacuumed, visible dirt on the bed comforters, moldy shower curtain, rusty shower rod, and a general air of less-than-freshness. When we checked in, our room was out of toilet paper. The free breakfast featured sour milk, bacon that looked like it was cooked three days ago, and again, dirty, debris-covered carpets and sticky, crumb-covered tables. When I mentioned the state of the room to the receptionist at checkout, she said she'd "mention it" to housekeeping. Only when I pressed did she issue a not very sincere apology. I would say the quality of the room and inn was far below a national bargain hotel chain like the Holiday Inn. In short, it was kind of a dump.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Hello JDD from Brooklyn,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am sorry you felt the hotel was not up to your standards, I appreciate all of the comments and suggestions that guests leave so we can make the necessary changes to ensure that we meet all of our guests expectations. We wish you the best in your future travels.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This review is being written before my stay has even commenced. I spoke to the most awful woman when I tried to confirm my reservation. The attitude she had, the nasty tone and her overall unwillingness to be helpful was overwhelming. I was so concerned by her attitude that I actually called back to speak to someone else to ensure that she didn't cancel my reservation. I sincerely hope that this interaction is no indication of my future stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInn, Guest Relations Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear D R in New York

I apologize for the service through the phone call made, we have a way of pulling call records and listen to call to ensure proper customer service is given to all our guests, I assure you that the appropriate action will be taken, this is not indicative of the type of service that we give to our guests. Thank you for letting us know
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We've been coming here for years as it has suited our needs well. There can be some noise from the traffic as it's on a busy intersection, but rarely has this caused us problems. Breakfast options have been improved, although the coffee is lacking. WiFi service is excellent (10 Mbps up/down at times).The staff have always been helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInn, Guest Relations Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Hello Montreal,

Beautiful city you have, thank you for taking the time to write about your stay we appreciate all comments and suggestions that our guest give to us so that we can learn what we are doing right and where we can improve, We hope to have you stay with us on your next trip to Charlottesville, We wish you the best of luck in your future travels.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.9 mi away
UVA Inn at Darden
UVA Inn at Darden
#14 of 35 in Charlottesville
308 reviews
0.6 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
294 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#12 of 35 in Charlottesville
167 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Charlottesville - University Medical Center
Courtyard Charlottesville - Univ...
#19 of 35 in Charlottesville
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia

Property: Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
Address: 105 Emmet St N, Charlottesville, VA 22903-1728
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY RENOVATED "September 2014" all of our guest rooms now feature 4 Star Hotel mattress bedding, pillows and luxury linen collection that extends to our bath linen and feature new bath amenities by Bath & Body Works. Cavalier Inn is located directly on UVA Grounds one block to the Admissions Office, Alumni Hall and the UVA Bookstore. Just 3 blocks to the new Battle Building Children's Hospital, UVA Medical Center, and only 2 blocks from The Jefferson Rotunda and the UVA Chapel. Our hotel is located in the heart of Charlottesville directly on UVA Grounds and only minutes from Monticello, Miche Tavern, Ashlawn Highlands, and a short drive to James Madison’s Montpelier. The hotel offers a Complimentary Deluxe Hot Breakfast Buffet, fitness center, seasonal outdoor pool, cafe patio, and for our business guests a self-serve business center with copy, fax and printer services. Complimentary Shuttle Sunday to Thursday 8am to 5pm must be scheduled in advance. The hotel is a 100% SMOKE FREE property. Our Hotel features deluxe 2 room suites, mini suites and business class suites. Each room features a refrigerator and microwave, iron & ironing board, electronic laptop size safe, free high speed internet and Free Wi-Fi in all guest rooms along with a 37” inch flat screen TV with cable in our standard rooms and 2 flat screens in our suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavalier Inn At The University Of Virginia Hotel Charlottesville
Cavalier Hotel Charlottesville
The Cavalier Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing