We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal B&B for us”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlottesville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Leathers-Snyder Inn Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed two nights in July in the Katelyn Room, which is huge with a nicely appointed bathroom. The photographs on their website do not do it justice really. After the initial check-in where all information is provided, we were left in peace. A guide in the room also provides more suggestions for activities and restaurants etc. Susan and Jeff were always contactable, but not overbearing or intrusive, which is how we like it. Breakfast also was ideal for us and incredibly generous, vegetarian quiche, a giant fruit salad with a mix of berries, citrus, nectarine etc (not bulked out with melon as so often is the case), separate slices of melon, cereal choices, bread, muffins, preserves, muesli bars, boiled eggs, cheese, milk, yoghurt, coffee, hot water for tea etc . It was all laid out for us to help ourselves to as much as we liked.
Back to the room, the bed was very comfortable, there were chairs as well to relax in, and the airconditioning was effective but not noisy. Jeff's building skills are evident throughout the house with beautiful restoration and everything functioning as it should. There is also a lounge downstairs available to guests, but we did not make use of this.
It is a very short, level walk to the historic district and mall, and off street parking felt safe. We had no issues with noise at all. Regarding the less positive reviews, it is clear why those people marked the property down but equally the offering is set out on the website and clarified in the prompt correspondence with Susan when booking, so if you are looking for ever-present very chatty hosts, and a fixed hot breakfast with limited choice, then this is not the place for you. For us, Leathers was perfect and I certainly hope nothing changes so that if we are in Charlottesville again, we have this excellent, reasonably priced accommodation option.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tal27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
There are newer reviews for Leathers-Snyder Inn Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

We just experienced a wonderful weekend at Leathers-Snyder Inn. The Inn is so warm and inviting and so tastefully decorated you truly feel at home the moment you step through the door.
Susan and Jeff go above and beyond to fulfill your every need. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The continental breakfasts were delicious with a wide variety of fresh food. The proximity of the Inn to the downtown mall is a huge plus. A quick walk down a few blocks and you are in the heart of a vibrant shopping/restaurant area with plenty to do and see. We went to Fridays After Five and enjoyed a great free show. We also visited a couple of wineries in the area (spectacular countryside). We can't say enough about this great B&B and the lovely Charlottesville area.
Mary & Dave

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryWelch2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Wonderful hosts, Jeff and Susan made us feel like we were visiting family, they are very gracious and accomodating people and we will definitely return. The rooms were very comfortable and updated and this being my first stay in a B&B I was very pleased with everything, overall a wonderful experience. The Inn is very close to the downtown Mall which has an abundance of restaurants and shops with a very active music scene with free and well known acts on different nights. The winery tours were great and nearby University of Virginia was a nice side trip. We highly recommend the Inn if you're in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edraducha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We had a nice time at this B & B. Susan and Jeff were very pleasant. The continental breakfast had a good variety and I especially liked the mushroom and spinach quiche. Our room was fairly large and quiet (we had the Katelyn room) but other folks we sat with at breakfast had a room facing the road and were complaining about noise. It was conveniently located - walking distance to the pedestrian mall. . Many B & B have wonderful breakfasts - hot muffins, Eggs Benedict, Waffles, Stuffed French Toast etc. The breakfasts here while good - were nothing special. Hot Pancakes on Sunday were the only addition to the continental breakfast. We have been to several B & B's over the years and while there was nothing wrong with this place - it just seemed to be missing something. Not sorry we came - but would not come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the house they are quieter.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sylliegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had a wonderful long weekend at Leathers-Snyder. Susan and Jeff were very friendly and warm. The continental breakfast was great, lots of variety. Modern with all the modern conveniences in an older settling. Also just 2 blocks from Main Street where all the shops and restaurants are. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Drove from Philadelphia to Charlottesville to see Gillian Welch and David Rawlings at the Paramount Theater...planning to stay overnight, I decided to check the area for a B&B instead of the more commercial alternative of a hotel...the Leathers Snyder house was the perfect find! Perfectly located in walking distance of the downtown C-ville entertainment and shopping district, we were graciously welcomed by Susan whose small-town southern hospitality was so charming and endearing, it wouldn't have been possible for our stay to have been more enjoyable...if it were possible to give more than 5 stars on a 1 to 5 scale, I certainly would...we'll definitely be back and look forward to that next time...thank you, Susan for making our visit a wonderfully memorable experience!

Room Tip: All the rooms are so charming, it won't matter which one you get...the house it spectacular!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Leathers-Snyder's B&B was the perfect place we were looking for when we decided to get away for the weekend. It is just fifteen minute walk from the Downtown Mall, which had art galleries, coffee shops, entertainment, book stores and restaurants all wrapped up in a walking district. The house was very comfortable, well maintained and elegantly decorated. For breakfast, there was plenty of variety and they accommodated my wife’s celiac disease by making sure there were gluten free options available. Finally, there was plenty of parking available. If/when we go back to Charlottesville, this will be the first place we check for reservations.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulski67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.3 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,774 reviews
0.2 mi away
200 South Street Inn
200 South Street Inn
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
713 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville Downtown
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlo...
#17 of 35 in Charlottesville
85 reviews
0.7 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#13 of 35 in Charlottesville
307 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Charlottesville - University Medical Center
Courtyard Charlottesville - Univ...
#18 of 35 in Charlottesville
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leathers-Snyder Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leathers-Snyder Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 405 Ridge St, Charlottesville, VA 22902-5555
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: £104 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Urban Victorian B & B conveniently located in the Heart of Charlottesville VA. You will enjoy exploring all that Charlottesville has to offer from our central location! Located two blocks from the lively pedestrian mall in downtown Charlottesville and close to the University of Virginia, Monticello, John Paul Jones Arena, the Pavilion, the Paramount Theater. Walk to UVA, theaters, musical venues, and over 50 restaurants. The Inn is elegantly restored and comfortably decorated with period antiques and all the modern amenities of air-conditioning, wireless Internet, cable TV and more! The Leathers-Snyder House is a perfect setting for a small wedding, meeting, party or any intimate occasion! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing