We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing getaway!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlottesville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn at 400 West High
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing getaway!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My hubby and I escaped to C'ville from DC for a few days and found this inn a wonderful and relaxing place to spend a few nights. We stayed in the McIntire Room and fell in love with the private roof top terrace this room had. Carolyn is a warm and friendly, very knowledgeable about the area and spot on with restaurant recommendations. Tucker's breakfasts were amazing! We cannot wait for a return trip to C'ville and the Inn at 400 West High!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn P, Owner at The Inn at 400 West High, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
We hope you will find time to slip away and return to beautiful Charlottesville and The Inn at 400 West High again! Thanks for your kind words, I will pass them along to Chef Tucker!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
86
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We were looking for a weekend winery trip with another couple. The top floor suite was perfect. It had a nice balcony, a small kitchen, a bedroom, a bathroom and a sunroom with another bed. It gave us a private room for each couple and a gathering area all in one suite. Amanda was a great host and the food was delicious. And the inn is within walking distance to lots of great restaurants. It was the perfect weekend escape.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashleykrichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn P, Owner at The Inn at 400 West High, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
So glad your weekend get-away was great! It's not every weekend that we throw a parade for our guests! Looking forward to having you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Ridge Executive Apartment for 2 weeks while welcoming our new granddaughter to this world. From the minute we arrived we felt at ease and very comfortable. The apartment is decorated with a bird theme which was delightful. It is in a perfect location to downtown restaurants and entertainment. A small market is in walking distance for groceries. The kitchen was well equipped and cozy for entertaining. The bed was comfortable, the stained glass window in the bathroom was beautiful and the chocolate chip cookies downstairs were a special treat. We also had use of a washing machine and dryer. Thank you Carolyn and staff for a perfect stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curlygirlNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn P, Owner at The Inn at 400 West High, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
We are so glad your trip went well and you had a chance to spend some happy time with that precious new baby (and big sister!) Keep us in mind on your return trips!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Details. Details. Details. You will find them everywhere from your comfortable, immaculate room, the clever decor, the friendly service, and the luscious breakfasts. We stayed four nights using not only our room but the spacious and very welcoming living area for guests complete with a large screen tv, comfy couch and chairs, bottomless cookie jar, tea, water, pop, and more. It is conveniently located with only a few minutes walk from the historic outdoor mall area that has cute shops and multiple excellent restaurants to chose from. The neighborhood made for an excellent place for a morning run. Short drive to UVA and downtown shopping area. Highly recommend it! We stayed in the Preston Suite with our two teenage children. Both our kids kept exclaiming how wonderful the The Inn was. You will not be disaapointed!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jarteaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn P, Owner at The Inn at 400 West High, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
We miss you! It was wonderful having the whole family stay with us! Thank you for your wonderful words and we hope to see you back in our beautiful city soon! (By the way…..the basketball you left is on its way back to you!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The Inn at 400 West High is a wonderful find. It is attractive, comfortable and welcoming. Plus, location, location, location - just a 2 minute walk to the downtown pedestrian mall and easy access to the University of Virginia as well as local historical sites. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Charlottesville. The Inn was a very nice home away from home. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolinians2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn P, Owner at The Inn at 400 West High, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such kind words! Glad you enjoyed your stay! We'd love to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseland, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Celebrated our 1st anniversary with just one night here and we will definitely make it a tradition with a longer stay! The place and the people were absolutely amazing....can not wait to go back!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I was told that this Inn was really good, so for our 40th wedding anniversary my wife and I decided to pack and drive from Washington to Charlottesville. We could not have asked for a better experience, the room was fantastic, the Inn people cold not have been any better, so if you want to have a perfect celebration, GO THERE!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comedorgbf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.2 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
0.3 mi away
200 South Street Inn
200 South Street Inn
#10 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville Downtown
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlo...
#17 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.9 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
1.7 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at 400 West High? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at 400 West High

Property: The Inn at 400 West High
Address: 400 West High Street, Charlottesville, VA 22902
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottesvill...
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at 400 West High, a Select Registry property, brings the eclectic flair of a continental European bed and breakfast to beautiful downtown Charlottesville. Just two blocks from the Pedestrian Promenade, one mile from the University of Virginia, five miles from Jefferson's Monticello and Monroe's Ashlawn, and just a short drive from the beauty of the Blue Ridge Mountains, The Inn at 400 West High is ideally located for those who want to visit the historic sights and natural splendor that make Charlottesville famous. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing