We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adorable &Yummy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sweethaus Cupcakes & Candy

Sweethaus Cupcakes & Candy
Ranked #8 of 12 Bakeries in Charlottesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$5
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sweethaus Cupcakes, established in 2011, offers fresh cupcakes, espresso, event space, candy and general joy in charming Charlottesville, Virginia! We now have a location on Ivy Road as well. Hope to see you soon!
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Adorable &Yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Many staples and seasonal choices. Cupcakes were fresh, moist and delish! There was a LOT of frosting, and normally I would scrape 1/2 of it off, but I gave in and ate it all.

Fiancé and I tried: vanilla cupcake with cookie dough frosting, pumpkin caramel cupcake with cream cheese frosting. Again, lots of frosting, but it's so good you'll find some way to get it all down.

Helpful?
Thank Lurrrveless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    14
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy Cupcakes, Cool Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

After hitting the hilly streets of Charlottesville, the hubs and I were looking for a sweet tooth fix and happened upon this gem. Very friendly service and a really neat, eclectic building make this establishment. Cupcakes themselves are creatively concocted, with a variety of flavors to suit anyone's taste.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank asmnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Enchanting and eclectic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stopped in here with my son one day before picking up a family member from the amtrak station (which is almost right across the road from it.) We didn't regret it. LOTS of parking, delicious cupcakes, many different varieties of candies, and coffee. You can sit at the bar area and watch the bakers making the cupcakes or you can go into the open area with additional seating and a little play area with books and toys for children. The decorations, tables, and furniture are all vintage or antique. Great way to make it look good while recycling at the same time. All of the staff were super nice. They offer mini cupcakes for 1.00 and the bigger cupcakes for 2.50/each. Sprinkles are offered for free for the kid in all of us!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
424 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Delicious cupcakes! Pricey for delivery though...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

The cupcakes here are outstanding. And since you can get mini ones you don't feel nearly so guilty about the decadence of them. But that said, I ordered 50 of them for my class and it cost $65 to have them delivered to school. For that kind of money I could have baked them myself. And they wouldn't have been gone in 2 bites either.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wombat1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
188 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Sweet tooth fix in a fun atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

We were craving cupcakes and remembered seeing this place a few times and lucked out that they were open last night. Tried 4 different cupcakes and coffee- all were wonderful! They had a nice variety of candy that they said we could sample but we will are going to come back another time for that...just needed cupcakes! Cute and eclectic decor with good service. We are planning another visit soon to try the candies.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mimi1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sweethaus Cupcakes & Candy also viewed

 

Been to Sweethaus Cupcakes & Candy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing