We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont want to let out a Secret”
Review of UVA Inn at Darden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
UVA Inn at Darden
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dont want to let out a Secret”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Being in the hospitality industry and staying in hotels nationwide it is very difficult to find a place like the Inn at Darden, quiet, clean ,comfortable and convenient. Would highly recommend to anyone travelling in the Charlottesville area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BUP1224-11, Director of Sales at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
thank you for your kind review. We take pride in providing our guests with an environment exactly as you described. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    99
    28
    13
    2
See reviews for
83
75
15
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The Inn at Darden has so many outstanding attributes going for it. The location is outstanding. There is a regular bus route that runs right in front of it negating the need for a rental car (the bus fare is free, by the way, and the parking lot is close if you do have a car). The beds and linens were so comfortable I slept like a baby each night I was there. There are snacks available including fruit and other healthy choices (and some not so healthy if that is what you are after). The Pub downstairs provided a wonderful social environment without necessitating driving/travelling around in an unfamiliar environment. For me, I was attending a week long training at Darden and I was so grateful to have a warm and comfortable home away from home to relax in each evening. The service that I received from the staff was caring and respectful at all times. They are efficient and kind. I would love to visit again with my family so that we might visit Monticello together!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YouDontOwnMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BUP1224-11, Director of Sales at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
We are happy that you were able to "sleep like a baby" during your week long stay with us. We strive to have our guests feel at home with us and we met that mark with you during your stay. We look forward to meeting your family during your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Not only is this "just about perfect" in its central location on the grounds of The University, it is a really nice , clean, well appointed ,customer oriented hotel. Everything about The Inn at Darden speaks of convenience from the easy check-in, to the microwaves and frigs in the room , the superior workout facilities next door at the North Grounds RecCenter($5 fee), to the breakfast bar & coffee, this place is perfect for my trips to UVA both for fun and for business.It is always my first choice when planning a trip to Charlottesville.
Betty
Black Mountain,NC

Room Tip: I like the rooms that face the inner courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiftoffLeadership
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BUP1224-11, Director of Sales at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
We pride ourselves on our customer service and our cleanliness. We are happy you once again enjoyed your stay with us. Our hospitality staff wants all of our guests to feel at home with us. We look forward to seeing you at your "home away from home" on your next visit to Charlottesville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Convenient location for visiting our son who is a student at the University. Great parking and quiet location. Rooms are a little dated but comfortable. Loby is nice and well appointed for leisure and business travelers.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UVasoccermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BUP1224-11, Director of Sales at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Our location is perfect for a visit to UVA or a visit to Charlottesville. We continually evaluate our overnight rooms and take your comments under consideration. We will see you on your next visit here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We have stayed at the Darden Inn several times. Each time the room was clean, well appointed and the service was excellent. The Darden Inn has reasonable rates and a great location. We will stay there again.

Nancy/ San Diego

Room Tip: Rooms nera the office have great access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BUP1224-11, Director of Sales at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
We strive to meet or exceed your expectations and we have done so with you.
We very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you on your future travels to Charlottesville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is my favorite place to stay when visiting Charlottesville. Tucked away on the North Grounds at the Darden School, it offers updated, clean rooms you more typically find in European hotels. Plenty of space, laid out efficiently. Beds are terrific. The front desk staff is consistently warm and welcoming, and prepared for your arrival. The Inn at Darden may be the best value in central Virginia. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: The best-kept lodging secret in Charlottesville.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeinRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BUP1224-11, Director of Sales at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for your review. We are more than pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff strives to have all of our guests feel at home here and we met that mark with your stay. We look forward seeing you on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed at the Inn at Darden for a football game in October 2013. We have stayed at the Darden three or four times over the years. The on-campus location, the excellent service staff, and the well-appointed rooms make this the best lodging choice in Charlottesville.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harveysmith33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BUP1224-11, Director of Sales at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
We are withing walking distance to Scott Stadium as you know, which makes us an ideal hotel for football weekends. We strive to provide excellent customer service to our guests and take pride in our clean, comfortable accommodations. Thank you for your review, we will see you next time you are in Charlottesville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
1.1 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
2.2 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#13 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
1.6 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UVA Inn at Darden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UVA Inn at Darden

Property: UVA Inn at Darden
Address: 100 Darden Blvd, Charlottesville, VA 22903-1760
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — UVA Inn at Darden 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the University of Virginia Inn at Darden in Charlottesville, Virginia offering historic and gracious on-Grounds hotel accommodations. The Inn is an ideal property for individuals, groups and conferences, close to shopping, downtown Charlottesville and many local attractions. Relax and enjoy our dignified traditional hotel offering an excellent location, outstanding service and convenient amenities. Guests at the Inn may choose from 177 charming accommodations featuring a traditional Jeffersonian décor and numerous amenities including complimentary Wi-Fi, microwave and mini-fridge and complimentary lighted guest parking seven days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your UVA Inn at Darden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing