We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Courtyard Charlottesville - University Medical Center
Nearby Hotels
The English Inn of Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
US$136
US$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
US$158
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
US$167
US$142
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
US$160
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Place Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
US$219
US$200
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
US$259
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
US$150
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boar's Head Resort(Charlottesville)
US$232
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
UVA Inn at Darden(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
US$164
US$128
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
84
70
30
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
84
70
30
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourtyard marriottstarbucks coffeeparking garage attachedkeemai felt safe walkinglobby offerstypical courtyardwest main streetmed centerfood barfew negativesparking deckfree trolley stopwithin walking distancehigher floorhotel location ismicrowave and refrigerator
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
193 - 198 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We have stayed here many nights in the past but this time was not one of the best. The room price was quoted at $279 per night so we used our free room certificate. The hotel has been recently updated/renovated and the rooms are varying shades of gray! UGH. Depressing. The King room had a sofa which was believe it or not, more uncomfortable than the old, outdated one. If you sit on the sofa to watch tv, there is nowhere to put your book, drink, snack, etc. because there is not a table.
Additionally, we are Marriott members and a room was not available for "early check-in" but we were advised to return in an hour and a half. Upon return, still no room and there was an excuse of "having to move people." Thank goodness we weren't paying $279+ per night! Will stay at the Residence Inn next time although we have always loved this hotel and its location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teressa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric-Hodges, General Manager at Courtyard Charlottesville - University Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Teressa G,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate your feedback so that we can continually grow and offer the best accommodations to our guests.
As you know from staying at our hotel in the past, our rooms were ready for the renovation that we just completed. We are very excited for the upgraded experience for all of our guests. We are one of the first hotels to be renovated in Marriott’s new “CY-nergy” décor for Courtyards. We are still waiting for the end tables to arrive, as that will complete the new rooms. The rooms are quite a departure from what they were previously, but the new sleeker design reflects Marriott’s updated vision for its hotels.
I would like to apologize to you for the run around you received regarding your request for early check in. We should have been able to meet our given timeframe for check in. We will be sharing your comments with our Front Desk staff to ensure that they continue to provide the service that our guests are expecting.
Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay at our hotel. We hope to be able to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This was a great place to stay. It was right in town so it was convenient to walk to shops and restaurants. It was also very quiet. My only complaint is the price! It was more than $200 a night and that's a bit much for me!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PGAbernethy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My stay at the Courtyard by Marriott was pleasant. Helpful staff, good free internet connection, free parking on site, little shop in the lobby to buy things, short walk to UVa campus and The Corner with its plethora of restaurants and shops. Safe area. Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcsanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric-Hodges, General Manager at Courtyard Charlottesville - University Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear bcsanders,

Thanks for the review. We are in a great location. Next time you should try riding the UVa. free trolley. It moves around campus and the pedestrian mall downtown. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This was a really nice Courtyard! Looked very recently renovated, excellent staff! Really nice staff that went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. I don't know if you can beat the location - near the university but also near the "mall" area in Charlottesville. We could easily walk down to the mall to restaurants, bars and shopping.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodiewinee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric-Hodges, General Manager at Courtyard Charlottesville - University Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear foodiewinee,

Thanks for the super review. We are in a great location and the staff has one goal in mind: to serve and make your stay as comfortable as you can be away from home. We did finish our renovations as of 2/28/14 so we have completely renovated the hotel and it shows. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

The renovations made to this hotel were done the right way. The rooms were spacious,clean and beautiful. The bistro/bar was nice to grab a drink or some breakfast. The staff was very friendly. The little connivence shop was nice for things you forgot to pack or to grab a snack. The pool and fitness center was pretty standard of other hotels. Will stay there again

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Niks289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric H, General Manager at Courtyard Charlottesville - University Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Niks289,

Thanks for reviewing the hotel. We are now finished with complete renovation from rooms to the lobby and restaurant and as you know have the Starbucks in the morning now and great work space for anytime. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews