We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for one night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Monticello
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Covington, VA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not bad for one night”
Reviewed 5 July 2012

The Comfort Inn Monticello staff was very nice and the hotel was clean and not a bad place to stay one night before catching the train; however, it does need updating. The carpets in the hallways definitely need to be replaced. Certainly not the best place I've ever stayed but, again, it WAS clean and convenient to restaurants, etc. The price was very good compared to other hotels in the area. Breakfast did include make your own waffles with actual batter--not just stick them in the toaster. If you're looking for a budget-priced place to spend one or two nights, this will suffice. Must say the beds were comfortable; I have a bad back and it did not hurt at all after sleeping here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynt0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    174
    82
    40
    15
See reviews for
183
169
29
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

The staff is friendly. The rooms are OK -- nothing fancy. We did have good size mini-fridge and a very large flat-screen TV. The room is stuffy with a musty smell when the air is not running. I checked the filters in the AC, they needed vacuuming and cleaning. The decor in the room is drab and could use some updating. The fitness room is one each: treadmill (we couldn't get it to work but front desk said there is a safety feature that needs to be engaged in order for it to work --- would help if there was a sign indicating that and how to get it to work), step machine, & stationary bike (both worked fine). Pool looked clean & decent size, nothing special. Breakfast is OK, usual cereals, instant oatmeal, mini muffins, donuts, 2 waffle machines, small yogurts, hard-boiled eggs, fresh fruit (bananas, apples), and some processed plastic-looking egg & sausage patties (yuck! - who eats this stuff?). Supplies were ample and they had a large serving area to avoid bottlenecks. We were on first floor up the hallway from the exit door to the outside, which states the door is kept locked at all times for safety of the guests and only access is with your room key. The door was unlocked each time we used it. When I checked with the front desk, they said they lock it after 11pm. I think the rates are a bit pricey for this hotel (we paid about $100 a night with taxes). The hotel is extremely convenient to Monticello and surrounding tourist attractions. If coming from Route 250, it is tricky to find because there is no sign on the highway. Mapquest directions were inaccurate but GPS got us there.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alwaysjerseygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I stayed at a comfort inn in Macon last week and it was exceeded my expectations, so I actually looked for a comfort inn in this area thinking it would be similar. NOT. It smells. The carpets are old and dirty. The rooms are dingy and, like one other reviewer mentioned, it smelled like they were trying to cover up a smell... maybe smoke. My son found a part of a toy on the floor, so the room wasn't vacuumed. The breakfast was...fair. The rates during the weekend are way too high for what you get. I would go somewhere else if you want more than a "motel" stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Clebaydm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

One thing about chain motels is consistency. the Monticello Comfort Inn is predictable.
It's clean. It's convenient (to Jefferson's Monticello). It's affordable. The manager is friendly and cheerful and helpful. It does have a pool and an exercise room.
On the down side you'll find the aroma of "air freshener" --- (an oxymoron if ever there is one), an air conditioning unit of the type universally found in motels ---(noisy when on and the room stuffy when its not) and a "free" breakfast that will sustain life but with "scrambled egg like substance" lack of specialness.
It is what it is --- a safe convenient inexpensive night's sleep.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vandal72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I have stayed here once or twice every year for the last eight years or so. The staff, from desk to kitchen to management, has always been very friendly and attentive. On my second visit, the owner ( Mr. Nariche??) recognized me and, although he was on his way to a Chamber of Commerce meeting, stopped and welcomed me back. Some memory! On other occasions, when he was not even there, I have still enjoyed very attentive service. I once mentioned to the Desk that I liked reading the Wall St. Journal. The next morning there was a copy outside of my door.

I have been there when renovations were underway, but the work has never bothered me since my wife and I leave after a large breakfast, and work has stopped before we return. I appreciate that they must keep making replacements and improvements.

I have been warned that availability during the UVA football season can be scarce unless you book well in advance, but I have never been there at that time of the year.

Room Tip: Book early during heavy visitor periods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BubbaAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

This is a hard one to rate. I read a lot of great reviews about this hotel before booking...and I am not a hotel snob, but this one surprised me.
Pros: Locations was good, price was good ($88), it was quiet and clean, staff was friendly. The outside of the hotel looks great.
Cons: The hotel needs serious updating. We had already booked the room based on good reviews, but when we pulled up, there was a cop car with lights flashing in the back of the hotel room- now we are nervous. I asked the cop if everything was ok as he was circling the hotel, he said yes everything was fine. The hotel had a strange seperate entrance to the rooms that was supposed to lock after a certian hour (not). The halls of this place had an odor, and it looked very worn, like it is a party hotel. The room itself was fine, our sink had a crack in it from one side to the other, but it was clean and functional. We did sleep well. The doors in our room were well worn and you had to be carefull to really pull the door to to make it lock. Breakfast was ok.

I am not sure how it got such good reviews, I guess I an giving them the benefit of the doubt.

Room Tip: I would get a room away from the enterance because everyone is going in and out that door and it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deb78063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Haven, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

If you are a non-smoker avoid the second floor which is a mix of smoking & non-smoking rooms. We stayed here for several days in early Nov. 2010. Our non-smoking room was clean, comfortable & pleasant with no odor; however you had to walk down the hall past smoke friendly rooms which had a fairly strong & lingering cigarette smell to get to the room. Did not notice any cigarrette odor on the first floor. Included standard continental breakfast with waffles & fruit was good and filling but not superb. Not a bad value for a clean & comfortable room.

Room Tip: Non-smokers stay away from the second floor which contain smoking as well as non-smoking rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank widmerww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
930 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
249 reviews
4.4 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
198 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Mont...
#24 of 35 in Charlottesville
396 reviews
4.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Monticello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Monticello

Property: Comfort Inn Monticello
Address: 2097 Inn Dr, Route 250 East at Interstate Highway 64, Charlottesville, VA 22911-3616
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#8 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#12 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Monticello 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hilltop yet convenient to I64. Exit 124 off I64. All rooms are non smoking. Interior property. We have 2 queen beds,1 King and 1 queen rooms available on both floors, all rooms have refrigerators- 1st and 2nd floor ( Stair access only). Complimentary breakfast is served between 7am-10am. We offer a hot breakfast - Eggs, sausage, make your own waffles, bagels, white and wheat breads, doughnuts, mini muffins, yogurts, fruit, cereals, juices, coffee and tea. We offer meeting and banquet facilities with catering for all occasions. We have an outdoor pool - seasonal openings. Laundry facility on property. We are centrally located to most all Charlottesville attractions. Monticello 6 miles, Michie's Tavern 5 miles, Ashlwan 8 miles, downtown 4 miles, University of Virginia and Martha Jefferson Hospital 2 miles,UVA Hospital 7 miles, John Paul Jones Arena 6 miles. We are close to many vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Monticello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Monticello Hotel Charlottesville
Monticello Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Charlottesville
Charlottesville Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing