We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect C'ville accommodation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of UVA Inn at Darden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
UVA Inn at Darden
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect C'ville accommodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We've stayed at the Inn twice in the past year and have found the accommodations to be comfortable and the staff to be extremely hospitable. Because our son attends Darden, this location has been particularly convenient for us, but don't let that dissuade you from using the Inn as your base for visiting C'ville. The price is competitive, and the accommodations are more than adequate. The rooms at the Inn are not huge, but there is a mini-fridge and wireless available. The location is convenient to the pedestrian downtown mall, as long as you realize up front that you will need to drive. As others have noted, the Inn has long halls and a somewhat different layout than you may be used to. But it all works well. We will most certainly be back!

Room Tip: Depending on your needs and if you will use the gym facilities or plan to partake in the continental...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khd8286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J0hnCoppi, Director of Lodging at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thanks for your review. We hope you will continue to visit us even after your son graduates! Our staff and location certainly set us apart, so thanks for recognizing that. Our rooms also come equipped with a microwave and two complimentary bottles of water in your fridge each day. See you on your next trip to Charlottesville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    91
    23
    11
    2
See reviews for
79
71
15
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I love the Inn at Darden. It is the perfect location for everything I typically do in Charlottesville. The staff...and I mean ALL of the staff..are so warm, friendly and helpful! The rooms are tastefully furnished and up-to-date; and the amenities are on par with a standard hotel.

I notice that many share the same frustration with the paths one must take to get around the Inn. I believe that is due to the fact that originally, this was a smaller lodging venue primarily used by Darden students attending the Exec. Ed. Program and returning grads for reunions, board meetings and the like. When the new glorious Darden School was built several years ago, the former Sponsors Hall was added onto. It does create some confusion for those new to the Inn, but I always find it a welcome challenge to see where I might wind up going from one wing to another. (Call me crazy)

All in all, I am a fan of the Inn and expect to return here for my annual C'ville sojourn.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new building with a view of the woods. It will be nice and quiet, with a love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank supes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J0hnCoppi, Director of Lodging at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your review. You are correct in that the Inn was first opened to house Darden students. Today, we are open to any traveler. I couldn't agree more with your comments about our staff! They are wonderful. For those first time visitors, our Front Desk staff is always happy to help you find your way to your room, parking, as well as the rest of Grounds. Looking forward to hosting you on your next trip to town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

I didn't realize it was on UVAs campus when I booked it. Do not stay here if you can't walk a great distance. The parking is a good walk from the rooms. We had to walk through the entire place to get to our rooms all while carrying our luggage. I hope there isn't going to be problem. I thought we paid through orbitz.....but they ran my card again. The rooms are small but comfortable.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank joni c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J0hnCoppi, Director of Lodging at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thanks for your review. Our location, while on Grounds, is also convenient to many area attractions and restaurants. I trust that your charges were correct; if not, please contact our Front Desk and we'll take care of it immediately. As for parking, we attempt to have our guests park as close to their rooms as possible, but I apologize if that was not the case here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staunton, VA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We have stayed at the Inn at Darden every time we go to Charlottesville to visit a child or for an event. What a perfect spot! The location cannot be beat. The privacy and peace of the spot is so welcome. The rooms are very nice, a very nice breakfast is served which is included with the room price, and the personnel cannot be any nicer, enthusiastic, or helpful. I recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VASteuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J0hnCoppi, Director of Lodging at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We're glad you have had more than one opportunity to experience our wonderful staff and accommodations. We hope to see you many more times in the future. Go Hoos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union, Kentucky
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel during a reunion. Check-in was friendly and our room was very nice. Continental breakfast was nothing spectacular, but plenty adequate. The most difficult part of staying at The Inn at Darden was how hard it is to get from one place in the hotel to another place. You almost have to go outside to get from one section to another or you run into deadends in the hallways. Not an issue if you are just going from your room to your car or to check-in/out. Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J0hnCoppi, Director of Lodging at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, but also understand your comments regarding our layout. We are currently working on a new signage package that will make everyone's journey a little easier. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax County, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Located on the business campus of UVA, this little hotel was the perfect stay while we were visiting my sister's school. The bathrooms were very clean, the linens and the bedding were great. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a nice bonus in their cute courtyard.We'll try to stay here every time we visit.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bedanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J0hnCoppi, Director of Lodging at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thanks for your review. I'm glad your enjoyed our accommodations and our wonderful staff. Hope you can come back often.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

My first time at Darden couldn't have been made more enjoyable than by what the Inn at Darden offered. The staff was competent, welcoming and warm from the point of reservation to check-in and departure. The accommodations were quiet, clean, ample and comfortable. All service staff was congenial and attentive to their jobs. I would recommend this Inn and hope to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stlcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J0hnCoppi, Director of Lodging at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your review. Our staff is wonderful and certainly sets us apart. We hope you can visit us again soon. Enjoy your summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
1.6 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
2.2 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
The English Inn of Charlottesvil...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
1.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UVA Inn at Darden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UVA Inn at Darden

Property: UVA Inn at Darden
Address: 100 Darden Blvd, Charlottesville, VA 22903-1760
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — UVA Inn at Darden 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the University of Virginia Inn at Darden in Charlottesville, Virginia offering historic and gracious on-Grounds hotel accommodations. The Inn is an ideal property for individuals, groups and conferences, close to shopping, downtown Charlottesville and many local attractions. Relax and enjoy our dignified traditional hotel offering an excellent location, outstanding service and convenient amenities. Guests at the Inn may choose from 177 charming accommodations featuring a traditional Jeffersonian décor and numerous amenities including complimentary Wi-Fi, microwave and mini-fridge and complimentary lighted guest parking seven days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your UVA Inn at Darden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing