We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend in Charlottesville”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlottesville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn at 400 West High
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This charming B&B was perfect for our short trip to Charlottesville. We stayed the the top floor suite. The bathroom was lovely and the bedroom was cozy and warm. There was also a small kitchen and fridge. The location was great for walking into downtown Charlottesville.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahB2603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
There are newer reviews for The Inn at 400 West High
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed at the Inn at 400 West High for our honeymoon. We absolutely loved all of it!!! Carolyn and Gary were so friendly and sweet! Gary gave us a ride from the train station, and Carolyn greeted us and had the campayne as requested waiting! The Inn is just so warm and welcoming. As soon as you walk in you say WOW what a cute and cozy house. You can tell so much time and love goes into the place. The breakfast Anne and Amanda prepared for us was just not expected and so delicious! The homemade waffles were to die for and the personal touches and omlets made individually OMG wish were back again!!! Thank you so much for making us feel special and welcomed!!! Can't wait to come back!!!

Mr. and Mrs. Stisi (Mike & Renee)

Room Tip: We stayed in the McIntyre Room that had a balcony and fireplace.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mstisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We booked the Ridge apartment at the Inn and absolutely enjoyed our stay there. We made a last minute booking and luckily the Inn had a cancellation to accommodate us. Great service! Nicely furnished, extremely clean Room. The breakfast was outstanding as well. Would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank realmnews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This B&B is absolutely lovely - it was cozy, but modern. Bathrooms were fully updated and the rainfall shower head is absolutely delightful. There is complimentary bottled water and a delicious breakfast.

However, I am only able to give my time spent here 3 stars because of the owner's questionably pricing policies. I stayed here with a few girlfriends in October and we had both the Preston Suite and the Ridge Apartment. We were originally anticipating being a party of 8, which was disclosed to the owner well in advance. We paid for the rooms far ahead of time. We assumed everything was set to go. The week of our arrival, the owner called and told us that the Ridge Apartment does not come with breakfast, so we would have to pay for the 4 individuals staying in that apartment. We were later also told that any additional individuals beyond 2 people in the Preston suite would also have to pay for their breakfast.

In general, I have no problem paying a fee. However, this information is not disclosed ANYWHERE on the website. The ridge apartment is advertised as just another room in the b&b - when you stay at a bed and BREAKFAST, you expect breakfast to come with your room, unless there is an indication otherwise. The preston suite, which is advertised as a room that sleeps 4, also fails to advertise that it only comes with breakfast for 2. The owner chose not to disclose these fees until the week of our arrival. I would recommend for the owner to fully disclose this type of information from the get-go. It was certainly a great disappointment to learn of these questionable fees last minute and it definitely put a damper on our otherwise enjoyable weekend and stay.

Room Tip: The Ridge Apartment does not come with breakfast.
Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
5  Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn P, Owner at The Inn at 400 West High, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

I'm so sorry that there was confusion in communication. We were trying to give you the best possible pricing. Generally there is an additional charge for extra guests in the rooms, but when I spoke with the person making the booking, this was waived and we agreed to only charge for the extra breakfasts. Thank you for the recommendation to make this clearer in our website. We have done so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Couldn't be cozier...with every nook and corner displaying an arrangement pleasing to the eye and senses. The bed in the Preston Suite was upscale comfortable and the included breakfast was beautifully presented. It's just a short walk to the pedestrian mall of Charlottesville but you hardly want to leave the warmth of the common room's fireplace, books, and fresh cookies! Our host was quickly responsive to my light-sleeper's need by providing a sound machine. Enjoy the charm!

Room Tip: The front corner Preston Suite gets a lot of street traffic noise.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mloujohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The Altamont room was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom facilities were well lighted and spacious as well. The location near Main Street Mall is most convenient for excellent restaurants and shops. Parking worked well after the first time in, but then, most traffic in Charlottesville seems convoluted to non-residents.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We loved the atmosphere at 400 West High. It was very clean, charmingly decorated, and totally welcoming! Loved the modern updates mixed with vintage accents. The rooms couldn't be nicer. Fresh cookies and a wine sample greeted us as check-in and innkeepers Carolyn and Amanda were so helpful and accommodating. The inn is in a perfect location to restaurants and the downtown mall and although it may be located on a busy street, and our room above the kitchen, we barely heard any noise regarding either. Can't wait to come back and stay here again, perhaps for the next anniversary as well!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.2 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,780 reviews
0.3 mi away
200 South Street Inn
200 South Street Inn
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
713 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville Downtown
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlo...
#16 of 35 in Charlottesville
85 reviews
0.9 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#13 of 35 in Charlottesville
308 reviews
2.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at 400 West High? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at 400 West High

Address: 400 West High Street, Charlottesville, VA 22902
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottesvill...
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at 400 West High, a Select Registry property, brings the eclectic flair of a continental European bed and breakfast to beautiful downtown Charlottesville. Just two blocks from the Pedestrian Promenade, one mile from the University of Virginia, five miles from Jefferson's Monticello and Monroe's Ashlawn, and just a short drive from the beauty of the Blue Ridge Mountains, The Inn at 400 West High is ideally located for those who want to visit the historic sights and natural splendor that make Charlottesville famous. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing