We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room, nice staff, nice price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice room, nice staff, nice price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for only one night, but the staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. Our room did not yet have it's refrigerator installed, so the staff cheerfully brought us a extra one. The inn was recently redone and everything was new and clean.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Fran D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    91
    36
    7
    13
See reviews for
87
82
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at other Sleep Inns and been perfectly satisfied. As we walked to our room here, the hallway smelled very musty (and I have an extremely weak sense of smell, so it had to be bad). When we entered the room, the smell was even worse. My kids complained they didn't want to breathe. As it was 10 at night and we all desperately needed to get to bed, we didn't ask for a different room. When we woke up and wanted to get ready, we realized that even though the room had been superficially cleaned (beds made, towels folded), it hadn't really been cleaned before our arrival. There were hairs in the sink and bathtub, and trash on the floor. Yuck! Then we went downstairs to get complimentary breakfast before leaving, and it was a complete madhouse. People were standing in line for 15 minutes for the waffle maker, they had run out of many types of food and took a long time to replenish them, and there wasn't a seat to be had anywhere, with people fighting over chairs and an elderly lady needing to walk to the couches in the front lobby to eat. Awful awful place.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank perachdavida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa H, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
I'm very sorry for the inconvenience you experienced in your room with the musty smell, and cleaning issues.
I will address your concerns with the Head of Housekeeping to ensure this situation is avoided in the future.
During breakfast service, from time to time, it gets busy. I assure you we work dilligently to replensh items as soon as they are running low.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromwell, Connecticut
Level Contributor
151 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed 040714 for one night. Fairly new location and very close and convenient to Monticello at a reasonable rate. Good complimentary breakfast. No problems at all. We did not go to the pool. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CONNvacationers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa H, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your
feedback regarding your stay with us at Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stay was great starting with the clerk at the front desk, Denise. She was very busy but kept up with everything and made the wait pleasant for everyone. Breakfast was also excellent. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa H, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words regarding the service you received from our Front Desk
Guest Service Agent, Denise. We pride ourselves on superior customer service and
I am glad to see that these team members went above and beyond to make your stay more
comfortable. I'll be sure to share your feedback with them and their supervisors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Four couples recently stayed at this location. My husband and I specified that we did not want to be near the elevator. We were originally placed in Room 303 which was the room next to the elevator. I went downstairs to request a change of rooms. Eventually we were put in Room 313. This room had no refrigerator or microwave. I called downstairs to ask why we did not have these appliances and was told that only Suites had them. I advised the front desk personnel that this was not a valid statement because the other three couples we were traveling with had them and they were not in Suites. I was told our room did not get them even though there were obviously spaces for them (oh well). In the bathroom the only good thing I can say was that the shower had very good water pressure. Other than that, the vent was "filthy", there was no toilet paper holder and no place to put the soap when you were showering. It appears that the there must not have been enough money to complete the renovations which were supposedly begun. Two other things - there is a "doggie" motel next door so if you like barking dogs, you'll love this place; also, the air conditioner barely worked. The one hotel employee that I dealt with was very rude and unprofessional. We would NOT stay here again.

Room Tip: I don't know if there is a good room. The other three couples we were with had similar issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kandsfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

i have been very pleased with the hotel staff, especially denise. she has been considerate and helpful beyond measure.i stay every week for work and would reccommend staying here anytime. even with renovations going on it has been great.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

I was tired from driving all day, but I hadn't reached my destination. I was torn between continuing and trying to push on, or trying to find a place to rest and just call it quits for the day. This hotel made it easy to decide to just relax and take a load off for the night. Many thanks to Denise behind the desk for being so helpful.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Vince V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#14 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Mont...
#24 of 35 in Charlottesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
3.1 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#15 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#8 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello

Property: Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Address: 1185 5th St SW, Charlottesville, VA 22902-6466
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#11 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello Hotel Charlottesville
Sleep Inn And Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn Charlottesville
Sleep Inn Monticello
Charlottesville Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing