We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pick another hotel!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Summit, NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pick another hotel!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2006

We had reservations at this hotel, and I choose it for the proximity to UVA and the downtown district. Big mistake.

Pulled into the lot and the first we saw was a freight train rumbling by adjacent to the hotel. (Think My Cousin Vinny) It was downhill from there. The lobby was old, but rather quaint, and the desk clerk was very nice, but the elevator was dingy and dirty, the hallway to the room was worse, and the room itself was dark and dingy. Bathrooms needed updating and looked unclean.

We went back to the lobby and when we said we weren't staying, the clerk was actully very pleasant and cancelled our reservation without an argument.

Given it's location, this property would do well to update.

We found a beautiful hotel down Rt. 29, and had a pleasant stay for just a little more money.

  • Liked — Nothing.
  • Disliked — The room itself.
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay away!
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank merlyn07901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, 10 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay we apologize that your review was not responded to in a proper time frame it was missed due to a change in the system we used. It is very important to all of the hospitality industry that we hear from all guests and potential guests, it is how we forge the changes that make a difference in your stay in hotels, We sincerely hope that our failure to respond in a timely manner does not deter you from leaving future reviews on places that you utilize and frequent. We always appreciate when our guests take the time to let us know about their stay so we can learn and make the necessary changes for all of our guests and have their stay be a pleasant one. Again, we truly and sincerely apologize that your review was overlooked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    149
    136
    78
    50
See reviews for
197
92
36
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Covington, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2006

I stayed here to attend a meeting in the area and because I am a Best Western GoldCrownClub card member gave this hotel a try. At the front desk they could not find my reservation(luckily I had my confirmation from the web-site). I stayed on the side of the hotel with a glass enclosure facing the outside. It was like a hothouse in the hall with the sun coming through the window. The room was standard, but the bed was way to soft and I had a back ache the next day. You had to have a P.H.D. to figure out the cooling/heating system(two thermostats,one cooling and the other heating at the same time)which I fixed by trial and error after about an hour. The free breakfast was OK, but my back could not take another night at this hotel. When I am in this area again I will go to the Holiday Inn, my back will thank me the next morning.

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, 10 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay we apologize that your review was not responded to in a proper time frame it was missed due to a change in the system we used. It is very important to all of the hospitality industry that we hear from all guests and potential guests, it is how we forge the changes that make a difference in your stay in hotels, We sincerely hope that our failure to respond in a timely manner does not deter you from leaving future reviews on places that you utilize and frequent. We always appreciate when our guests take the time to let us know about their stay so we can learn and make the necessary changes for all of our guests and have their stay be a pleasant one. Again, we truly and sincerely apologize that your review was overlooked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utica, New York
Level Contributor
153 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2006

I stayed at this property for four nights in April. If you want a decent room at a competitive price (I paid $75 a night for a double), a location near UVA, the UVA athletic facilities, "the Corner," and a huge mall all within walking distance, Best Western Cavalier is a good choice. A good breakfast buffet is included. Closer to "the Corner" and the Downtown Mall is the Red Roof for a few dollars more.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandylaneguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, 10 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay we apologize that your review was not responded to in a proper time frame it was missed due to a change in the system we used. It is very important to all of the hospitality industry that we hear from all guests and potential guests, it is how we forge the changes that make a difference in your stay in hotels, We sincerely hope that our failure to respond in a timely manner does not deter you from leaving future reviews on places that you utilize and frequent. We always appreciate when our guests take the time to let us know about their stay so we can learn and make the necessary changes for all of our guests and have their stay be a pleasant one. Again, we truly and sincerely apologize that your review was overlooked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2005

We had a double and one of the beds was terribly uncomfortable. The bathroom ceiling was very low and claustrophobic. This was a no frills hotel and is what I would expect for $69.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ecspalding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, 10 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay we apologize that your review was not responded to in a proper time frame it was missed due to a change in the system we used. It is very important to all of the hospitality industry that we hear from all guests and potential guests, it is how we forge the changes that make a difference in your stay in hotels, We sincerely hope that our failure to respond in a timely manner does not deter you from leaving future reviews on places that you utilize and frequent. We always appreciate when our guests take the time to let us know about their stay so we can learn and make the necessary changes for all of our guests and have their stay be a pleasant one. Again, we truly and sincerely apologize that your review was overlooked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Charlottesville hotels

USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2005

Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. I loved the Wireless internet access. We got a room on the parking lot side so it wasn't noisy. The breakfast was nice enough. The lobby area was clean.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pitstopinpurgatory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInn, Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, 10 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay we apologize that your review was not responded to in a proper time frame it was missed due to a change in the system we used. It is very important to all of the hospitality industry that we hear from all guests and potential guests, it is how we forge the changes that make a difference in your stay in hotels, We sincerely hope that our failure to respond in a timely manner does not deter you from leaving future reviews on places that you utilize and frequent. We always appreciate when our guests take the time to let us know about their stay so we can learn and make the necessary changes for all of our guests and have their stay be a pleasant one. Again, we truly and sincerely apologize that your review was overlooked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2005

Was in Charlottesville for a conference and stayed at this hotel. The lobby is nice and is close to UVA. HOWEVER, the rooms need to be modernized. I had friends who stayed on the street side of the hotel and the noise kept them up all night.

Continental breakfast was very poor. Check in was terrible. They couldn't find my reservations even with a confirmation number. Next time I'll try another hotel.

  • Stayed June 2004, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInn, Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, 10 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay we apologize that your review was not responded to in a proper time frame it was missed due to a change in the system we used. It is very important to all of the hospitality industry that we hear from all guests and potential guests, it is how we forge the changes that make a difference in your stay in hotels, We sincerely hope that our failure to respond in a timely manner does not deter you from leaving future reviews on places that you utilize and frequent. We always appreciate when our guests take the time to let us know about their stay so we can learn and make the necessary changes for all of our guests and have their stay be a pleasant one. Again, we truly and sincerely apologize that your review was overlooked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2004

The hotel has a nice lobby, and the rooms in the hotel are clean, but the climate control unit in my room was very loud. That was my chief complaint. It had some sort of fan that kept me awake at night. I went down to the front desk to complain but they offered me little help. Unfortunately the room had two thermostats and at 3 in the morning it took me a very long time to figure out which one shut the unit off.

So, the noise drove me crazy but other than that the place was fine. There is a decent breakfast, though it's nothing special, and a nice lobby and small bookstore. There's a shuttle to the airport/train station as well - but be sure to request it far in advance, because when I asked for it about 8 hours before my departure to the train station, I was told that it was full. Then I ended up walking to the train station.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Right_in_Sight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInn, Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, 10 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay we apologize that your review was not responded to in a proper time frame it was missed due to a change in the system we used. It is very important to all of the hospitality industry that we hear from all guests and potential guests, it is how we forge the changes that make a difference in your stay in hotels, We sincerely hope that our failure to respond in a timely manner does not deter you from leaving future reviews on places that you utilize and frequent. We always appreciate when our guests take the time to let us know about their stay so we can learn and make the necessary changes for all of our guests and have their stay be a pleasant one. Again, we truly and sincerely apologize that your review was overlooked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.1 mi away
Excel Inn & Suites
Excel Inn & Suites
#28 of 35 in Charlottesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.6 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Charlottesville - University Medical Center
Courtyard Charlottesville - Univ...
#22 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
1.0 mi away
UVA Inn at Darden
UVA Inn at Darden
#13 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
1.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Charlottesville
Red Roof Inn Charlottesville
#26 of 35 in Charlottesville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia

Property: Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
Address: 105 N. Emmet St, Charlottesville, VA 22903
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY RENOVATED "September 2014" all of our guest rooms now feature 4 Star Hotel mattress bedding, pillows and luxury linen collection that extends to our bath linen and feature new bath amenities by Bath & Body Works. Cavalier Inn is located directly on UVA Grounds one block to the Admissions Office, Alumni Hall and the UVA Bookstore. Just 3 blocks to the new Battle Building Children's Hospital, UVA Medical Center, and only 2 blocks from The Jefferson Rotunda and the UVA Chapel. Our hotel is located in the heart of Charlottesville directly on UVA Grounds and only minutes from Monticello, Miche Tavern, Ashlawn Highlands, and a short drive to James Madison’s Montpelier. The hotel offers a Complimentary Deluxe Hot Breakfast Buffet, fitness center, seasonal outdoor pool, cafe patio, and for our business guests a self-serve business center with copy, fax and printer services. Complimentary Shuttle Sunday to Thursday 8am to 5pm must be scheduled in advance. The hotel is a 100% SMOKE FREE property. Our Hotel features deluxe 2 room suites, mini suites and business class suites. Each room features a refrigerator and microwave, iron & ironing board, electronic laptop size safe, free high speed internet and Free Wi-Fi in all guest rooms along with a 37” inch flat screen TV with cable in our standard rooms and 2 flat screens in our suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavalier Inn At The University Of Virginia Hotel Charlottesville
Cavalier Hotel Charlottesville
The Cavalier Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing