We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for visiting Charlottesville” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Bristol, West Virginia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great for visiting Charlottesville”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

My wife and I spent two nights recently at the Sleep Inn and Suites Monticello and have no real complaints. The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was typical of a Sleep Inn but very satisfying. The only thing that keeps me from giving it a five is the parking situation. There is limited parking on the front side of the hotel, and while there are lots of spaces and back all of the doors are locked after 5 o'clock and so you must walk around the hotel to get in after five.

Overall it was a good hotel for the money, and I would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MexTravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    91
    36
    7
    12
See reviews for
86
81
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SanFrancisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
281 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

One if the nicer in this chain that I've experienced. Room was very large ( we likely had an ADA room as the bathroom was very very big). Clean and non smoking with room for a roll away bed. Indoor pool. Coin laundry for guests

Overall very good place to stay for a visit to Monticello.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ReneeC08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada, Missouri
Level Contributor
116 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here after a long drive and trip to Monticello, which it is very close too. Great clean room. Comfortable bed. Hostess was very kind. Has a nice pool and gym. Rooms are dark and halls quiet. Good breakfast- eggs waffles bacon cereal toast/bagels yogurts fruit juices Great Coffee muffins. Great price for the area. Close to many fine restaurants. Would stay again

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Beth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights to visit Monticello and some other attractions. The location is fairly convenient and the hotel looks good from the outside and in the lobby / breakfast area.

The front desk was extremely backed up when we were checking in and that process took over half an hour waiting our turn in line. When we did get checked in, our room keys didn't work. Went back to the desk, and waited another ten minutes to get the problem fixed. However, we were blamed, saying that we must have had them near our phones, which wasn't the case.

The corridors weren't cooled at all, or so it seemed and the fitness room was even worse. Too hot and humid to use.

The side door by the Burger King next door was supposed to be locked after 5 pm, however the card reader was covered with duct tape, and the door unlocked anyway. Not too secure by any means.

The room itself was a bit small, but that's not a big deal to me as it cooled down quickly, which is needed due to the room warming up so quickly if you open the door to the hot hallway.The bathroom was clean and the shower was nice.

I've got to say that the beds weren't very comfortable at all. Actually they'll be memorable as one of the least comfortable hotel beds I've come across. The mattresses were a little hard and you could hear and possibly feel the springs. Not a very good night's sleep while we were there.

Ok. The breakfast was excellent and the lady who was working the dining area was incredible. She was friendly both mornings, made conversation, and kept the selections well stocked and the area clean, despite the large crowd.
SHE NEEDS A RAISE, OR A TIP JAR!

All in all, it wasn't a great stay, but I'd consider staying here again if nothing else was available.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ant1375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night in Charlottesville on our way to Williamsburg in order visit Monticello.

Great location - just a few minutes from downtown and from Monticello. Our room showed some wear but was clean. The breakfast was good with plenty of choices. No unpleasant surprises.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MObookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Souderton, PA
Level Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We were in town for a family wedding at Ashlawn-Highland and this was a great location for all the weekend activities. The first floor rooms were decorated nicely and very clean. Breakfast was nice and well done for this type of hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Booked 6 nights here @ $800 cost. While enroute to hotel I get a call the elevator is out and should be fixed tomorrow. Well elevator fixed 4 days later. We booked this hotel for the amenities, pool, gym, washer etc. First night there we discover the washing machine does not work. Washing finally fixed the day before we leave. Fan in bathroom worked our first day here, then stopped working. Reported it and the response was oh it supposed to be silent. What? The first day (Monday) we decide to use the pool and lo and behold unbeknownst to anyone the pool walls are being painted. No prior notice. Once in the pool, the water was freezing and very uncomfortable. So we plan an outing to Kings Dominion. I am a military veteran and you can go online and purchase and print tickets. Well of course I call down to inquire about printing and the printer is inoperative. Lovely. On day 4 of stay our cards become deactivated while carrying laundry from outside because of course the washer in hotel is inop. The key doesn't work and had to walk around the entire building. The explanation was if I kept the key close to my cell phone it would deactivate the card. Hmmmm really why did my card and wife's card deactivate at the same day and time and she never had her room key near her cell phone? The only positives were some of the staff and the full breakfast everyday. Ok so after all these issues they stated they would give a refund of $20 per night total would be $120. But yet the refund came out to be $89???? Hmmm who did the math? As for security, someone kept placing a rock in the doorway on our end to keep door open. Not sure why? Was it smokers or someone that didn't belong in hotel.

Room Tip: Call first before you book. Ask about the elevator and other amenities you may require before you b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 747marine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#14 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Mont...
#24 of 35 in Charlottesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
3.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#8 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
3.2 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
The English Inn of Charlottesvil...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#18 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello

Property: Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Address: 1185 5th St SW, Charlottesville, VA 22902-6466
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#11 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello Hotel Charlottesville
Sleep Inn And Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn Charlottesville
Sleep Inn Monticello
Charlottesville Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing