We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shade!”

Saunders-Monticello Trail
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
134 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Shade!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

What a lovely, shady, well graded and cared-for trail! On a hot and humid day, even in the middle of the day, this is a good choice for a place to saunter or run. We like the labels with tree names, and I imagine that others who travel to Charlottesville from away will also appreciate knowing the names of the giants towering above the trail. We always jump at the chance to walk this trail and especially enjoyed it today--shade!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank A_Saunterer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    35
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, VA
Level Contributor
311 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“TJ's Trail of Misery”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We parked in the Monticello parking lot and started the trail just beyond the RV parking. We found this trail to be pretty boring. It is a nice path but with little to see unless you are interested in learning about every possible kind of pine and oak tree. Even the "Carter Overlook" only overlooks the trail below because all you can see all around you are trees. While the trail might be considered accessible because of the smooth path, I can't imagine pushing a stroller or wheelchair back up the hill. We found this trail monotonous and frankly, boring.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank jackandtara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
119 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“The Best Part of Monticello”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We enjoyed our hike up the mountain to the Visitor's Center. It was energetic and invigorating. The best part of this trail is that you know that at the top you will have lavs, water, food, and A/C! What a great idea to do this; makes touring more healthy when you can combine it with aerobic activity.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LouisePennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
443 reviews
233 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 505 helpful votes
“Nice little stroll through the woods”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Since we arrived before Monticello was open, we decided to walk on this trail. The part we walked on was a boardwalk through the woods. It was pretty and peaceful. I probably would have thought it was more impressive if we hadn't done a bit of hiking the day before in Shenandoah National Park. The Saunders-Monticello trail pales in comparison to that.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kren250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Paved hike for all: it's a gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

The two-mile trail begins at the base of the mountain on Route 53 and leads one up the mountain to the Monticello Visitor's Center. It is a combination of packed stone and finished wooden boardwalk. We were there this Sunday and saw hikers, runners, young families with strollers and older adults. This walk appeals to all because it is safe, beautiful and open free to the public. The most difficult aspect is finding parking. The bulk of the parking is off of Route 250. We try to stop by every time we are in Charlottesville.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank wws50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saunders-Monticello Trail also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Saunders-Monticello Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing