We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect rehearsal dinner!”
Review of Cafe Bocce - CLOSED

Cafe Bocce
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
1 review
“Perfect rehearsal dinner!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I held my rehearsal dinner for my wedding at Caffe Bocce on July 4 and could not have been more pleased. Chris and his staff did a wonderful job of making my guests comfortable. The service was truly fantastic and the food, as always, was excellent. I highly recommend this restaurant for your next event or just dinner for 2!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dbjohnson14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    6
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pricey for quality”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Food was acceptable, but paid $30 for just very average pasta and salad. Nothing about the menu seemed really out of the ordinary. Probably wouldn't go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kooka54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A meal to savor”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Cafe Bocce is a recent arrival on the Charlottesville restaurant scene. Against a large number of restaurants (many of which are expensive, a few of which are worth the expense) creating a new eatery takes courage. The chef/owner at Cafe Bocce has taken the leap and created a place with classic ambience (outside eating in tree-shrouded garden area and inside with the feel of 19th century brick, glass, and wood warehouse. Service is warm without suffocation. The food? wonderful blends of flavors which lead to expressions of delight and wonder. My wife and I experienced the Crab Farfalle with ginger and cream sauce. The separate flavors became singular. The sauce enhanced rather than drowned the crab and pasta. Our daughter had the linguine with local sausage and a medley of herbs. Again, the separate flavors became one. For dessert, we each had a piece of chocolate flowerless torte. It was the best each of us had experienced. (My wife is a chocolate addict and has tasted a large number of such tortes across many restaurants.)

I have enjoyed many fine meals at dining places over fifty years. Our meal at the Cafe Bocce
has to be among the top ten.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spotonron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
“Best Restaurant in Charlottesville”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Finally a restaurant that "gets it" in Charlottesville. The food is excellent, well seasoned and cooked perfectly. My wife had the roasted chicken I had a steak with fries. Both were excellent. And I do mean EXCELLENT.

The service was great. The owner is warm and cordial and takes time to welcome and thank everyone who eats there. The servers check on you enough but not too much (again a HUGE rarity in Charlottesville).

The atmosphere is very good especially if you can get a place on the patio in the summer. It's private, but not far from parking. They validate parking. This is honestly THE place to go if you are in town for a trip and like good food in a charming atmosphere.

The requirements for a great restaurant are:

1) Great food
2) Great service
3) Great atmosphere

Cafe Bocce is a home run on all of these.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LucaBracci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsville, VA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Chris does it again”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Was a destination restaurant when it was in Scottsville. A few years have past and Chris Long has reopened in C'ville. Same great food and better atmosphere. Easy parking across street in public lot and cost is paid by Bocce. Outside dining under huge trees. Service is excellent.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank marvScottsville_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Bocce also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing