We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Weekend Stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlottesville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Dinsmore House Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Bellefonte, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Weekend Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We just spent two nights at the Dinsmore House and could not be more pleased. Convenient location to everything in the Charlottesville area, walking or driving. We visited Monticello, Ash Lawn and the Mitchie Tavern, the Downtown Mall was a mile walk and had lots of great shops, restaurants and theaters. At the end of the Mall there is an outdoor pavilion where Friday nights through the summer months there are free concerts in addition to the name acts that appear. We saw a top notch Steely Dan cover band Friday night, and had gotten tickets prior to our trip for Sara Bareilles on Saturday night. There is also a free Charlottesville Trolley service available to get you around. Our room at the Disnmore House was clean and comfortable, the breakfasts were delicious, and the social hours were a lot of fun, met some very interesting people. Another big plus is the garaged parking directly behind the b&b. Finally, The New Innkeepers, Mary and Mark, had only been there a week and were simply a joy to be with. We left there feeling like we had been good friends for a long time. We will be going back and would highly recommend staying at the Disnmore House!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Sleeping Porch" which was perfect for the two of us. All rooms have indi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daveandmary_5357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    40
    24
    12
    7
See reviews for
17
117
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Highbridge UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We were not quite sure what to expect when we arrived having read a variety of reviews for the Dinsmore but i have to say i thoroughly enjoyed our stay

We arrived during the daily social hour they hold (16.00 - 18.00 ) and were greeted by a very friendly member of staff and a glass of wine with cheeses and fruit

We stayed in the jefferson suite which was great and personally we found the tv in the lounge perfect

There was also a complimentary bottle of virginia red wine in the room

The room was clean bathroom fine bed comfortable

I agree that there are some areas that need a little tlc but this building is 200 years old and allowances must be made in my opinion

The parking is now in the garage of the marriot next door and you get a pass to the garage for free parking

The only thing i didnt enjoy was breakfast because i dont think a hotel should use an Omelette maker

Overall i thoroughly enjoyed my stay and the Inn isalso close to the historic centre UVA and a short drive to Monticello

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CraigBarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DINSMOREHOUSE, Owner at The Dinsmore House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you Mr. Barnett for taking the time to write review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Dinsmore House. Most of the negative reviews you read stemmed from a 3 year period when there was a major construction project (children's hospital) next door. We are happy to say the construction ended several months ago, the hospital is open and will not effect future guests.

Thanks for your input on breakfast as well. We are striving to improve our breakfast service, and to that end we introduced 4 new recipes just this month. In the interest of full disclosure for future guests, I'll mention that we do not provide complimentary bottles of wine in our guest rooms as mentioned in the review. This guest ordered the bottle for his room prior to check-in...might have slipped his mind;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed at the Dinsmore Inn in June while on a short getaway trip to see Monticello. We enjoyed our stay. The inn is within an easy walk of UVa and the downtown mall. Monticello is just a short drive away. There are plenty of restaurants close to the inn. Our room was quite comfortable with a window AC which made it easy to control the temperature. We enjoyed the large DVD collection and large flat screen TV. The bed was very comfortable, but we were surprised to see that the fitted sheet had quite a few small holes in it. It seemed like it should have been retired. Information about parking was supplied in advance in the email confirmation, so we had no troubles there. The parking is quite close. The breakfasts were tasty, but certainly not overly large. Orange juice and coffee/tea was offered. One breakfast included a small puffy cheese omelet, one slice of toast, two strips of bacon, and a serving of mixed fresh fruit. There was no baked item, such as a muffin or scone, available. There was no salt and pepper on the table so you had to ask. As others have mentioned, you do not get to know the owners. We're not certain we ever saw them. Pleasant employees welcome you, take you to your room, and serve the breakfast. Only the employee at the welcome desk told us her name. No one else introduced themselves. I would recommend the Dinsmore House, but would precaution anyone who wants lots of contact with the owners not to expect it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Madison Room, which is in the back of the inn away from the street and street noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montepulciano
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Would never stay here again! Our first welcome experience was the mother of the owner barking through the intercom to go away and come back in an hour at 4 pm when check in starts (she had a terrible attitude throughout the stay) . What can i say, zero attention to detail: old room, curtains that dont work, no clothes hangers, one small container of shampoo not replenished in 4 nights, no one to assist after 7, owners that after 4 nights there never showed their face. At over $170 a night this place is grossly overpriced. If this had been our 1st experience at a bed and breakfast it would be the last one. Do yourself a favor, stay away owners are really not interested in you or making this a pleasant place to stay!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank ralphfelow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DINSMOREHOUSE, Owner at The Dinsmore House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 October 2014
This guest’s idea of a trip to Charlottesville is to spend four days being rude to those waiting on him, then go home and give terrible reviews (on various review sites) to every restaurant he visited and the inn he stayed. It’s a shame for small business owners.

There are a lot of inaccuracies in the review, but the bigger picture is that we have a very attentive and trustworthy hostess who’s been with us a long time. And when she tells me she waited on a guest for four days, and catered to all of his demands, I believe her. She took this review hard, because she is proud of the service she provided this guest.

Corresponding with this guest in the time since his review, it’s become clear that if a guest wants to be vindictive in an anonymous setting, review sites make that possible. He originally wrote a better review of the inn, then changed his username and wrote this review, which makes us wonder about the motive. The Dinsmore House is constantly striving to improve our guest experience, and we appreciate all constructive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

After a visit to Monticello on a sunny spring day, we made our way to the Dinsmore House, home of Jefferson's master builder. We loved the house and our room, and the overall experience including a very nice breakfast on the sun porch. The staff was friendly and professional. Our only complaint - when you arrive it's not clear where to park. Turns out the B&B shares the parking garage owned by the hotel next door. A staff member suggested Maya when we asked about dinner, and we will be eternally grateful. The restaurant specializes in southern cooking and offers truly delicious fare. My companion had catfish and I tried the trout - mouthwateringly good! Our server, Melanie, talked to us about Virginia wines and let us try one in addition to the bottle we ordered. Overall a lovely experience. Oh, and the bed was king size and so comfortable!

Room Tip: I don't imagine there's a bad room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneLopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Less personal touch may not be a bad thing if you want a b&b with a bit less intrusion, but you do trade some things. The people who are there are very nice, though my sense was they were employees, unlike other places where they have more a stake, and therefore pride of place. Also, no one is necessarily around, and some of the rooms were quite run down. Perhaps a holding company or business owns it. It is a very convenient spot to UVA--literally on the corner--but it gets a ton of foot traffic at all hours, so depends on your preferences if that annoys. Food was delicious, though not plentiful.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank starryi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Studio City, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

They improved the experience. We had a nice sized room at the top of the stairs. There was a wine and cheese offering for those who chose to indulge and a fine breakfast the next morning. Guests could choose to eat in the sun room or in the dining room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottySC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.1 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Charlottesville - University Medical Center
Courtyard Charlottesville - Univ...
#22 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
0.8 mi away
200 South Street Inn
200 South Street Inn
#10 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville Downtown
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlo...
#19 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dinsmore House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dinsmore House Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Dinsmore House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1211 W Main St, Charlottesville, VA 22903-2823
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Dinsmore House Hotel Charlottesville
The Dinsmore House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing