We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at All Costs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Carpet Inn Charlottesville
Ranked #34 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Reviewed 2 October 2010

The outside looks ok. The rooms are grossly outdated and just pain nasty. This hotel is about 60 years old and it shows. It is in horrible need of a major renovation OR just a tear down.

I was told the rate was $55. When I checked out, the rate was $75. The difference was that the ONLY night I stayed here was "an event" night and, hence, the markup. I felt deceived, but I was in too big of a hurry to get out of the place to argue with the front desk. I wish that I had read the reviews on this hotel before booking the room. My mistake.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DadinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
There are newer reviews for Red Carpet Inn Charlottesville
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2010

When we had that terrible winter, I opted to stay at the Red Carpet versus trying to drive home from work on Black Ice. There were three days when I literally couldn't couldn't get back home because the roads were so bad. It was like paying to go to work but at least the cost wasn't outrageous. I am a single woman so safety is an important issue and the Wi-Fi made the situation doable. It is also within walking distance to the Waffle House which makes for affordable cruisine.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Star4Liberty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2010

this motel is 3-5 mi. west of UVA on 29. it was the least expensive we found in C-Ville. it consists of 4-6 one story strips each with 10 rooms side by side. parking at front door and no 2nd floor noise to contend with. charming 50's with small pool. rooms were spartan....no hair dryer, coffee maker but did have tiny microwave atop mid size fridge. all kinds of restaurants in strip centers within a mile. try cheesburgers in paradise for an eclectic menu, tiki decor and 6 oversize plasma tvs.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bravestrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2010

I was in town to see Phish play at UVA for the fall tour closer. Didn't spend much time in the room because I was at the show and out afterwards. Had no problems with booking through Orbitz. Very simple rooms at a low cost. Rooms were very bare, but clean. Friendly staff, easy to find location and lots of things close by. Could walk to UVA campus if you wanted to, but it would be~1.5 to 2 mile walk.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginsengsullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2009

We stayed in this Red Carpet Inn during Family Weekend at UVA. Unfortunately, we waited too long to make a reservation for this busy weekend, and this was the only place that still had rooms. We won't make that mistake again. We were hoping for better, based on the reviews that stated that the rooms had been renovated. The room we stayed in seemed to have new carpet, curtains, bedspreads, and furniture (except for the desk chair which was rickety) but the bathroom was the pits. The sink had cracks and stains, the door to the shower and toilet didn't latch, the tub floor was dingy, the shower nozzle was duct taped, and the plastic shower rod was cracked and peeling. The wood trim (around the doors and the beams on the ceiling) was rough and looked like something that came from the side of a barn. When we turned down the beds we saw stains/oily spots on the sheets. We asked for clean sheets and had to change the beds ourselves because the clerk on duty said he was unable to leave the front desk and housekeeping had gone home for the day.

We really wanted to be able to post a positive review, to help counter balance all the negative ones, but unfortunately we have to agree with everyone who gave this place a thumbs down. The employees at the front desk were friendly and helpful, but that didn't make up for everything else that was substandard.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aschiminger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2009

In the area hiking and needed a clean, inexpensive, convenient, safe motel. The motel is in a convenient, safe location on Route 29; lots of food and shops nearby. It's an older property and from a distance looks OK. On closer inspection, the outside needs some cosmetic attention as did my room. Although clean, there was paint cracked and hanging from the bathroom ceiling, dim lighting, general "oldness". Previous posts indicate room renovations....maybe other rooms but certainly not the one I had. Furnishings were OK, bed comfortable, but blanket was actually in tatters (both beds) and should have been discarded, refrigerator in room nice touch, soap in room but no shampoo or clock, TV OK, good ice machine, no breakfast but coffee in lobby, quiet room but few others in motel, front desk clerk extremely nice. Room rate was $68 + tax. This motel would be a decent value at $50 but at $68 it's overpriced.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goneagain2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2009

The room was clean, hot water worked and good water pressure. The beds felt fine and the sheets and bedspread were clean. There weren't too many other travelers there that weekend and the location felt safe. The heater worked great...a little too hot but it was easy to adjust.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sailorsgirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
1.1 mi away
Econo Lodge North
Econo Lodge North
#26 of 35 in Charlottesville
146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#15 of 35 in Charlottesville
364 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Charlottesville North
Courtyard Charlottesville North
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - Un...
#27 of 35 in Charlottesville
311 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#22 of 35 in Charlottesville
252 reviews
1.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Charlottesville
Red Roof Inn Charlottesville
#25 of 35 in Charlottesville
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Carpet Inn Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn Charlottesville

Address: 405 Premier Cir, Charlottesville, VA 22901-1724
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: £35 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Carpet Inn Charlottesville 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Inn Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Red Carpet Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing