We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinsmore House”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlottesville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Dinsmore House Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
san francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Dinsmore House”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2006

Recently stayed at Dinsmore.
The location was excellent, the staff very professional and helpful.

The only complaint is that we stayed in a suite upstairs that wasn't in the main building and it was very musty. The bathroom and rooms could use updating and cosmetic work. The mattress could use replacing.

We had to lock the door to the building from the outside everytime we entered or left.

Other than that, it was adequate.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank spiburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    40
    24
    12
    7
See reviews for
17
117
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2006

This was my first stay at a B&B and was set up by my girlfriend for Valentine's Day - The Deluxe Romantic Weekend package.

Who runs it: Ryan and Denise, two exceptionally nice people. They continually mentioned if there was anything we needed to just ask and were very helpful at pointing out destinations in the area. These are the people you want hosting your stay.

Where it is: "The Corner District," at the edge of the University of Virginia. This is a very convenient location since the university is just a couple of blocks away as well as quaint shops and restaurants.

Getting around: We found no need to use our car, which was conveniently parked in the next door hotel parking deck, right behind the Dinsmore House. (There are parking spots reserved solely for Dinsmore House customers, no charge.) Instead we used the free trolley to hit some areas that were a little farther away than we wanted to walk. It has a stop just one block away and arrives every 15 minutes, so no long waits.

The room: We stayed in the Monroe Room, very cozy, and was located in the adjoining building. The bed was King size and had wonderful sheets, feather pillows and a big down comforter. The room has radiator heat and kept up quite well with the 15 degree outside air - we were not cold at all. The bathroom was clean and bright and we did not run out of hot water showering. There is cable TV in the room, an alarm clock, chest of drawers and a closet.

The food: Breakfasts (8 to 9:30) were wonderful and what I liked was that you were served as soon as you sat down - no waiting. They started with coffee, juice and some diced mixed fruit, then quickly brought the main dish when they saw you were ready. You won't get food or service like this in a hotel! You can choose to eat in the wonderful "breakfast nook," as we called it (which was added to the house around 1914) or you can eat in the main dining room.

Dining out/coffee: We're coffee junkies so we immediately sized-up the local java places. A little farther down the street, around the 1400 block, is a Plan 9 CD store and in it was an espresso bar that was exceptionally good. They open earlier than the Plan 9 store and we went there after breakfast. There's also a Starbucks two blocks down from that, along with a bagel place. Going the other direction, back toward 5th street (where the Lewis & Clark statue is), is a place called Milano (I believe) and they had espresso there too, which we had. For dinner, we ate at L'etoile, just 4 blocks away, and everything was top-notch, from the wine selection to the main course (try the Alaskan King Salmon). For lunch, we had pizza at the Mellow Mushroom - we'll certainly go back there again, the pizza was so good.

We were very pleased with the service and accomodations provided by Ryan and Denise at the Dinsmore House and will absolutely return there should we need to stay again in Charlottesville. I hope they do not mind our posting their pictures but their helpful and cheerful dispositions added a lot to our experience and are the main reason our stay was so pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank The_Devil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2006

The Dinsmore House is a great place to stay in Charlottesville. The owners Ryan and Denise were very friendly and helpful. The B&B is cozy and welcoming. We stayed in the Dinsmore Room, which I highly recommend. It is great. And the huge bathtub in the bathroom is an added bonus. Another point - I left something behind when we checked out. I called Ryan the next day and it was sent to me ASAP. I greatly appreciated it!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2005

I have now stayed at the Dinsmore House 3 times and every time has been a very enjoyable experience. The rooms are well appointed and clean (love the beds, very comfortable!) and breakfast has been great (Peach Creme Brulee French Toast this past stay was the best yet). The location of the Dinsmore House could not be better (block from the Corner and UVa campus). Look forward to staying again the next time I travel to Charlottesville.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadephia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2005

The Dinsmore House is attractively decorated and nicely located with parking privleges in the Courtyard Marriott's garage facility. We spent 2 nights in the Madison Room and while the room was lovely and reflected the owners attention to detail - there was a lovely rose in a vase to greet us, the bathroom housekeeping could use some attention. There was only 1 bar of soap to use in the shower and to wash hands and hair all over the floor and no where to put toiletries except for on the floor. It was a bit noisy too as a result of the old steam radiators and the garbage men who arrived before dawn. On the plus side, the hosts serve a lovely wine and cheese in the afternoon which enables guests to meet and chat and the breakfast was very good. The host, Ryan was very patient in providing directions and helpful with dining tips.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bluize36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner/Innkeeper at The Dinsmore House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 January 2006
The Madison Room has a shelf above the sink on which guests may place their toiletries. Our housekeeping staff is supposed to provide 2 bars of soap for every room, and we have made the staff aware of the concerns expressed in this review.

In general, it is much more beneficial to draw our attention to an issue during your stay (when we can make it right) than to write about it on Tripadvisor a week after the fact. We take customer service and cleanliness extremely seriously, because we know our guests do.

Thanks for the kind words and we look forward to seeing you again! -Ryan and Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.1 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Charlottesville - University Medical Center
Courtyard Charlottesville - Univ...
#22 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
0.8 mi away
200 South Street Inn
200 South Street Inn
#10 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville Downtown
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlo...
#19 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dinsmore House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dinsmore House Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Dinsmore House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1211 W Main St, Charlottesville, VA 22903-2823
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Dinsmore House Hotel Charlottesville
The Dinsmore House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing