We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area
Ranked #32 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Chatham, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Grim”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I spent a night here while on a late fall driving tour of the region. From the outside, there's nothing to recommend the place – seems to be a big sprawling complex of rooms on two levels, mostly vacant when I stayed there. Just my subjective opinion but it struck me as a business that's been decaying through neglect for some years.

The gentleman at the front desk was courteous. I obtained a CAA discount but I've paid less for better accommodations than I found here. The location is ok, right off a highway and on a main road but there did not appear to be anything within walking distance in terms of a place to get a bite to eat. But that's not uncommon for places on the outskirts of town.

Things started out badly when I had trouble entering the unit. I thought there was a problem with the passkey as the door would not open. I gave it one last effort using my shoulder to apply some force and it finally did open. Closing it took the same effort. I was struck immediately by a terrible fusty smell. I kept the door open for awhile to try and air the unit out and turned on the heating unit to help with air circulation. It improved slightly but was impossible to eliminate. Overall everything looked worn, dated and a little grungy. Strangely, the bathroom had an acoustic tile ceiling and no fan. An hour after checking in, I heard a commotion outside my room, loud noises, voices, running; and maybe 20 minutes later when I went out to my vehicle to get something I saw a police cruiser out front and noticed the front office door had been smashed. I could hear my neighbors all too well through what must be thin walls. The general state of the room, the lack of cleanliness and the smell made me leery of sleeping between the sheets so I slept in my sleeping bag on top of the bed.

The good; the room was spacious, the heating/air conditioning unit looked new and operated ok, as did the wifi. Also the shower worked and there was soap and a towel or two.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apmzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keni P, Public Relations Manager at Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
thank you for the response. we are extremely sorry for the inconvenience during the stay. we have been making improvements on all areas of the hotel. we hope to make the next stay experience better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    90
    140
    120
    154
See reviews for
218
92
51
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, GA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Booked two nights here, while in Charlottesville for a family emergency.... Had stayed at the Days Hotel in Metairie, LA the week before and it was really nice.

This was not! An old, shabby motel but I took it because this was during the arctic blast, I was cold and tired and needed sleep...which I did not get! As soon as I got in bed and opened my book, I saw a bug... and another. I jumped up quicker than I have in years! Called the front desk, they moved me to another room, no offer to help with my bags or anything. Took a while to ascertain this room was clean and finally go a little sleep.

In the morning, I checked out (a day early). No manager on site, so they could not issue a refund. I have requested a refund in writing, with documentation, from the hotel chain and the booking site... this was almost three weeks ago and I have heard nothing!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keni P, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank You For Taking Time To Write A Review. We Appreciate Your Time And Your Feedback. Sorry For Any Inconvenience While Your Stay, We Have Definitely Solved It. We Look Forward That You Stay With Us At Your Next Visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The only positive to this stay was the location..........The room smelled even though it was a non smoking room,the carpets had tears,the bedspread and drapes had cigarette burns in them,the bathroom ceiling was falling down,the tub was peeling and there was mold growing in there.The beds were hard and the exterior door had a gap a good half inch or more..We called the staff and they gave us a towel to cover the gap...we ended up putting the cigarette burned blanket in front of the gap so no air would come through....the breakfast provided was terrible...the eggs were done in the microwave and cold,the gravy was frozen and put in the microwave to thaw out,and the biscuits were hard.....this just sealed the deal for us...We will never stay in another Days Inn again especially this one.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keni P, Public Relations Manager at Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank You For Taking Time To Write A Review. We Appreciate Your Time And Your Feedback. Sorry For Any Inconvenience While Your Stay, We Will Definitely Solve It. We Look Forward That You Stay With Us At Your Next Visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Charlottesville
Red Roof Inn Charlottesville
#25 of 35 in Charlottesville
186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge North
Econo Lodge North
#26 of 35 in Charlottesville
145 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
Cavalier Inn at the University o...
#29 of 35 in Charlottesville
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlottesville - UVA Medical
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#20 of 35 in Charlottesville
111 reviews
0.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#12 of 35 in Charlottesville
194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - Un...
#28 of 35 in Charlottesville
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Property: Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area
Address: 1610 Emmet St N, US 29 North & US 250, Charlottesville, VA 22901-2809
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area 2*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Charlottesville / University Area Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing