We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UNESCO World Heritage Status”

University of Virginia
Book In Advance
More Info
US$105.00*
and up
Private Civil War History Half-Day Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Troon
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“UNESCO World Heritage Status”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I've titled this UNESCO as this is something that is not generally promoted in reviews. It is a good example of unity of built environment which is aesthetically pleasing....but while it has a certain something, not sure that it is comparable to many other UNESCO status sites I've experienced. Having said that, I didn't do the tour mainly because the rotunda is under restoration at present. Maybe if I had I'd review this differently. It was lovely in the evening sunset anyway. The area was quieter than usual being out of term time but there was still a vibe in the nearby bars and shops.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Talamhgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    704
    252
    42
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Wow!!!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

There are so few words that can accurately describe the beauty of this college campus. The Lawn that was designed by Thomas Jefferson is of course amazing in and of itself. Once again, the man's brilliance is awe inspiring. There are tours available for seeing the campus, however; we chose to walk and discover things on our own. Anyone interested in history and architecture should not miss seeing this.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Most Over Rated Ivy League University”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

A very nice campus that evokes days gone by, charming grounds and a weak curriculum. The outdoor arena is a great gathering place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GiancarloBuonarroti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, VA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Summer Orientation”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My son was accepted to and has chosen to attend UVa for the next 4 years. I thought their summer orientation for both students and parents was excellent and am looking forward to the next 4 years.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank agehamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“The Lawn at University of Virginia is worth a visit”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I've seen my share of beautiful university campuses, but the Lawn at UVA is definitely worth a visit. It is the heart of Thomas Jefferson's academic village. The lawn is nearly surrounded by historic buildings, many of which date to Jefferson's time. It takes about an hour for a leisurely stroll around the perimeter, starting and ending at Jefferson's Rotunda. (The Rotunda is undergoing restoration now and cannot be toured.) I parked on the street about two blocks from the Rotunda and went across the street from the campus for a bite to eat afterwords--lots of choices. I couldn't help notice the contrast between the beautiful historic structures dating from Jefferson's era and the students sitting on the lawn with their laptops--I'm sure he would have been fascinated with the technology they had at their command.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed University of Virginia also viewed

 

Been to University of Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing