We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay at this Hotel !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Don't stay at this Hotel !!”
Reviewed 28 August 2009

I was in Charlottesville for a concert and stayed here because it was within walking distance of John Paul Jones arena. Hotel is in desperate need of a make-over. Small, claustrophobic room, very small bathroom that smelled of mildew. Upon checking into room went into bathroom and discovered feces in unflushed and uncleaned toilet !! Sleep was almost impossible because paper thin walls allowed every noise from outside in. Staff was polite but basically unconcerned. Location is the only positive in this experience.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catlade54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInnGM, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, 1 September 2009
catlade54, thank you for your comments regarding you stay at the Cavalier Inn Charlottesville. We always welcome your comments and I will be sure to follow up with our associates as to why the issues you experience upon arrival at your room were present so this can be avoided in the future.

The hotel is planning an entire renovation late 2009 early 2010 so I hope you will visit us again.


I am glad you enjoyed your time in Charlottesville.

Sincerely,

Richard J. Smith, CHS
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    155
    144
    85
    51
See reviews for
215
95
38
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington NC
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2009

Older hotel-remodeled-terrific location near campus. If you are traveling to see Monticello, AshLawn, etc, their president's package cannot be beat-amazing price-makes the room almost free!!! Its a motor lodge-so expect such-doors open to hallways-traditional motor lodge layout. BUT, free breakfest, great prices on tickets-it was a great surprise!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GracieGirl100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInnGM, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, 1 September 2009
GracieGirl100, thank you very much for your review of the Cavalier Inn at the University. Your comments are very much appreciated. If we can assist you in any future travel needs please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

Richard Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2009

. . . with the Cavalier Inn. It is a perfectly fine hotel--clean, nice staff, comfortable beds, great location for exploring Charlottesville. I'll grant that some elements show signs of age--for example, the corridor facing Emmet St. that was once open air but has been glassed in--but I found these things to be minor. I have a feeling that the Cavalier Inn's reviews suffer from expectations of the well-to-do who frequent Charlottesville. Someone expecting the Omni, or even the Courtyard on Main St (which is quite nice), might be disappointed, but this hotel provides a good value, better than the EconoLodge or Budget Inn further up Emmet St.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInnGM, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, 7 August 2009
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Cavalier Inn Charlottesville.

If we can asssit you in your future travel needs please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Richard Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2009

My daughter and I visited UVA and stayed at the Cavalier Inn. The staff was friendly, the common areas were beautiful and our room was clean, spacious and well-appointed. The free, continental breakfast was a nice bonus. The pool was small but well kept. The hotel's location can't be beat for anyone visiting the UVA grounds as everything is within walking distance.

I had hesitated to book this property because of the negative reviews but am so glad I didn't let them sway me. I wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Cavalier Inn again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mamamouse19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInnGM, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, 7 August 2009
Thank you for your comments regarding you stay at the Cavalier Inn Charlottesville.

If we can asssit you in your future travel needs please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Richard Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Its not worth staying here for its great location. Charllotesville is so small and the choice of hotels so vast, you can go up the street 1 mile and stay in a great hotel. We decieded to stay here after walking in the lobby on a previous trip, don't be mislead. The rest of the hotel is outdated and in need of refurbishment. One room we reserved would have been tolerable but our other room was dirty, stinky, and I even saw several bugs. The furniture and appliences were also dirty, (I would not even have set in the chairs) banged up, and the bedding also had dirt on it. Worst of all the air conditioning was broken and after that we decieded we had to leave. I will say the employees were very nice and even seemed to understand our problems. We were able to cancel our reservations with no problems and move to a different hotel. The cavalier could be a great thing, they just need to invest the money to fix it up and remodel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaTravelbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInnGM, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, 23 July 2009
Thank you for your comments regarding you stay at the Cavalier Inn Charlottesville. We always welcome your comments. I am saddened to hear that you chose to check out immediately after arriving at your guest room. We constantly strive to provide clean and comfortable accommodations and your experience certainly did not meet this.

We are planning a full renovation in late 2009 early 2010 so I hope you will consider us again.

All issues you mentioned will be full investigated and you comments will be used to help us improve in the future. I would love to discuss this further with you.

Sincerely,
Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Charlottesville hotels

Martinsville
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2009

Although the hall carpeting could be updated, I found the room clean and well appointed for my stay. The front desk staff was VERY helpful. This was my first time staying at this hotel and their assistance was greatly appreciated. Extremely good location for access to the grounds at UVA.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CavMom59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInn, Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, 10 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay we apologize that your review was not responded to in a proper time frame it was missed due to a change in the system we used. It is very important to all of the hospitality industry that we hear from all guests and potential guests, it is how we forge the changes that make a difference in your stay in hotels, We sincerely hope that our failure to respond in a timely manner does not deter you from leaving future reviews on places that you utilize and frequent. We always appreciate when our guests take the time to let us know about their stay so we can learn and make the necessary changes for all of our guests and have their stay be a pleasant one. Again, we truly and sincerely apologize that your review was overlooked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2009

The King bed was comforable and the room was clean. A good location in Charlottesville at the center of the University. The hotel is old and tired but clean. Just a short walk to the Rotunda. My reservation for the President's Pass was messed up by the staff. So I was mildly hassled at Monticello.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatthewRhodeIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInnGM, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, 2 April 2009
Dear MatthewRhodeIsland,

Thank you for your comments regarding you stay at the Cavalier Inn Charlottesville. We always welcome your comments and I will be sure to follow up with the associates as to why the issue with the Presidents Package occured so this can be avoided in the future. I am glad you enjoyed your time in Charlottesville and we hope you visit again.

Sincerely,

Richard J. Smith, CHS
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.9 mi away
UVA Inn at Darden
UVA Inn at Darden
#14 of 35 in Charlottesville
307 reviews
0.6 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
292 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#12 of 35 in Charlottesville
165 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Charlottesville - University Medical Center
Courtyard Charlottesville - Univ...
#19 of 35 in Charlottesville
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia

Property: Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
Address: 105 Emmet St N, Charlottesville, VA 22903-1728
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY RENOVATED "September 2014" all of our guest rooms now feature 4 Star Hotel mattress bedding, pillows and luxury linen collection that extends to our bath linen and feature new bath amenities by Bath & Body Works. Cavalier Inn is located directly on UVA Grounds one block to the Admissions Office, Alumni Hall and the UVA Bookstore. Just 3 blocks to the new Battle Building Children's Hospital, UVA Medical Center, and only 2 blocks from The Jefferson Rotunda and the UVA Chapel. Our hotel is located in the heart of Charlottesville directly on UVA Grounds and only minutes from Monticello, Miche Tavern, Ashlawn Highlands, and a short drive to James Madison’s Montpelier. The hotel offers a Complimentary Deluxe Hot Breakfast Buffet, fitness center, seasonal outdoor pool, cafe patio, and for our business guests a self-serve business center with copy, fax and printer services. Complimentary Shuttle Sunday to Thursday 8am to 5pm must be scheduled in advance. The hotel is a 100% SMOKE FREE property. Our Hotel features deluxe 2 room suites, mini suites and business class suites. Each room features a refrigerator and microwave, iron & ironing board, electronic laptop size safe, free high speed internet and Free Wi-Fi in all guest rooms along with a 37” inch flat screen TV with cable in our standard rooms and 2 flat screens in our suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavalier Inn At The University Of Virginia Hotel Charlottesville
Cavalier Hotel Charlottesville
The Cavalier Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing