We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The deck was delightful”
Review of Bistro 1834

Bistro 1834
Ranked #142 of 541 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Located just off the Old Mill Room, the intimate Bistro 1834 offers a variety of delicious appetizers, sandwiches, cocktails and a beautiful veranda. Entrees range from Seared Crab Cake Sandwich and Grilled Salmon to Ribeye Steak. With such a wide selection, there is bound to be something savory for everyone. Full bar inside the restaurant includes seasonal cocktails, an extensive wine list and craft beer. Patio dining open Spring through Fall with beautiful lake views.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The deck was delightful”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This is the casual option at the Boars Head. The menu for limited but fine for our purpose. My brother said the wine list was limited but I did not review it. $25 cork fee is well worth it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ShipShape8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    23
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed 21 September 2012 via mobile

We had read that Bistro 1834 featured "cozy nooks and crannies" and stellar food, so we were eager to try it when in search of a casually romantic meal for two. The food was fine, but the ambience reads "average hotel bar." Our server took 15 minutes to appear with menus, and the drinks were nothing but no-hum wine and martinis. The food came out quickly, and we enjoyed our entrees, but neither food nor drink were anything to draw us back. Happy to try it, but there are plenty of fantastic restaurants in Charlottesville that would be a night better spent.

Helpful?
Thank ArlingtonTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level Contributor
103 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great meal in relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We could order from the Bistro and the Mill Restaurant menues so there were good options. Pasta with shrimp was excellent but the portion was huge. Plenty for two people. Steak was great. Micahel the bar tender was super - attentive, nice variety of original drinks.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HeleneDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, Virginia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

a bit pricey, but not much more than the average hotel bar. fresh good food and apps and a generous pour for drinks and wine

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChefHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed 29 June 2012

The risotto was very good, but the portion was quite large. It would be nice if it were a smaller portion served with a salad and/or vegetable. The fried chicken with garlic mashed potatoes and gravy was good, as was the peanut butter mousse. Our waiter was attentive and friendly, and we enjoyed eating on the deck overlooking the small lake.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank SCNMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro 1834 also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Bistro 1834? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing