We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent room and long large pool for exercise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Monticello
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellent room and long large pool for exercise”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

lovely rooms and an absolutely wonderful pool close to 25 yds long (although a bit old) so you can actually work out in it
Front staff very helpful and friendly
breakfast was not great way too many sweets in my view .
no margerine just butter
no proteins that are low in fat and sugar such as unsweetend yogurt , egg beaters or hard boiled eggs.
I find this a problem at many of the breakfast included hotels we stay in
none the less the benefits far outweigh the food drawbacks and would happily return for another stay

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ontariosnowbird60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    170
    79
    40
    14
See reviews for
178
167
28
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Albany Ga
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed two weeks while I was working at nearb y university. The large swimming pool and free internet in the lobby kept my kids (ages 16,14, and 7) entertained. The hotel is in need of some updating (doesn't have an elevator, worn carpets and musty hallways), but attitude is everything and the attitude of hotel staff was great. Front desk staff Shelby and Ann were very helpful with family-friendly restaurant recommendations. Free hot breakfast with eggs and sausage every morning was a real money saver for us and the food service staff bent over backwards to accommodate my young picky eater who only likes one flavor of yogurt. We also got a nice Manager's reception one evening with free hot dogs and lemonade by the pool. Location is great: very close to Monticello and one hr from Massanutten water park. There are nicer hotels in Charlottesville, but overall this was everything we needed for our extended stay.

Room Tip: Since there is no elevator, first floor room is preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperGatorMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

This hotel won awards for hospitality in 2006, and they deserve that. The staff was great. The hotel itself is outdated ('60's decor) which is okay, but it looked like the whole place hadn't been vaccumed since the '60's either. The room was clean as far as sheets and towels, but the roach on the carpeted (?? why carpet?) steps to the fitness room and pool was a turnoff to say the least. ALSO ... check the location! True, it's convenient to Monticello, but we had to drive quite a way to find a place to have dinner and visit UVa. There are other, better, options in Charlottesville. And don't believe them when they say a room is handicapped accessible ... since when is a room on the 2nd floor hand. acc. when there is no elevator ?? Don't stay here unless you just need a night on the way to someplace else. It's very convenient to I-64, but that's it's only real plus.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank MegLou62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

My family was visiting Monticello and we chose the Comfort Inn because it was the closest hotel. The staff was very friendly but the hotel was overpriced for the accomodations...I guess you are paying for the convenience of being close. The breakfast was fine but nothing to rave about.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agk62679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Taking a family trip to the Outerbanks and decided to break the trip up and visit Monticello. Reservations at Comfort Inn made due to convenient location to Monticello. Poor decision. Very disappointed in the cleanliness from the hallways, stairwells and even the rooms. Very dated carpeting, popcorn pieces scattered over the floor and pungent smoke order throughout the hotel, even though it is supposed to be non-smoking. Breakfast served was terrible. Sausage(when it finally arrived) was cold, eggs were obviously microwave patties. Will not be staying at a Comfort Inn again.

Room Tip: Choose Hilton Gardens or a Hampton Inn if just for the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OHBuckeye1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, VA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

The Comfort Inn Monticello staff was very nice and the hotel was clean and not a bad place to stay one night before catching the train; however, it does need updating. The carpets in the hallways definitely need to be replaced. Certainly not the best place I've ever stayed but, again, it WAS clean and convenient to restaurants, etc. The price was very good compared to other hotels in the area. Breakfast did include make your own waffles with actual batter--not just stick them in the toaster. If you're looking for a budget-priced place to spend one or two nights, this will suffice. Must say the beds were comfortable; I have a bad back and it did not hurt at all after sleeping here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynt0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

The staff is friendly. The rooms are OK -- nothing fancy. We did have good size mini-fridge and a very large flat-screen TV. The room is stuffy with a musty smell when the air is not running. I checked the filters in the AC, they needed vacuuming and cleaning. The decor in the room is drab and could use some updating. The fitness room is one each: treadmill (we couldn't get it to work but front desk said there is a safety feature that needs to be engaged in order for it to work --- would help if there was a sign indicating that and how to get it to work), step machine, & stationary bike (both worked fine). Pool looked clean & decent size, nothing special. Breakfast is OK, usual cereals, instant oatmeal, mini muffins, donuts, 2 waffle machines, small yogurts, hard-boiled eggs, fresh fruit (bananas, apples), and some processed plastic-looking egg & sausage patties (yuck! - who eats this stuff?). Supplies were ample and they had a large serving area to avoid bottlenecks. We were on first floor up the hallway from the exit door to the outside, which states the door is kept locked at all times for safety of the guests and only access is with your room key. The door was unlocked each time we used it. When I checked with the front desk, they said they lock it after 11pm. I think the rates are a bit pricey for this hotel (we paid about $100 a night with taxes). The hotel is extremely convenient to Monticello and surrounding tourist attractions. If coming from Route 250, it is tricky to find because there is no sign on the highway. Mapquest directions were inaccurate but GPS got us there.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alwaysjerseygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
4.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
244 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
892 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Mont...
#24 of 35 in Charlottesville
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#8 of 35 in Charlottesville
957 reviews
4.4 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
4.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Monticello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Monticello

Property: Comfort Inn Monticello
Address: 2097 Inn Dr, Route 250 East at Interstate Highway 64 (Exit 124), Charlottesville, VA 22911-3616
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#8 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#12 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Monticello 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hilltop yet convenient to I64. Exit 124 off I64. All rooms are non smoking. Interior property. We have 2 queen beds,1 King and 1 queen rooms available on both floors, all rooms have refrigerators- 1st and 2nd floor ( Stair access only). Complimentary breakfast is served between 7am-10am. We offer a hot breakfast - Eggs, sausage, make your own waffles, bagels, white and wheat breads, doughnuts, mini muffins, yogurts, fruit, cereals, juices, coffee and tea. We offer meeting and banquet facilities with catering for all occasions. We have an outdoor pool - seasonal openings. Laundry facility on property. We are centrally located to most all Charlottesville attractions. Monticello 6 miles, Michie's Tavern 5 miles, Ashlwan 8 miles, downtown 4 miles, University of Virginia and Martha Jefferson Hospital 2 miles,UVA Hospital 7 miles, John Paul Jones Arena 6 miles. We are close to many vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Monticello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Monticello Hotel Charlottesville
Monticello Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Charlottesville
Charlottesville Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing