We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food okayish - interior decoration must be from china ;-/”

Peter Chang's China Grill
Ranked #78 of 553 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: http://peterchangscharlottesville.com
Männedorf
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Food okayish - interior decoration must be from china ;-/”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The food is OK,service was quick but absolutely no atmosphere. You have no desire to stay longer then necessary. Get one of the house specialties they're alright but really hot.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aightgenosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    63
    23
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service could have been better, but”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The food was fabulous. The regular menu features many of the standard Chinese dishes, with emphasis on the Sezchaun style of cooking. There was a second menu with three appetizers and about a dozen entrees that the waiter explained was more of a rotational thing - sort of the menu of specials. I had dry fried eggplant for an appetizer and it was cooked well, but not the two-pepper hot advertised in the menu. I then had a chicken dry pot for dinner, and it was good, mildly spicy as advertised and more than I could eat. My dinner companion had the saltwater duck of the specialty menu and he enjoyed it, but remarked that it was saltier than he expected, even with the name. I also found the fried rice to be extremely salty, but I generally neither cook with salt nor add salt to my food. All in all a decent meal, but not one I would go back for very soon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Theodore F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crozet
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Best Chinese food in Charlottesville”
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

If you like spicy Chinese dishes, then Peter Chang's is for you. I have been many times and am never disappointed. Great food and great service. The hot and numbing shredded tofu skin app is the best app that I have had anywhere!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Penn-Virginian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Chinese Food”
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

We had a great variety of good between the three of us. The service and the food was excellent. The food was authentic Chinese and just superb. Flavors were wonderful and plenty of food left over for dinner the next night. Since we were on the road heating up in the microwave at the next town gave us another meal.

Helpful?
Thank reino66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylors, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Clean and good service but food was not as tasty as we hoped. Kung Pao seafood was not spicy enough and Bang Bang shrimp appetizer had too much sauce. Average at best.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janecarpenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peter Chang's China Grill also viewed

 

Been to Peter Chang's China Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing