We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, wonderful time with family, great memories!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlottesville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Leathers-Snyder Inn Bed and Breakfast
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, wonderful time with family, great memories!”
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We rented out the entire B&B for the weekend of our Labor day wedding so our families could relax together in one spot. Susan was very helpful with preparations and especially in accommodating a gaggle of toddlers (we have a lot of nieces and nephews). We were even able to hold our wedding rehearsal dinner in the den area. Everyone loved their stay at the B&B, and our families still talk about it. It was an especially important time for us since many of us live in different states/countries and may not get a special time together like this again. Lots of fond memories were made here! Also, great location--it's just off the downtown mall and very close to UVA. Highly recommended for everything from small private events to just a quiet, relaxing time with friends and family.

Room Tip: The website gives you a very good idea of what the rooms look/feel like, so I'd browse around a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Esther Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    9
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
64
11
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in October. It is centrally located near the train station and local mall where there are heaps of restaurants.

The house is stunning to look at from the outside and our room including bathroom had some real nice touches.

The owners were great with nothing being too much trouble.

Would stay here again on my next visit to C'ville!

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jarkkonieminen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Vermont, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed at the Leathers-Snyders B & B for two nights with our two children, who are 4 and 2. Susan and Jeff were extremely hospitable, not only to us but to our children. Jeff played with our son outside in the yard even though it was easily 104 degrees during our stay. The B & B was beautiful, quiet, clean, and very comfortable. We would definitely chose to stay here again if we find ourselves in Charlottesville.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Morgan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

My wife and I spent a very pleasant night in Charlottesville at the Leathers-Snyder B&B. The owners recommended a terrific tapas restaurant that was every bit as good as they suggested. We needed to start early the next day on our travels, so that owners arranged for an early breakfast to help us on our way. The bedroom was charming, as was the home that has been restored by the owners.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BikeTuscany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We were traveling by train through Charlottesville and wanted a B&B close to the station. The Leathers-Snyder B&B was about 1/2 mile (an easy flat walk) away. Susan was extremely flexible about us leaving luggage at the house when we arrived early in the morning and when we had a mid-afternoon departure. She allowed us to rest in the parlor after our arrival.

The house is very convenient to the downtown pedestrian mall and to the free shuttle to UVA.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Randomly I scoured areas I would like to visit approximately 5 hours from my Pittsburgh, PA home. I desperately needed some R&R and wanted an environment that would give me opportunity to shop, browse, and be entertained, while also providing rest and solice. This was a 5-10 minute walk to Main St shops & restaurants and 10-15 to the Outdoor Shopping of quiaint Downtown. The location was perfect for me to shop, eat at local eateries and cafes and even attend a yoga class. All without having to get back in the car!

Susan & Jeff are perfect hosts, cordial, friendly & helpful but not "in your face" and intrusive. The home was beautiful furnished with tasteful antiques and books abound. It had cozy places to sink into with a good book - which I was able to read cover to cover for the first time in years. Breakfast was delicious - bountiful harvest of fruit for me as I dont indulge in pastries. However, had I there were some scrumptious looking items as well as eggs, cereal, nuts and options perfect for starting the day. There was also lots of information available from the proprieters regarding good places to see, visit, and experience.

I will look forward to returning and enjoying another 'escape' next year. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the home are probably a little more quiet but since I have no problems sleeping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CynCee1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willow Grove, PA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

The Leathers-Snyder Inn is located within a 10-minute walk of the Main Street Mall and a 20 minute walk of the University of Virginia. It's a 15-minute drive to Monticello. So, the inn is very convenient to the three top attractions in Charlottesville.

The inn is a tastefully refurbished Victorian, which is also the home of the hosts, Jeff and Susan. We were the only guests during our 3-night stay, and had the house to ourselves. We chose a second-floor bedroom with a separate, private bath just around the corner from the room; the room we chose was a little bigger than the other bedroom available at the same price. The room was of adequate size and nicely decorated--not too frilly for a Victorian B&B. The bed was very comfortable, and the sheets were obviously top-quality.

The bathroom featured a tub as well as a shower. One of my pet "beefs" with B&Bs is that they don't offer enough counter space in the bathroom for toiletries, and Leathers-Snyder continued to fit that mold. Except for that minor inconvenience, the bathroom was fine, with plenty of instantly hot water in the shower.

The street on which the house is located is fairly busy. Traffic noise was audible in the morning during rush hour, but was never so loud as to wake us up. The inn is located a block from a fire station, and the sirens on the fire engines did wake me up once or twice.

Breakfast, served in the dining room, was Continental, with virtually unlimited sweet breads, cereals, fruit, juice, coffee, English muffins, etc. However, the only sources of protein were hard-cooked eggs or (one day) a delicious quiche.

Jeff and Susan made themselves available to answer questions and offer dinner suggestions, but didn't "hover" or dote over us.

There are two very pleasant common rooms on the first floor, a parlor on the side of the house and a sunroom in the rear.

Off-street parking is available behind the inn.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott_McCandless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.3 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,738 reviews
0.2 mi away
200 South Street Inn
200 South Street Inn
#10 of 35 in Charlottesville
709 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville Downtown
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlo...
#16 of 35 in Charlottesville
84 reviews
0.7 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#12 of 35 in Charlottesville
302 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Charlottesville - University Medical Center
Courtyard Charlottesville - Univ...
#19 of 35 in Charlottesville
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leathers-Snyder Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leathers-Snyder Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Leathers-Snyder Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 405 Ridge St, Charlottesville, VA 22902-5555
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Urban Victorian B & B conveniently located in the Heart of Charlottesville VA. You will enjoy exploring all that Charlottesville has to offer from our central location! Located two blocks from the lively pedestrian mall in downtown Charlottesville and close to the University of Virginia, Monticello, John Paul Jones Arena, the Pavilion, the Paramount Theater. Walk to UVA, theaters, musical venues, and over 50 restaurants. The Inn is elegantly restored and comfortably decorated with period antiques and all the modern amenities of air-conditioning, wireless Internet, cable TV and more! The Leathers-Snyder House is a perfect setting for a small wedding, meeting, party or any intimate occasion! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing