We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Wow Factor”

University of Virginia
Book In Advance
More Info
US$105.00*
and up
Private Civil War History Half-Day Tour
Certificate of Excellence
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
195 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“No Wow Factor”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Our daughter was taking a college visit to UVA. The Lawn section of the campus was Awesome with the Rotunda. However, it was closed for renovations. Beyond the Lawn, it was just like a normal college campus with not much Wow factor. It might be better if the Rotunda would have been open.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank rryman63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    663
    244
    42
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Troon
Level Contributor
182 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“UNESCO World Heritage Status”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I've titled this UNESCO as this is something that is not generally promoted in reviews. It is a good example of unity of built environment which is aesthetically pleasing....but while it has a certain something, not sure that it is comparable to many other UNESCO status sites I've experienced. Having said that, I didn't do the tour mainly because the rotunda is under restoration at present. Maybe if I had I'd review this differently. It was lovely in the evening sunset anyway. The area was quieter than usual being out of term time but there was still a vibe in the nearby bars and shops.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Talamhgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississippi
Level Contributor
147 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wow!!!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

There are so few words that can accurately describe the beauty of this college campus. The Lawn that was designed by Thomas Jefferson is of course amazing in and of itself. Once again, the man's brilliance is awe inspiring. There are tours available for seeing the campus, however; we chose to walk and discover things on our own. Anyone interested in history and architecture should not miss seeing this.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
143 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Most Over Rated Ivy League University”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

A very nice campus that evokes days gone by, charming grounds and a weak curriculum. The outdoor arena is a great gathering place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GiancarloBuonarroti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, VA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Summer Orientation”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My son was accepted to and has chosen to attend UVa for the next 4 years. I thought their summer orientation for both students and parents was excellent and am looking forward to the next 4 years.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank agehamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed University of Virginia also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to University of Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing