We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lively, happening atmosphere--never dull!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fellini's

Fellini's
Ranked #118 of 540 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The restaurant is located in a building constructed in the mid-1800's. The building won the "Historic Preservation Award" in 2004. The windows contain glass from the original building. The floors are made of distressed pine recovered from Virginia barns and buildings. Also indoors you will find a delightful horseshoe shaped Copper Topped Bar, walls covered in brick and wormed-chestnut, stained glass partitions from the original building as well as a romantic fireplace, wooden tables and restored pine benches and chairs. We display art from local artisans for your enjoyment and our decor includes many original Fellini movie posters throughout the bar and restaurant. The atmosphere at Fellini's #9 is casual elegance - delicious meals, cozy atmosphere and romantic melodies from the piano in the bar. We have many Italian wines as well as a variety from Virginia and around the world. We have beers on tap and "Fellini's" cocktails. Be sure to include Fellini's #9 in your plans - before or after an event at the Paramount, a relaxing dinner after a beautiful hike at Monticello or for a romantic interlude to your hectic schedule.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
91 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lively, happening atmosphere--never dull!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Fellini's is one of our favorite places in Cville. We've only gone a handful of times to actually ape at (and the food was great), but our preference is to go for a drink and to hear one of the never-ending amazing jazz musicians that play there. Also, their Mardi Gras celebration is a blast!! Dhow words: drag karaoke.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank SarahElizabethSch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    42
    23
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
119 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“best lasagna ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

the food is out of this world good. the veggie lasagna was probably the best i've ever had. they had 2 awesome bands playing when we went too. will definitely be back!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CherryBlossom85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wintergreen, Virginia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Wow, what a pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We have been passing by Fellini's for about 7 years and finally decided to go there with friends; we are so glad we did! On a Friday night, it had very nice ambiance. A piano and a base player in the bar area playing very nice music. We started with a nice Prosecco (on draft!) and some beer to go with our Calamari appetizer, which was very flavorful. For the main courses two of us had Seafood Linguini, another had the Linguini with a gigantic meatball (1/2 order) and our friend had the Orechetti. All dishes were delicious with generous portions and nicely presented. The service was outstanding and the room ambiance was very nice. We cannot wait to return!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LuBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Small, Cramped, OK Food, Bad Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This just had to be the most disappointing "special day" dining out experience in a long, long time: Mother's Day brunch at Fellini's.

Now there is not much you can do about the tiny space crammed to the gills with moms and their families. You can anticipate that on Mom's Day, the place will be full and service attentively slow.

But is it unreasonable to expect adequate staff on hand? A single waitress was left to handle our table and at least 10 others. We were seated nearly 20 minutes before my wife got up from her seat and chased down someone -- I don't blame the waitresses, or the hostess -- they were hustling like crazy. Either poor planning, or just indifferent management.

The Jazz accompaniment was tepid. The restaurant was hot. The kitchen overwhelmed. The food uninspired. Being a local, who has dined here before (albeit long ago), none of this met our expectations for a nice day out. Insult added to injury, we couldn't help but notice that a small gift was being given to moms -- just not ours. A real gift would have been decent food and good service. Oh well.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Six great meals!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Our party of six had excellent meals last Friday night at Fellini's #9. I had used Tripadvisor to find the restaurant and we couldn't have been more pleased. Four of us had the Fish of the Day which was salmon served with butternut squash risotto and asparagus. Delicious! The other two people had lasagna and another pasta dish and they loved them. Our server was friendly, efficient, and professional--all the qualities that customers like. We are all from out of town but return to Charlottesville regularly. We will go back to Fellini's!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank michiganshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fellini's also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
 
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Fellini's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing