We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlottesville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Dinsmore House Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Boise, ID
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 26 May 2007

We expected a lot of the Dinsmore Inn after reading all the other reviews... and we weren't disappointed. It is a charming inn, right on main street in Charlotsville. Although it has obviously been updated to meet the expectations of any modern traveler, it still retains much of its colonial charm. We were very pleased that our hosts were more than willing to accomodate a third person in our room. They were more than willing to help us find a place to eat. The room itself was very quaint and more than adequate for our needs. We were in the Veranda room. The breakfast was very good: an egg quiche with blueberry muffins. Wireless internet was also available. We wish that we had time to stay there more than one night! The one and only complaint would be that because it is a college town, there were cars with loud music going by all night. But I don't suppose that could be avoided unless you went more to the outskirts of town. Overall, we were very pleased with our stay here and would love to come back.

  • Liked — Charming!
  • Disliked — Noisy cars outside...
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank erinlizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    40
    26
    12
    7
See reviews for
20
118
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2007

We experienced a very nice one night stay at the Dinsmore House. Ryan, the owner, greeted us most pleasantly upon our arrival. The B & B was tidy, clean and quaint. The staff was very helpful with directions to Monticello and with restaurant recommendations.

We stayed in the Madison room: very clean and complete with a large, comfortable bed and first quality linens. There were a few cracks in the plaster, but chalk it up to the character of an aged and historic building.

Our breakfast of french toast with fruit was very tasty. The morning coffee was very good! And the young lady who served us breakfast was perfectly charming and cheerful.

The parking in the Marriott garage was very convenient. We would gladly return for another visit.

  • Liked — Staff exceptionally friendly!
  • Disliked — Had to go outdoors to reach breakfast area from Madison Room
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Soglio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2007

Everything about the Dinsmore House was fabulous. Very comfortable room, outstanding breakfast, friendly and helpful Innkeeper and staff. And the location can't be beat. We hghly recommend the Dinsmore when staying in Charlottesville. We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Richmond501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2007

We needed a quick Valentine's Day retreat, and this was a great choice. While the house and rooms were wonderful, the best part was the relaxed yet attentive owners who made you feel like it was your own home. I have been to many B&Bs where the owners either were never around or around too much, and this was a terrific experience. Elegant rooms with a good combo of original architecture and modern touches. The entire staff - from the owners to the housekeepers - were warm and inviting. Great breakfast! Very friendly "house dog" as well. Location was right on The Corner, which put everything we needed within walking distance. This is a great location for both veterans to Charlottesville and newcomers. We will definitely be back again!

  • Liked — The owners
  • Disliked — The historic architecture prevents the room for really luxurious bathrooms.
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank obxwahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2007

We are headed to our third straight year of going to the Dinsmore House in early winter this weekend. We love it every year and I thought I should add to the glowing reviews here on trip advisor. I couldn't ask for anything more than available from the Dinsmore House. They have an incredibly friendly and accomodating staff, great location and wonderful atmosphere.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank lordscarlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky Mount
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2006

Great B & B in a fabulous location and extremely helpful and friendly staff!
Recommend Highly!

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — No phone to contact front desk
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NCAnniversary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2006

Over a five night stay, we enjoyed the delight of being a guest at the Dinsmore House, bed and breakfast. From the first moment of arrival, we knew our experience would be special. The owners and hosts were extremely gracious and accommodating, a great introduction to southern charm. The Dinsmore House is filled with beautiful furnishings and the themed rooms (we stayed in the Library Room) added to uniqueness of our stay. We indulged in fabulous breakfasts which are changed daily and enjoyed meeting the other guests over a glass of wine and cheese, on offer each afternoon.

The Dinsmore is conveniently located to Charlottesville's many attractions and we appreciated the free trolley car as means of exploring the town.

  • Liked — Fabulous service
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bookish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.8 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,738 reviews
0.1 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#12 of 35 in Charlottesville
302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Charlottesville - University Medical Center
Courtyard Charlottesville - Univ...
#19 of 35 in Charlottesville
174 reviews
0.8 mi away
200 South Street Inn
200 South Street Inn
#10 of 35 in Charlottesville
709 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville Downtown
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlo...
#16 of 35 in Charlottesville
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dinsmore House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dinsmore House Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Dinsmore House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1211 W Main St, Charlottesville, VA 22903-2823
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Dinsmore House Hotel Charlottesville
The Dinsmore House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing