We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously deficient management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Reviewed 30 October 2010

UVA has bought this hotel and tried to upgrade it with a renovation. The renovation is ok, but the service is horrible. A loud bus idling outside the front entrance woke us all up at 5:45. A call to the front desk got no action. I had to get dressed and find the bus driver to tell him to turn off the engine (no one was on the bus). He did so and apologized. Upon check-out, the receptionist shrugged about the experience. Not worth $95 a night plus taxes.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank highmiles88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2010

Dear High Miles 88,

I was sorry to hear that your experience was less than you expected, we serve many guests each evening and we try to make everyone’s stay a pleasant one. It was unfortunate that your experience did not meet your expectations. As you would have noted by now you did receive a refund as a result of your complaint.

We hope your travels in the future are pleasant. If there is anything we can do for you in the future while here in Charlottesville please let us know.

Thank you,

General Manager
Cavalier Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

465 - 471 of 537 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2010

Booked this hotel because of the proximity to the John Paul Jones Arena. Traveled with my daughter to attend the Muse concert on October 27. This hotel was perfect for us. I had booked the king room suite through Orbitz (great price for a suite) with original intent that husband and son would also be traveling with us. Although they were unable to go, my daughter and I enjoyed the room alone. It appeared that the furnishings had recently been updated and our room was previously 2 rooms to make one. The staff was very friendly and we both enjoyed the cookies that were provided. The bed was so comfortable that we had a hard time getting out of it in the morning. I did not get a chance to have breakfast but my daughter, who is 9, said it was very good. Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahRollason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInn, Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay we apologize that your review was not responded to in a proper time frame it was missed due to a change in the system we used. It is very important to all of the hospitality industry that we hear from all guests and potential guests, it is how we forge the changes that make a difference in your stay in hotels, We sincerely hope that our failure to respond in a timely manner does not deter you from leaving future reviews on places that you utilize and frequent. We always appreciate when our guests take the time to let us know about their stay so we can learn and make the necessary changes for all of our guests and have their stay be a pleasant one. Again, we truly and sincerely apologize that your review was overlooked.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

If you are looking for a good value place to stay which has clean rooms, excellent buffet breakfast, friendly staff, and a convenient location to UVA and downtown Charlottesville, I recommend the Cavalier Inn. The staff was friendly, housekeeping was very good, and we did not have any problems during our four-day stay here. I would definitely stay here again. An added plus is that the rates were much lower than what chain hotels of similar value charge.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInn, Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay we apologize that your review was not responded to in a proper time frame it was missed due to a change in the system we used. It is very important to all of the hospitality industry that we hear from all guests and potential guests, it is how we forge the changes that make a difference in your stay in hotels, We sincerely hope that our failure to respond in a timely manner does not deter you from leaving future reviews on places that you utilize and frequent. We always appreciate when our guests take the time to let us know about their stay so we can learn and make the necessary changes for all of our guests and have their stay be a pleasant one. Again, we truly and sincerely apologize that your review was overlooked.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

The price is a little bit expensive. It's near the traffic and quite noisy at night.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notbad2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2010

Dear Notbad2000

Thank you for your review, we appreciate our guests taking the time out of their busy schedule to write about their experience with us, please know that we take all the comments and suggestions about our hotel seriously, thi helps us know what we are doing right, what we do wrong and how we can improve our guests experience.

Thank you again
Michael Moran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Pluses: Convenient location. Beds,pillows clean,comfortable, bathroom area clean. Front desk staff friendly & responsive. Breakfast okay- decent variety, fresh fruit, & generous hours. Minuses: Physical upkeep is in dire need of attention! Cleanliness & vigilant upkeep of structure should be #1. Funky smell was evident at entrance & throughout. Drapes swung into doorway into room when opening door; one end of drapes at top was detached from rod, blanket was lying in corner on floor behind drapes, towel rod in bathroom was loose on one end, chair was stained. Water tasted awful out of tap (is that a local thing or hotel pipes?) Elevator was a hold your breath experience,ominous sounds & once,door had to be forced closed. UVA Foundation needs to make sure this inn merits its association with such a prestigious university! hope the renovations will accomplish that. If it is sparkling & well maintained, it will not need "luxury."

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amalyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInn, Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay we apologize that your review was not responded to in a proper time frame it was missed due to a change in the system we used. It is very important to all of the hospitality industry that we hear from all guests and potential guests, it is how we forge the changes that make a difference in your stay in hotels, We sincerely hope that our failure to respond in a timely manner does not deter you from leaving future reviews on places that you utilize and frequent. We always appreciate when our guests take the time to let us know about their stay so we can learn and make the necessary changes for all of our guests and have their stay be a pleasant one. Again, we truly and sincerely apologize that your review was overlooked.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

I will admit the hotel is under some renovation, but it was dingy and very basic. I expected more from a hotel associated with the University. It was billed as having a refrigerator, but my room did not and although I requested one it never showed up in the 2 days I was there.

The other room my family stayed in was even a little worse.

The breakfast was also disappointing--most of it, including the soggy biscuits and the gooey eggs must have been reheated from previous days.

I would not choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashear21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInn, Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay we apologize that your review was not responded to in a proper time frame it was missed due to a change in the system we used. It is very important to all of the hospitality industry that we hear from all guests and potential guests, it is how we forge the changes that make a difference in your stay in hotels, We sincerely hope that our failure to respond in a timely manner does not deter you from leaving future reviews on places that you utilize and frequent. We always appreciate when our guests take the time to let us know about their stay so we can learn and make the necessary changes for all of our guests and have their stay be a pleasant one. Again, we truly and sincerely apologize that your review was overlooked.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

We chose this hotel based on the AAA recommendation that is posted through a travel site, and so were expecting much more than we actually received. The building itself is rather run down in appearance, and this carried through to the inside. The elevator doors sounded like the entrance to a tomb, between their creeking and squeeling. At one point in our stay one of the UVA football players staying in the hotel had to push the elevator door shut in order for the elevator to move.

When we first got off the elevator, we were greeted with a half painted wall and paint fumes that wafted into our room. As we were unpacking, we were welcomed with the sounds of hammering and drilling from the room beneath us, which sounded as though the construction person was standing in our room. When I went to hang up my shirt, the provided rack with hangers half fell out of the wall with the drywall anchor exposed. At this point the air conditioner kicked on, producing an oh-so-lovely sewage odor, along with a rattling noise which would keep my wife and I up the majority of the night. If you hope to take a shower, be prepared for the brackish brown water that will first flow out of the pipes, and the trickle of water you will get from the showerhead as the majority of water flow is diverted to the faucet.

We actually checked out a day early and drove back to DC, rather than stay an extra night and finish our vacation. When we asked to speak to the hotel manager, he seemed to be inconvenienced to take our complaint. The front desk staff, however, was helpful and very apologetic. Needless to say, we will never be visiting this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jebr76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInn, Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay we apologize that your review was not responded to in a proper time frame it was missed due to a change in the system we used. It is very important to all of the hospitality industry that we hear from all guests and potential guests, it is how we forge the changes that make a difference in your stay in hotels, We sincerely hope that our failure to respond in a timely manner does not deter you from leaving future reviews on places that you utilize and frequent. We always appreciate when our guests take the time to let us know about their stay so we can learn and make the necessary changes for all of our guests and have their stay be a pleasant one. Again, we truly and sincerely apologize that your review was overlooked.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.9 mi away
UVA Inn at Darden
UVA Inn at Darden
#15 of 37 in Charlottesville
341 reviews
1.3 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#20 of 37 in Charlottesville
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Charlottesville-UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson...
#10 of 37 in Charlottesville
319 reviews
0.6 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#13 of 37 in Charlottesville
340 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlottesville - UVA Medical
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#14 of 37 in Charlottesville
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia

Address: 105 Emmet St N, Charlottesville, VA 22903-1728
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: £48 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY RENOVATED "September 2014" all of our guest rooms now feature 4 Star Hotel mattress bedding, pillows and luxury linen collection that extends to our bath linen and feature new bath amenities by Bath & Body Works. Cavalier Inn is located directly on UVA Grounds one block to the Admissions Office, Alumni Hall and the UVA Bookstore. Just 3 blocks to the new Battle Building Children's Hospital, UVA Medical Center, and only 2 blocks from The Jefferson Rotunda and the UVA Chapel. Our hotel is located in the heart of Charlottesville directly on UVA Grounds and only minutes from Monticello, Miche Tavern, Ashlawn Highlands, and a short drive to James Madison’s Montpelier. The hotel offers a Complimentary Deluxe Hot Breakfast Buffet, fitness center, seasonal outdoor pool, cafe patio, and for our business guests a self-serve business center with copy, fax and printer services. Complimentary Shuttle Sunday to Thursday 8am to 5pm must be scheduled in advance. The hotel is a 100% SMOKE FREE property. Our Hotel features deluxe 2 room suites, mini suites and business class suites. Each room features a refrigerator and microwave, iron & ironing board, electronic laptop size safe, free high speed internet and Free Wi-Fi in all guest rooms along with a 37” inch flat screen TV with cable in our standard rooms and 2 flat screens in our suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavalier Inn At The University Of Virginia Hotel Charlottesville
Cavalier Hotel Charlottesville
The Cavalier Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing