We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel for Our Visit to Monticello”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed one night in Charlottesville on our way to Williamsburg in order visit Monticello.

Great location - just a few minutes from downtown and from Monticello. Our room showed some wear but was clean. The breakfast was good with plenty of choices. No unpleasant surprises.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank MObookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

We were in town for a family wedding at Ashlawn-Highland and this was a great location for all the weekend activities. The first floor rooms were decorated nicely and very clean. Breakfast was nice and well done for this type of hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Booked 6 nights here @ $800 cost. While enroute to hotel I get a call the elevator is out and should be fixed tomorrow. Well elevator fixed 4 days later. We booked this hotel for the amenities, pool, gym, washer etc. First night there we discover the washing machine does not work. Washing finally fixed the day before we leave. Fan in bathroom worked our first day here, then stopped working. Reported it and the response was oh it supposed to be silent. What? The first day (Monday) we decide to use the pool and lo and behold unbeknownst to anyone the pool walls are being painted. No prior notice. Once in the pool, the water was freezing and very uncomfortable. So we plan an outing to Kings Dominion. I am a military veteran and you can go online and purchase and print tickets. Well of course I call down to inquire about printing and the printer is inoperative. Lovely. On day 4 of stay our cards become deactivated while carrying laundry from outside because of course the washer in hotel is inop. The key doesn't work and had to walk around the entire building. The explanation was if I kept the key close to my cell phone it would deactivate the card. Hmmmm really why did my card and wife's card deactivate at the same day and time and she never had her room key near her cell phone? The only positives were some of the staff and the full breakfast everyday. Ok so after all these issues they stated they would give a refund of $20 per night total would be $120. But yet the refund came out to be $89???? Hmmm who did the math? As for security, someone kept placing a rock in the doorway on our end to keep door open. Not sure why? Was it smokers or someone that didn't belong in hotel.

Room Tip: Call first before you book. Ask about the elevator and other amenities you may require before you b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 747marine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I must start with that your front desk clerk name Denise was very - very curtious
And helpful the service was excellent and I will be more then happy to stay at establishment again all I can say is keep up the great work and I will recomend this hotel to others at my job .
Thanks Curtis Morris

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curtis m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Reserved room 217 in early morning using a coupon book. AAA rating gave this hotel a 3 diamond but only 1 diamond was displayed in lobby. (This should have been a RED flag.) Desk staff helpful and efficient, lobby appeared clean. At 3:00 check-in we found the carpeted stairs were littered (elevator was broken) and 2nd floor hallway was hot and not air-conditioned. In checking out the room I found debris and several hairs in one bed where the rumpled sheets had not been changed from the previous night's guest. Both spreads were stained and the floor on the back side of the bed was dirty. The housekeeping supervisor responded immediately and escorted us to another room that was clean and both beds were clean. (Had we not been exhausted and already unloaded the car we would have found another place!) The next morning the hallway and stairs were still littered, having not been cleaned from the previous day. Although the staff was pleasant and most accommodating and breakfast was very good, we would not stay here again because of (at least) one person who prefers to cut corners rather than do the required job! I will speak with the manager tomorrow but need to alert those who are in this area to do a thorough room check. In the future we will travel with a flashlight and Clorox wipes and both will be used to check and clean the room before we settle in.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Thank Mar2B64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The room was more than adequate. The queen beds were a little small - not really queens. But the room was big enough, very clean, the bathroom was quite nice. The TV worked fine. The hotel had recently replaced all of their refrigerators - it worked fine, although it was a bit too cold and we could not adjust the temperature. The room AC was quiet and efficient. Some people in past reviews complained about the breakfast. I don't understand. The food was very good - hard boiled eggs, cereals (cold & hot), yogurt, juices, breads, muffins, bacon, eggs, waffles, etc. The service by the individual taking care of the breakfast area was excellent. Note - if you come to breakfast late, you may have to wait for a table. The front desk staff was very friendly and accommodating.
Also the hotel is in a good location - close to I64 and only 10 minutes from downtown Charlottesville.

Overall this hotel is a good choice for a stay in Charlottesville - I recommend it.

Room Tip: Although the area is relatively quiet, the highway in front ot the hotel can be noisy. Choose a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dav456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The room was very nice,our room had two beds and a couch, which made plenty of room for family in the adjoining room to visit with us. The beds were comfortable.The facilities were great, the staff was very friendly, and breakfast was great,large variety of food to chose from.But the price was a little high.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank luma8ter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Mont...
#24 of 35 in Charlottesville
412 reviews
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#22 of 35 in Charlottesville
545 reviews
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Charlottesville-UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlottesville - UVA Medical
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#14 of 35 in Charlottesville
159 reviews
4.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#17 of 35 in Charlottesville
372 reviews
3.1 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello

Address: 1185 5th St SW, Charlottesville, VA 22902-6466
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: £61 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In addition to an indoor pool, Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello provides a spa tub and a 24-hour fitness center. Wired and wireless Internet access is complimentary. Business-related amenities consist of a 24-hour business center and meeting rooms. A complimentary breakfast is offered each morning. This business-friendly hotel also offers coffee/tea in a common area, complimentary newspapers in the lobby, and laundry facilities. Onsite self parking is complimentary. Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello is a smoke-free property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello Hotel Charlottesville
Sleep Inn And Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn Charlottesville
Sleep Inn Monticello
Charlottesville Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing