We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Amenities for a Basic Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Monticello
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2012

This motel is quite close to UVA and is a good place to stay if you are on a road trip looking at various southern colleges. The staff is friendly and offers a list of nearby restaurants as you check in. The rooms have refridgeraters and there is a self-serve laundry room that came in handy at that point in our trip. The breakfast area is pretty large with a good assortment of food. The beds were comfortable and the place was fairly full, but quiet the night we were there.

Room Tip: Ask for one near the laundry room if you are planning to use it. There is also a small exercise room...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fairmindedCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn Monticello
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

404 - 410 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2012

One manager greeted me while the other held the door as I walked into the building. Both ladies at the desk (at check-in and check-out) were very nice. Once I got the hang of the key card (had to insert it & remove it quickly), everything was fine. The lady who checked me in personally came down to where my entrance was to help me with that.

Room was very clean, sheets fresh, bathroom very clean. I had a non-smoking room and it appeared previous guests in this room adhered to that rule The parking lot was well lit. There appeared to be some construction going on in a room further down the hall, but there was no dust like another reviewer mentioned when construction was going on during their visit. I only knew about it from passing the room on my way to breakfast.

I got to breakfast after 9:30 and still found scrambled eggs, sausage, yogurt and juice. There were other items available as well. Not really looking for the all-you-can-eat breakfast anyway with a couple more hours drive ahead of me.

Now if they just had rooms on the front of the building overlooking that mountain view, it would be perfect. While this hotel was on 250 south of Interstate 64, you only had to go a few miles north on 250 for restaurants, The Everyday Cafe (a unique-looking gas station/convenience store/restaurant) a Giant grocery store, RiteAid, Starbucks, SunTrust bank, a smoothie place, and a Chinese restaurant (China King, I believe) . From the north end of the parking lot of the Rivanna Shopping Center at night, you can catch a nice view of a chunk of the city below. Noticed this when I went for takeout at the Chinese restaurant there.

The hotel is tucked way back up a hill from 250. If you're coming in on west 64, get in the left lane when you come off the exit ramp, once you go through the traffic light, look for the two BRIGHT yellow diamond shaped signs in the median -- that's where you'll make your left turn.

Room Tip: Might not want the a room right by an exit door to the outside. Smoke from those smoking nearby out...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank exploranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Sure Naresh was very friendly enough when we checked in. Only a cruel and patronizing friend, or a cheesy horror film script writer would expect their guests to suffer through such dreadful conditions? There was so much dust in the hallway my first reaction was concern of a fire. I thought the hall was filled with smoke! Why was there so much dust? The room adjoining ours was being remodeled or repaired. I would have liked to have immediately checked out except for the other guest traveling with us. How did I know the room was being remodeled? The growl from the ratchet drills and echoing pounding on our wall. We were so looking forward to having time to nap and finally rest as I am recuperating from a recent amputation surgery. The construction went on four days from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., especially it seemed around 3:30 right when we planned to have a long sought after chance to nap. The house keeping was a waste of time because our room was cleaned in the morning then everything was covered with dust, including our coats, bed linens, and much of our clothing we foolishly left sit out our first day. We joined the Choice Privileges Program when we booked our long term visit. Sham on me. I should know better. Any type of discount from a hotel means you get put in the worst room available. I couldn't understand why the people where jumping off their luggage in the Choice Rewards TV commercial. After our stay at Comfort Inn Monticello, I shudder to think when I realized , just like characters from a R rated low budget horror film why and what they were practicing to do to themselves to escape their tormentors.

Room Tip: Many other equally conveniently located hotels nearby
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bummyfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Beds and furniture are ok. Heating units and controls are budget. Room thermostats would wirk better. Layout is different. Service is ok. Breakfast is fair.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jammerx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I have to start this review by saying some the staff are wonderful. They had great attitudes and many were always smiling and offering to be of assistance in anyway needed. The maid service was also great. However, the rest deserved some criticism. First off, they have two floors with at least 12 steps between the two and no elevator. (And no plans to add one.) So we had to carry our luggage up and down all those stairs. We were upstairs in a non-smoking section, but it clearly smelled of cigarettes and little had been done to mask or change it. There was also no fan in the bathrooms, so you could smell where the water had caused a moldy musty smell in the room. Also, in the morning ourselves, with several other guests complained of only luke warm showers. The staff at the buffet was extremely nice, but the food wasn't very good. I really cannot say I would stay again, although I did love the location.

Room Tip: Avoid the second floor
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Alex at the front desk was so helpful! This was a great stay for a very affordable price. The location is just minutes from great vineyards and historical Monticello.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle60811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C-I-Monticello, General Manager at Comfort Inn Monticello, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Dear Michelle60811:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We are please you had a great experience and out staff were so helpful. Remember, we have numerous vineyards in the area. So we look forward to your next visit ! Call us and it would be our pleasure to have a package wine tour set up for you.

Naresh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I was driving back to Lynchburg from Oxon Hill Maryland and had no idea the weather would get so bad. My car went off the road and once EMTs helped push it out of the ditch I was determined to find a place to stay.

I attempted a Best Western in Xion where I was told it was full and then given the suggestion to sleep in my car in the parking lot. (RUDE!)

12 more miles down the road, I find this Comfort Inn where the female clerk was so extremely sweet to me. I was very tempted to try and slowly making my way to Lynchburg, but she lowered the rate for me since I spent money in hotels all weekend. I could tell she understood my situation.

So after such a sweet and thoughtful check-in after a miserable ride on the snow covered roads, I walk into a big, clean, comfortable room and a nice big bathroom. Plenty of TV channels to flip through to put me to sleep after a rough night. Woke up the next morning with a simple easy check out and I was back home in no time.

Thanks so much for all the hospitality! I couldn't have asked for better service.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabrina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C-I-Monticello, General Manager at Comfort Inn Monticello, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Hope you had a safe trip home.
We are pleased that you found out hotel while driving in such a terrible situation - it was a bad snow storm. It was our pleasure to accommodate your needs for the night. and yes it is great to flip channels on our 42" Flat Screen TV. I will pass on your compliments to our staff -

Once again thank you for your comments and your patronage.

Naresh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
942 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#22 of 35 in Charlottesville
252 reviews
4.4 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#10 of 35 in Charlottesville
217 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Mont...
#24 of 35 in Charlottesville
400 reviews
4.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Monticello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Monticello

Address: 2097 Inn Dr, Route 250 East at Interstate Highway 64, Charlottesville, VA 22911-3616
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#8 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#12 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: £70 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Monticello 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hilltop yet convenient to I64. Exit 124 off I64. All rooms are non smoking. Interior property. We have 2 queen beds,1 King and 1 queen rooms available on both floors, all rooms have refrigerators- 1st and 2nd floor ( Stair access only). Complimentary breakfast is served between 7am-10am. We offer a hot breakfast - Eggs, sausage, make your own waffles, bagels, white and wheat breads, doughnuts, mini muffins, yogurts, fruit, cereals, juices, coffee and tea. We offer meeting and banquet facilities with catering for all occasions. We have an outdoor pool - seasonal openings. Laundry facility on property. We are centrally located to most all Charlottesville attractions. Monticello 6 miles, Michie's Tavern 5 miles, Ashlwan 8 miles, downtown 4 miles, University of Virginia and Martha Jefferson Hospital 2 miles,UVA Hospital 7 miles, John Paul Jones Arena 6 miles. We are close to many vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Monticello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Monticello Hotel Charlottesville
Monticello Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Charlottesville
Charlottesville Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing