We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlottesville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Dinsmore House Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Western New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We were initially not pleased to see and hear the construction going on directly across the street - very noisy. We were told they usually shut down for the night between 6-7 p.m., which they did. The traffic noise is pretty loud all the time. Luckily, we had our air conditioner going all night and that drowned out the traffic noise so it wasn't an issue. We initially booked the Virginia Room, which had a funky musty odor. We requested another room and ended up staying in the Veranda room, which was right next door and it seemed cleaner - no odor. Toilet could only be flushed once and then you had to wait 10-15 minutes before flushing again. Breakfasts were very good and Inn Keeper was very accommodating when we wanted to check out one day early (due to UVA graduation - we didn't want to be there for all the chaos).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank secret1cari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    40
    25
    12
    7
See reviews for
18
118
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012 via mobile

Noise all night was awful. Room and bed slant. Bathroom can hardly be called a bathroom. Room extremely small and cluttered. Worst place we have ever stayed.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

We visited in April, and there was a cold snap. Were told upon arrival that heat was being turned back on. Unfortunately, it did not make it to our room. Good thing there was a down cover on the bed because we really needed it. Heat came on momentarily the next day, but by the following morning it was off again. I guess this was all part of the colonial American experience. In addition, it must have been finals week because the UVA students were running up and down the streets screaming like banshees in the middle of the night. Needless to say, we were happy to move onto a modern hotel. Delicious breakfasts did not make up for the lack of heat. If you go, ask for a room in the main house; that is the only way you will have wifi.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank donut4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We were just vacationers, and I was looking for a little boutique hotel in the the central part of town. As other reviewers have said, the hotel both suffers from the location on a very busy street, and benefits from the location in that it is across from UVA and the hospitals. Walking into the mall really isn't the best thing since you pass through a so-so neighborhood to get to the mall. The free trolley does stop right across the street, though.

I took the TA advice and got a room on the back of the hotel, so there was not a noise problem. The location issue pops up again -- the view from the back is into room of the Marriott. In other words, this is an urban location.

That said, the innkeepers were very friendly and the breakfast was quite good. The room itself was beautiful. However, the bed was very, very hard and uncomfortable. All in all, I would stay here again if I were visiting UVA, but would look around for a less expensive place because the setting is just not as peaceful as this pretty little (and kind of expensive) hotel deserves.

Room Tip: Get a room on the back of the hotel. The front is on a busy street, and there is currently major co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet_in_Portland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

The only issue with the Dinsmore is the location - it is right in the center of town - which is good in some ways as you can walk to resturants and the university - but it created a problem for us because it was VERY LOUD at night and I did not get a good nights sleep.

The staff was very nice and the breakfast both mornings was delicious. It was nice to have parking in a garage also which is included in the price.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraveltheWorld60795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Comfortable place to stay in the heart of Charlottesville, Excellent breakfast (recipies on website). A bit noisy especially when UVA students are out and about.

Room Tip: Upper rooms in main house may be more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlrdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eatonton, Georgia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We just spent 3 wonderful nights at the Dinsmore House. A great location, easy parking, and close to all activities. A great Inn and a great staff.

Room Tip: The Dinsmore room is great. Could use a little more pressure in the shower, but such a minor point.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgiadawg70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.1 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#12 of 35 in Charlottesville
285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
728 reviews
0.8 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Charlottesville - University Medical Center
Courtyard Charlottesville - Univ...
#20 of 35 in Charlottesville
163 reviews
0.8 mi away
200 South Street Inn
200 South Street Inn
#10 of 35 in Charlottesville
693 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville Downtown
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlo...
#22 of 35 in Charlottesville
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dinsmore House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dinsmore House Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Dinsmore House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1211 W Main St, Charlottesville, VA 22903-2823
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Dinsmore House Bed And Breakfast
The Dinsmore House Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing