We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Thing in a Smalll Package”

James Monroe's Highland
Book In Advance
More Info
US$105.00*
and up
Private Civil War History Half-Day Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Part of William & Mary, this historic site is the home of James Monroe, fifth president of the United States.
Garland, Texas
Level Contributor
155 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“A Good Thing in a Smalll Package”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Though certainly not as grand as Montecello, Ash LawnHighland is every bit as interesting. The grounds are just it as beautiful, but in a more serene and "every man" sort of way. The house is much smaller. The rooms are exquisitely furnished yet feel intimate and family friendly. There is a home-like and modest feel to the entire property that reflects the personality of the man who built it.

The kitchen and other areas under the house contain period artifacts and there are several hands on displays. Thereis a beautiful little garden between the visitor center and the house.

Our guide was amazing. He was knowledgeable and enthusiastic. I came away with a better appreciation and understanding of the life and times of President Monroe.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TrailingR0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    245
    109
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Level Contributor
264 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A great place to see”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This is an elegant home with lovely furniture and rooms. Our guide gave us a great overview of Monroe's life. The grounds are also beautiful - very well kept.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank likebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookville, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“make time for this”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

first time we did other things except Monticello. This tour and the information we gained about Monroe was new to us and very interesting. Something you should not miss

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kkcrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, AL
Level Contributor
116 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“New appreciation of Monroe”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Our visit to Highlands was an accident, but a very happy one. It was refreshing to visit a home that appeared to be a real home. Our guide was excellent. The furnishings of the home were the stars. May were originals, all were period. We visited Monticello and Montpelier. Both were much grander and famous, but Highlands was very intimate and seemed more real than either of the other two,

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sbamaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Hills, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting Insight into President Monroe”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

After visiting Monticello, this was much less extensive but still interesting. The tour guide was knowledgable and very enthusiastic about President Monroe, and gave us many examples of his impact to United States history. This is definitely worth the time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CGinSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed James Monroe's Highland also viewed

 

Been to James Monroe's Highland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing