We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always great food!”
Review of tavola

tavola
Ranked #10 of 552 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner
Description: An intimate, lively neighborhood restaurant located in the charming Belmont district of Charlottesville, VA, tavola offers inspired rustic Italian dining through the use of quality ingredients and a simple philosophy fostered by a staff passionate about food, wine, craft cocktails and personal service. Due to our limited seating, we do not take reservations outside of special events.
Charlottesville
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always great food!”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The food is outstanding, but the place is tiny and unless you get there at 5 pm you are likely to wait for at least an hour for a seat. I personally hope they move to a larger place that offers parking and reasonable seating. The food is the best I have had in C-Ville.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    50
    22
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Moneta, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good, not great, food. LOUD!”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My husband took me to this restaurant for my birthday. I was hoping for a classic italian meal, and was disappointed. I ordered linguine and clams, and while the clams were very fresh and sweet, the overall taste was lemon.

The staff at this restaurant works really hard. The tables are located just about on top of the bar, which is almost on top of the kitchen. The kitchen is located in the main dining area, and when they make thier skillet mussel dish, the smoke that is released into the dining area can make your eyes water.

The restaurant has no soft surfaces and is extremely LOUD! I wouldn't recommend against this restaurant, but I won't go looking for it again if ever in Charlottesville.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Worth the Wait”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Tavola has one downfall, they do not accept reservations. As a result, you need to put your name in early and then have something to do for the up to two hour wait. Nearby you can get a drink and/or appetizer. If you don't want to wait, go early or late. Once you get in the door? Charming and the service is impeccable. This restaurant seats around 40 patrons at a time. If you have a table, the servers satisfy your every need. If you sit at the bar you get even better service from the front of house manager and chefs as it is an open concept kitchen. And the smells...oh my! The food was amazing from the kale salad to the rockfish dish I had. Amazing and well worth it!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
433 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“One of my very favorites in town”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The food is spectacular here. Be prepared to wait as they have few tables. Do not miss it though. It's always worth it! The food is locally sourced, delicious and fresh as can be. This is a Belmont gem!

Visited April 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A fine Italian restaurant”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Excellent Italian restaurant, in Belmont area of C'ville. Always has been well-thought of. BUT GET THERE BEFORE SIX PM, because it will be full shortly after that. Popular.

Visited June 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed tavola also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing