We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's the little things that mean the most.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Monticello
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“It's the little things that mean the most.”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This comfort inn above many others we have stayed, stands alone. The fresh flowers, friendly faces, warm cookies, friendly assistance met at the counter, set this hotel higher than any other Comfort Inn we have stayed. Meagan at the counter, assisted at check in and out and was friendly and helpful. Heather handled the "breakfast crowd" by making the waffles for us, while keeping other items well stocked. She had a warm friendly personality and I observed many guests spending time talking to her. She certainly made the whole experience a warm and inviting time for everyone. We will definitely stay here again. rl

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goRitago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    169
    75
    38
    13
See reviews for
176
164
26
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Reserved a King Size unit on bottom floor. Told staff we were arriving late and it was duly noted. Found staff very helpful and polite. Unit was very clean and bed was comfortable. The unit was quiet except for a/c which was a bit noisy. There were plenty of items for breakfast and served at a convenient time. We were there to visit Monticello and it was located close to the hotel. We stayed a couple of days and the cleaning staff kept things clean and orderly in out room. Located within several blocks of various places to eat and the staff had directions and recommendations. Perhaps the only thing negative I could say about the hotel is that it is a little dated and a little overpriced.

Room Tip: Close to Monticello. A little dated but clean & staff very helpful. Breakfast items were good an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelmsford
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed here for three nights whilst visiting Charlottesville. We were given a room on the 2nd floor which was a bit of a struggle with two large cases and no lift. Room was clean and comfortable with the usual fridge and microwave. Outdoor pool had been covered over by the time we arrive mid September. Not a lot of restaurants nearby although we would recommend Shadwells for good steaks and the Mexican restaurant that is on the list provided by the Hotel. The Hotel also gave us a map which proved to be one of the most useful maps we had and we continued to use it all around Virginia. Found the reception staff to be most helpful and courteous. A/C worked well but was very noisy.

Room Tip: Would probably suggest you ask for a ground floor unless you travel light
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelmerchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Comfort Inn Monticello to attend a wedding. The events took us to several different venues, all of which were conveniently accessiable from our hotel, which is just off US 64 and Route 250 in Charlottesville. The hotel serves up a nice hot breakfast, good coffee, and has a little gym and outdoor pool (which was closed for the season during our stay). The staff are helpful and friendly. The grounds are well appointed and stocked. There's no elevator but that didn't bother us too much. Our king bed was very comfortable and the room was spacious and nicely appointed with a refrigerator and microwave. The WiFi worked great and was very easy to access with great connectivity. My one complaint would be that the ac/heating unit was a bit noisy when in use but that wasn't a deal breaker for us. This place is great if you want to avoid UVA football traffic, which was in full swing during our stay.

Room Tip: Request a first floor room to avoid using the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GermantownJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fowey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We were booked into this place by the company that put together a 3 week trip to the US and it was by far the worst place we saw. It is well situsted if you are happy driving to eat but the reccomended restaurants are not very good either. The check in staff were complaining about other clients when we checked in. The whole place is in need of a refurb and it actually smells as well. Once we got to our room we decided the place was not for us so moved elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gricper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I was very pleased to find that this hotel delivered what I expected--clean rooms, comfortable beds, pretty good continental breakfast at a good price just outside Charlottesville proper. It is not a luxury hotel, but neither is it drab or run-down. The setting is up on a hill just off a highway intersecting Interstate 64. It is not "scenic," but it is not an eysore either.

My limited experience with staff (checking in and out, and a few phone calls prior to arrival) was pleasant. They were always helpful and courteous. There were no problems with our arrival or departure.

All rugs, walls, furniture, etc were clean, tasteful, functional, and fairly new, but not of "luxury" standard. For instance, the toilet seat and cover seemed a bit on the flimsy side. Our room was a typical size with two double beds and room for a roll-out bed. The beds and pillows were quite comfortable. The room smelled clean and fresh. The shower had plenty of hot water via a shower head that gave a great heavy spray. The A/C worked fine, and the room was quiet. There's really nothing around the hotel to make any noise, unless you get rowdy neighbors.

The continental breakfast was typical and "average": fresh whole fruit, hot and cold cereal, do-it-yourself Belgian waffles, a hot server with patty sausage and scrambled egg, yogurt, bagels, donuts, fruit juice and coffee. The "breakfast room" had enough tables for Saturday and Sunday mornings on a football weekend, and there was no "line" when I ate. A large-screen TV was on but with sound muted.

It takes about 10 minutes to drive in to downtown Charlottesville or UVa.

I was pleased and satisfied with my stay: clean, safe, comfortable; near town; low price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jockdock52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MD-DC-VA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed here over a long weekend to visit three Presidential estates - Monticello, Ash Lawn-Highland, and Montpelier. Our room was not big , but since we were out the majority of the time that was fine. It was clean and comfortable, and the housekeeping staff did a good job. The free breakfast is okay - the make-your-own waffles and fruit selection was good, but I am not a fan of sausage and egg patties. The hotel hallways seemed a little musty, and the exercise room isn't anything to write home about (treadmill, stair climber, bike). The staff was very friendly and helpful. There are many places nearby (short drive, nothing to walk to) for eating and shopping. For our needs that weekend we found it a very good place to stay..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JiL2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
4.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#19 of 35 in Charlottesville
238 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#8 of 35 in Charlottesville
843 reviews
4.4 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
The English Inn of Charlottesvil...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
922 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Mont...
#24 of 35 in Charlottesville
379 reviews
4.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#15 of 35 in Charlottesville
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Monticello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Monticello

Property: Comfort Inn Monticello
Address: 2097 Inn Dr, Route 250 East at Interstate Highway 64 (Exit 124), Charlottesville, VA 22911-3616
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#8 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#12 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Monticello 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hilltop yet convenient to I64. Exit 124 off I64. All rooms are non smoking. Interior property. We have 2 queen beds,1 King and 1 queen rooms available on both floors, all rooms have refrigerators- 1st and 2nd floor ( Stair access only). Complimentary breakfast is served between 7am-10am. We offer a hot breakfast - Eggs, sausage, make your own waffles, bagels, white and wheat breads, doughnuts, mini muffins, yogurts, fruit, cereals, juices, coffee and tea. We offer meeting and banquet facilities with catering for all occasions. We have an outdoor pool - seasonal openings. Laundry facility on property. We are centrally located to most all Charlottesville attractions. Monticello 6 miles, Michie's Tavern 5 miles, Ashlwan 8 miles, downtown 4 miles, University of Virginia and Martha Jefferson Hospital 2 miles,UVA Hospital 7 miles, John Paul Jones Arena 6 miles. We are close to many vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Monticello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Monticello Hotel Charlottesville
Monticello Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Charlottesville
Charlottesville Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing