We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquil - perfect ❤️”
other travellers have booked this property
POOL IS OPEN!!! Come swim in privacy!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
POOL IS OPEN!!! Come swim in privacy!
Light-filled room, Queen-sized bed, Fireplace                   Photo: Melanie Marshall-Roth Pretty spa bathroom with antique clawfoot tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
POOL IS OPEN!!! Come swim in privacy!
Light-filled room, Queen-sized bed, Fireplace                   Photo: Melanie Marshall-Roth
Pretty spa bathroom with antique clawfoot tub
Welcome plate and complimentary wine                          Photo: Melanie Marshall-Roth
Enjoy your wine near the pool                                                   Photo: Warren Salmon
Enjoy coffee on your private porch
Life is just a bowl of Breakfast Berries!                          Photo: Warren Salmon
Breakfast in your room                                                  Photo: Melanie Marshall-Roth
Historic Main House, built 1810-1842
The Cottage adjacent to the Main House
Enjoy a picnic lunch poolside
The Pool House in April
Lunch under the wisteria
View from the hillside
One of two bridges connecting the property's 22 acres
Room for bocce and croquet!
Or play frisbee with Joe!                                                       Photo: Warren Salmon
Your hosts, Anne, Jim and Joe                                         Photo: Warren Salmon
Bedtime treats!                                                         Photo: Melanie Marshall-Roth
Homemade Blondies                                                   Photo: Melanie Marshall-Roth
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Charlottesville, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michele T
1 review
“Tranquil - perfect ❤️”
Reviewed 23 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A gorgeous, peaceful setting to relax and enjoy our anniversary! Anne is the perfect hostess. Cottage grounds are truely remarkable. We hiked into the meadow and relaxed by the stream on the hammock listening to the sounds of the country! The food was healthy and much appreciated! Fruit, tapas, and beer ! We enjoyed Anne's "almost famous brownies" for a bedtime snack! The "Pearls Bakery" Anniversary cupcakes were the perfect added touch! Anne also provides wonderful dining out advice if needed! Hoping we can come back soon!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2017
We are very much looking forward to your return--hurry back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrequentF...
1 review
“The most relaxing vacation I ever had!”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Sunnyback is just beautiful and exactly what my husband and I were looking for to celebrate our 10th anniversary. The cottage is nicely sized and sits on a 22 acre field. We enjoyed taking lots of pictures of the flowers, the creek, the foot bridges and the double hammock. I also can't remember the last time I slept so well! The bet was comfy, the tub nice and large and we really felt like we had a lot of privacy. Anne provided us with plenty of coffee, wine, fruit and cheese upon our arrival. Each morning we had some yummy pastries to add to our breakfast, which we enjoyed on the back patio while watching the birds, bees and kitties. We have already recommended Sunnyback to some friends and will definitely be back!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2017
We truly enjoyed meeting you both-- it was such a pleasure to have you here!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelerd...
Virginia, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming luxurious bucolic getaway in Historic Cottage”
Reviewed 12 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This property is just the most charming place ever. Anne is so attentive and concerned about the tiniest detail...like to read in bed? Study pillows in closet. Like to fall asleep to a toasty fire? Logs in place with matches nearby nightly. Enjoy the most amazing pastries and other baked goods you will ever eat? Delicious treats await you every morning and evening. Anne is the ultimate B and B hostess and Sunnybrook will charm and relax you with its Provence inspired decor and gorgeous vistas of meadow, mountain and stream. Just go here. You will not regret your experience.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2017
You already know how much we enjoyed your visit!--come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voyage620...
1 review
“Peaceful Getaway”
Reviewed 1 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

My husband and I just enjoyed a two-night stay at The Cottage at Sunnybank. We were looking forward to a relaxing, grownups-only, respite away from work and kids and wanted someplace to stay that was quiet, cozy, and beautiful. We found all that at Sunnybank. The property is absolutely lovely (and we didn't even get to explore it all). The little bridges over the creek are lit at night and drew us outside for a short star-lit meander. Since it wasn't too cold out during the day, we kept the back door of the cottage open while we were there, to better hear all the birdsong. We loved having our own living space, with its separate entrance and a back door to our own back porch. The decor of the cottage is warm and beautiful without being overly cluttered or frou-frou (something I'm not fond of at other B&Bs). The bathroom is a good size, with a decent amount of space to put our toiletry items. We also appreciated having our own stocked breakfast area, so we could rise and greet the day on our own timeline and not feel rushed to make it to breakfast "in time." The fresh baked breakfast and bedtime treats were delicious.

Anne was a fantastic host, responsive to emails, happy to field questions, and wanting to be sure we had everything we needed. Based on her recommendations, in tandem with Tripadvisor and Yelp, we enjoyed a fantastic dinner at C & O in downtown Charlottesville. We also had a good dinner the night we arrived at SWAY Taphouse in Crozet. For anyone up for a few hours of pretty easy hiking, I recommend the North Fork Trail of Moormans River. Easy to get to from Sunnybank and a nice hike (bring shoes that can get wet, just in case!).

We hope to get back to Sunnybank again someday...hopefully for a summer trip when we can enjoy the pool. And we've already recommended the Cottage to family and friends.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2017
It is always such a pleasure to host people who really enjoy what we have to offer, and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you both back--floating in the pool at night is another great way to see those stars!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoPlaces4...
1 review
“Cozy, quiet, romantic getaway”
Reviewed 21 January 2017 for a stay in October 2015

My husband and I stayed here in 2013 for our anniversary and had a wonderful experience! The cottage setting is quiet, cozy, and beautifully surrounded by nature. The location is also perfect; it is setback just enough but yet still close to the surrounding wineries and restaurants. The cottage itself is cozy and quaint with a very comfortable bed, beautiful fireplace, and relaxing bathroom. We did not get to use the grounds very much due to weather and time constraints, but there was a cute little porch for coffee or wine, and the grounds looked perfect for a stroll or exploring. Anne was the perfect hostess, providing everything we needed from precise directions and great recommendations for places to go in the area to personalized breakfast options, coffee, snacks, and treats. She gave us just the right amount of attention and privacy. She also went out of her way to mail me a personal item I accidentally left behind which I greatly appreciated. I would highly recommend staying at the cottage for a personal or romantic getaway!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jan 2017
Thank you so much! We hope you'll return and enjoy another stay and that this time, the weather cooperates!

All Best,
Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, North Carolina
Reviewed 21 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Dec 2016
Thank you so much! We loved hosting you and hope you'll brave that (very) long drive again!

All Best,
Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kimberly...
2 reviews
“A weekend to reconnect”
Reviewed 12 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Where to begin?? Anne and Jim were the ultimate hosts. The cottage was simply perfect in every way. The property is beautiful and the ultimate setting to unwind. And while you feel completely secluded from the world while there, the conveniences of restaurants and activities are very close by. Anne goes out of her way to make sure you have every little thing you could possibly need. We cannot wait to return!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The secret picnic spot with the double hammock.
Liked least: A small microwave would be a nice addition to heat leftovers from restaurants. But definitely not a complaint.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Dec 2016
We can't wait to see you both again--such fun having you here!

All Best,
Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing